The golfer’s concentration

Rory McIlroy - Hamilton, ON - June 5, 2019 - RBC Canadian Open at Hamilton Golf & Country Club. ©Gary Yee

Monks in mediaeval times experienced great difficulty in concentrating. And yet, concentration was their full-time job. Their technology was certainly different from ours, but their anxiety about distractions was the same. Like the golfers of today, they complained about being constantly overburdened with information and experienced difficulty in calming their minds.

Being realistic

In golf, several elements hinder concentration. If you don’t know what you should be concentrating on, you don’t know the basics. If you never take lessons, rarely practice, but still hope to make great shots, it’s normal for you to be stiff during the swing and emotional afterwards. Without a minimum level of knowledge and experience, it’s normal not to be able to stop thinking, to experience self-doubt and to be stiff.

Developing a culture of learning

To achieve the desired concentration, you first have to make the link between what you hope to accomplish – realistically – and to become completely engaged in the simplest way to achieve that. It’s a pragmatic process which includes stimulation of your intellect, your feelings/sensations and your confidence.

See, feel, and experience confidence

You have a better chance of success when you are positive and imagine the best. Visualize what you really want. After all, your next shot could be a “master’s shot”. And because golf is a sport where the senses play a major role, interiorize your approach and allow yourself to watch yourself do it from the inside.

Pay attention to the sensations felt at each stage and become aware of the body movements that respond to the images projected. If you overdo it, the form won’t be right and you can then adjust your level of confidence, your mental image or your physical sensations to get them all working together.

 

More from this author by clicking on his photo below.

Pierre Brisebois

 

Pierre Brisebois50 Posts

Enseignant professionnel, top 25 enseignant au Canada selon National Post et Meilleur enseignant régionale en Amérique selon Golf Magazine / Professional teacher, National Post - Top 25 Teachers in Canada, Golf Magazine - Top Regional Teachers in America

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

La concentration du golfeur

Rory McIlroy - Hamilton, ON - 5 juin 2019 - RBC Canadian Open au Hamilton Golf & Country Club. ©Gary Yee

Les moines de la période médiévale avaient énormément de difficultés à se concentrer. Pourtant, la concentration était leur job à plein temps. Leur technologie était certes différente de la nôtre, mais leur anxiété par rapport aux distractions était la même. Comme chez les golfeurs d’aujourd’hui, ils se plaignaient d’être constamment surchargés d’informations et éprouvaient de la difficulté à calmer leur « mental ».

Être réaliste

Au golf, plusieurs éléments viennent faire obstacle à la concentration. Si vous ne savez pas sur quoi porter votre attention, vous ne connaissez pas la base. Si vous ne prenez jamais de leçons, pratiquez rarement, mais souhaitez tout de même des coups majestueux, il est normal que vous soyez tendus pendant l’élan et émotif après. Sans un minimum de connaissance et d’expérience, il est normal de ne pas être capable d’arrêter de penser, de douter de soi et d’être tendu.

Développer une culture d’apprentissage

Pour arriver à la concentration souhaitée, vous devez d’abord faire le lien entre ce que vous souhaitez accomplir — tout en étant réaliste — et vous engager totalement dans la manière la plus simple d’y arriver. C’est un processus pragmatique qui englobe la stimulation de votre intellect, de vos sens et de votre confiance.

Voir, sentir et avoir confiance

Vous avez plus de chance de réussir en étant positif et en imaginant le meilleur. Visualisez ce que vous voulez vraiment. Après tout, votre prochain coup pourrait être un « coup de maître ». Et puisque le golf est un sport où les sens jouent un rôle prépondérant, intériorisez votre approche et permettez-vous de vous regarder faire de l’intérieur.

Portez attention aux sensations perçues à chaque étape et prenez conscience des mouvements du corps qui répondent aux images projetées. Si vous agissez par excès, la forme ne sera pas au rendez-vous et vous pourrez dès lors ajuster votre niveau de confiance, votre imagerie mentale ou vos sensations physiques afin de les harmoniser les unes aux autres.

 

Plus du même auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Pierre Brisebois

 

Pierre Brisebois46 Posts

Enseignant professionnel, top 25 enseignant au Canada selon National Post et Meilleur enseignant régionale en Amérique selon Golf Magazine / Professional teacher, National Post - Top 25 Teachers in Canada, Golf Magazine - Top Regional Teachers in America

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password