Are you a good player or a good sport?

©AdobeStock

If golf is a favourite sport nowadays for people of all ages, it’s because it teaches all the skills needed to be a good player as well as a good sport. Here are a few fundamentals that will help in the overall development of the aptitudes of a “good player” who cares about performance, and those of a good sport who’s more concerned about attitude and behaviour.

The harder I train, the luckier I get

In golf, genius is one per cent inspiration and 99 per cent perspiration. You can read all the golf books in the world, but if you don’t get out and live the experience on the course, you limit your progress.

A “zero thoughts golf swing”

Taking into consideration the distance, wind, previous swing…is normal. But one thing sets the good golfer apart from the others: he or she knows to stop thinking when it’s time to swing. Before the shot, this golfer prepares their body for action and enters the world of sensations, reflexes and automatic movements. In golf, according to Dave Hill, “the swing is like sex; you can’t think about how you do it at the moment you’re doing it.”

In golf, success is a sequence of small steps

While a good swing is a necessary condition for success, it’s not enough. You also have to perfect your putting, approach and bunker shots. You must establish a vision of a whole, but it’s equally important to work hard on each phase. The idea is to have a plan that includes a step-by-step process, year after year.

School of efficiency and self-confidence

The mastery of movements that are simple, obvious and frequent creates confidence. Pay attention to what you do best, to what you’re sure of achieving, and focus on what’s essential. If your swing is ugly but you get close to the hole with the help of a useful shot, you’re a “good golfer”. If you seek a pleasant and relaxed atmosphere, and know how to play with patience, relaxation, humility and serenity, you know what “fair play” is all about and you are a “good sport”. The perfect combination of these fundamentals makes the difference.

 

More from this author by clicking on his photo below.

Pierre Brisebois

 

Pierre Brisebois46 Posts

Enseignant professionnel, top 25 enseignant au Canada selon National Post et Meilleur enseignant régionale en Amérique selon Golf Magazine / Professional teacher, National Post - Top 25 Teachers in Canada, Golf Magazine - Top Regional Teachers in America

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Êtes-vous bon ou beau joueur ?

©AdobeStock

Si le golf est aujourd’hui un sport de prédilection pour les gens de tout âge, c’est parce qu’il enseigne toutes les habiletés nécessaires pour devenir aussi bon que beau joueur.

Voici quelques fondamentaux qui aideront au développement global des aptitudes du « bon joueur » soucieux de ses performances, et celles du « beau joueur » plus préoccupé par son attitude et ses comportements.

Plus je m’entraîne, plus j’ai de la chance

Au golf, le génie est fait de 1 % d’inspiration et de 99 % de transpiration. Vous aurez beau lire tous les livres de golf du monde, si vous ne vivez pas l’expérience sur le terrain, vous limiterez votre progression.

S’élancer sans réfléchir

Prendre en considération la distance, le vent, le dernier élan… est normal. Mais une chose distingue le bon golfeur des autres, il sait s’arrêter de réfléchir quand vient le temps de s’élancer. Avant la frappe il prépare son corps à l’action et rentre dans un monde de sensations, de réflexes et d’automatismes. Au golf, selon Dave Hill, « le swing est comme le sexe, vous ne pouvez pas réfléchir à votre façon de faire au moment où vous le faites ».

Au golf, la réussite est une succession de petits pas

Si un bon élan est une condition nécessaire pour réussir, elle n’est pas suffisante. Vous devez aussi parfaire votre putting, vos coups d’approche et de trappe. Il est essentiel de vous fixer une vision d’ensemble, mais il est non moins capital de bien travailler chaque phase. L’idée est d’avoir un plan comprenant un processus d’étape par étape, d’année en année.

École d’efficacité et de confiance en soi

La maîtrise de gestes simples, évidents et fréquents, donne de l’assurance. Portez attention à ce que vous faîtes le mieux, ce que vous êtes sûr de réussir et tenez-vous en à l’essentiel. Si votre swing est laid, mais que vous arrivez près du trou à l’aide d’un coup utile, vous êtes un « bon joueur ». Si vous recherchez une ambiance conviviale et détendue, et savez faire preuve de « Fair Play », de patience, de relâchement, d’humilité et de sérénité, vous êtes un « beau joueur ». La combinaison parfaite de ces fondamentaux fera la différence.

 

Plus du même auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Pierre Brisebois

 

Pierre Brisebois46 Posts

Enseignant professionnel, top 25 enseignant au Canada selon National Post et Meilleur enseignant régionale en Amérique selon Golf Magazine / Professional teacher, National Post - Top 25 Teachers in Canada, Golf Magazine - Top Regional Teachers in America

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password