Spring is mere days away: break out the barbecue!

©AdobeStock

Simpsons Gravel Castle Chardonnay

SAQ 14558890 | 24,60 $

Here’s a quiz: if I say “chardonnay, microclimate and chalky soil,” you’ll immediately say “the Champagne region of France,” right? That’s how I answered the trick question, too. The right answer is “Kent”, in England.

The wine’s nose, without a photo, says straight- up chardonnay. Aromas of overripe pear and lemon are carried by microbubbles which fade away after about fifteen minutes.

The fruitiness, which is both crisp and juicy, makes just enough of a statement to shake up and play with the flavours on your plate, then gently dims to allow the dominant flavours of your menu to shine.

This lively British recruit will undoubtedly hold its own against a bouillabaisse or coconut-panko shrimp.

SAQ 14471680 | 33,75 $

Nittadi Ad Astra Maremma Toscana

“I prefer two barrels of wine to eight shirts,” said Michelangelo Buonarroti – the Michelangelo – the famous sixteenth century artist who owned an enormous piece of land which is today the Nittardi estate, a Maremma vineyard in Tuscany.

After changing hands several times, the estate was acquired in 1982 by gallery owner Peter Femfert and his wife Stephania Canali, Venice historian, who since then have created the Nittardi wines with the help of consulting oenologist Carlo Ferrini, the man behind the famous Masseto.

This Maremma distances itself from the super-Tuscan style by adopting a terroir philosophy. The sangiovese dominates aromas of berries. The cabernet sauvignon and merlot are responsible for the firm, structured body with tannins that are both solid and melting.

A serious wine to cellar. Having said that, I’ll suggest that you avoid pairing it with tomato dishes to avoid accenting the astringency. A Tomahawk steak would be a better match.

SAQ 927830 | 26,20 $

Château St-Thomas Vallée de la Békaa

Just days from spring, some extra rays of heat are welcome. I suggest the sunshine of Lebanon, through a small-batch (30 hl/ha) assemblage of merlot, cabernet sauvignon and syrah, created in the Békaa valley by the Thomas family.

This 2012, slightly brick-tinted garnet red in colour, promises a complex wine. Ripe, almost jammy plums, violet followed by an empyreumatic (smoky) bouquet of aromas of toasting, cocoa, pepper and liquorice.

The fullness mollifies the tannic framework. Dare to pair it with barbecued food: perhaps a grilled lamb burger, or a Cajun beef stew for those more sensitive to cold.

 

More from this author by clicking on his picture below.

Franck Lizotte

 

Franck Lizotte26 Posts

Vulgarisateur vitivinicole/Wine world simplifier

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

À quelques jours du printemps… Osez le BBQ !

©AdobeStock
SAQ 14558890 | 24,60 $

Simpsons Gravel Castle Chardonnay

Je vous dis chardonnay, microclimat et sol crayeux… à la seconde, vous appuyez sur le témoin et répondez « La Champagne » ! C’est aussi ce que j’ai répondu à cette question piège. La bonne réponse est Le Kent, en Angleterre.

À l’olfactif, il n’y a pas photo, c’est du chardonnay exempt d’artifices. Les arômes de poire blette et de citron sont transportés par des microbulles qui s’estompent après une quinzaine de minutes.

À la fois croquant et juteux, le fruit s’impose juste assez pour secouer et s’amuser avec les acteurs de votre assiette puis s’efface en douce laissant la scène aux saveurs dominantes de votre menu.

Assurément, cette recrue britannique, vive de nature, donnera la réplique à la bouillabaisse et aux crevettes coco-panko.

SAQ 14471680 | 33,75 $

Nittadi Ad Astra Maremma Toscana

« Je préfère deux tonneaux de vin plutôt que huit chemises », propos tenus par Michelangelo Buonarroti, Michel-Ange pour les intimes, artiste incontournable du XVIe siècle à qui a appartenu la vaste propriété qu’est aujourd’hui le domaine Nittardi, vignoble de Maremma en Toscane.

Ayant changé plusieurs fois de main, c’est en 1982 que le domaine est repris par le galeriste Peter Femfert et son épouse Stephania Canali, historienne de Venise, qui depuis, façonnent les vins de Nittardi avec l’aide de l’œnologue consultant Carlo Ferrini, l’homme derrière le célèbre Masseto. Ce Maremma s’éloigne du style super toscan en adoptant une philosophie de terroir.

Le sangiovese domine sur des arômes de fruits à petite baie. Le cabernet-sauvignon et le merlot sont responsables du corps ferme aux tannins à la fois solides et fondants. Du sérieux à mettre en cave. Ceci dit, évitez les accords tomatés pour ne pas accentuer l’astringence. Optez plutôt pour un beefsteak Tomahawk.

SAQ 927830 | 26,20 $

Château St-Thomas Vallée de la Békaa

À quelques jours du printemps, une dose supplémentaire de rayons de chaleur est la bienvenue. Je vous propose le soleil du Liban, celui d’un assemblage de merlot, cabernet-sauvignon et syrah conduit à petit rendement (30hl/ha) dans la vallée de Bekaa par la famille Thomas.

Ce 2012, d’un rouge grenat légèrement tuilé, annonce un vin complexe. La prune mûre presque confite, la violette suivie du bouquet empyreumatique que sont les arômes de torréfaction, de cacao, de poivre et de réglisse.

L’ampleur amadoue la trame tannique. Osez le BBQ, optez pour le burger d’agneau grillé sinon le mijoté de bœufAdobeStock cajun pour les plus frileux.

 

Plus de cet auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Franck Lizotte

 

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password