A simple summer day

© Isabelle Michaud

The lazy, hazy, crazy days of summer are here. And whether it’s a cool river, or one of our many lakes in the Mont-Tremblant region, nothing says summer like time spent on (or in) the water.

SUP-erb memories

To make some memories you won’t soon forget, take a bunch of stand-up paddle boards, a handful of kayaks, a few canoes and an inflatable pink flamingo. Add good friends, warm sunshine and a deliciously cool river. Throw in some intended, and some unintended, splashing. Wrap it up with a picnic on the beach. Voilà, you have a perfect summer day.

SUP-er accessible

A SUP adventure on the Rivière Rouge is a summer tradition at my place. Sometimes we are a gang of two dozen – and sometimes a whole lot more. A big selling point of an activity that involves floating downstream is this: you don’t need a lot of skills. This makes it doable for almost anyone.

For the balance-challenged (like myself), paddleboarding can be intimidating at first. But I have had as much fun falling off my SUP and into the water as I have had standing up on it.

Don’t use the excuse that you don’t own a SUP. Renting one could not be easier. Simon Chapleau runs Expérience SK at the Grand Lodge Mont Tremblant. One quick phone call and SUP rentals can be arranged. Each season Simon delivers boards to our launch site, then picks them up when we disembark. It’s as easy as… floating downstream.

SUP-tacular fun

If you are looking for a new warm weather activity, spend some time on an SUP. Sunshine, splashing and smiles. A summer trifecta. Whether you’re an expert or a first timer, it’s SUP-rprisingly fun – and great exercise. And don’t worry about falling into the water. That’s the best part of the day.

 

More from this author by clicking on her photo below.

Cathy Bergman

 

Cathy Bergman44 Posts

Cathy Bergman est devenue athlète de façon inopinée à un âge relativement avancé. Elle nous montre qu’il n'est jamais trop tard pour retrouver la santé et la forme. Cathy Bergman is an accidental athlete who found health and fitness late in life. She shows us that is never too late to get healthy and fit.

Foraging fitness

Winging it

A journey home

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Une simple journée d’été

© Isabelle Michaud

Avec son soleil ardent, l’été est enfin arrivé. Et que ce soit dans les eaux fraîches d’une rivière ou dans l’un de nos nombreux lacs, il n’y a rien de tel que de passer du temps sur (ou dans) l’eau.

SUP-erbes souvenirs

Pour créer des moments inoubliables, il faut plusieurs planches à pagaie (SUP – Stand-up Paddle Boards), quelques kayaks et des canots, et un flamant rose gonflable. Ajoutez de bons amis, un soleil chaud et l’eau délicieusement rafraîchissante d’une rivière. Pimentez le tout avec des éclaboussures, intentionnelles ou pas. Terminez avec un pique-nique sur la plage. Voilà une superbe journée d’été !

SUP-er accessible

Une aventure en SUP sur la Rivière Rouge est devenue une tradition chez moi. Parfois, nous sommes 24 – et parfois, beaucoup plus. Un bon argument pour convaincre les gens de remonter une rivière est le suivant : nul besoin de compétences particulières; c’est pratiquement à la portée de tous.

Certaines personnes ont du mal à garder leur équilibre (comme moi), et pagayer debout sur une planche peut leur paraître intimidant au début. Mais j’ai autant de plaisir à tomber à l’eau que j’en ai à me tenir debout sur mon SUP.

Vous n’avez pas de SUP ? Belle excuse ! Rien de plus facile que d’en louer un. Il suffit d’un simple coup de fil à Simon Chapleau de Expérience SK au Grand Lodge Mont-Tremblant et le tour est joué. Chaque été, Simon apporte des planches à notre site de départ et les récupère à notre point d’arrivée. C’est aussi simple que cela.

Plaisir SUP-taculaire

Si vous cherchez une nouvelle activité à faire par temps chaud, essayez le SUP. Soleil, éclaboussures et sourires. Une combinaison gagnante ! Que vous soyez expert ou débutant, c’est étonnamment très amusant – et un excellent exercice. Pas de soucis si vous tombez à l’eau. C’est la partie la plus amusante de la journée !

 

Plus de cette auteure ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Cathy Bergman

 

Cathy Bergman46 Posts

Cathy Bergman est devenue athlète de façon inopinée à un âge relativement avancé. Elle nous montre qu’il n'est jamais trop tard pour retrouver la santé et la forme. Cathy Bergman is an accidental athlete who found health and fitness late in life. She shows us that is never too late to get healthy and fit.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password