Snowshoeing in the footsteps of the last Ice Age

Secteur de la Diable - sepaq-©Mathieu-Dupuis

We never tire of them: the Laurentians provide magnificent vistas. But imagine donning your snowshoes in the mountains a few million years ago when they were as high as the Himalayas.

These remnants, now rounded, can be observed when you climb to the top of the Vache Noire mountain, which attains about 750 metres of altitude. You reach it via the Centenaire trail, a 14.2 km loop (level: difficult) wild in character, which crosses a large stretch of rocks and deciduous trees. The succession of viewpoints is spectacular.

The first stops provide views of the Diable River. Next up, it’s a series of magnificent summits over a 180-degree panorama. Lastly, there’s the view of the Mont Tremblant massif and the rounded landscapes of the valley. It’s truly stunning.

The serenity that comes with snowshoe hikes gives you the impression that the forest is resting and catching its breath.

On the occasion of the park’s 125th birthday, the Lac-aux Atocas trail is, for the first time, accessible in winter. (As an aside, “atocas”” are cranberries.) This little gem – which traverses a mature forest of white birch and spruce, a few wetlands and a soon-to-be peat bog – is very photogenic with its floating walkway.

What distinguishes it is the diversity of ecosystems in a barely two-kilometre hike. The lake is a vestige right out of the Ice Age. It was formed by a block of ice that melted slowly – it’s a kettle lake – creating a lake which is not fed by streams.

This trail is simply perfect for initiating families into a love of nature and snowshoeing.

The Mont-Tremblant National Park offers more than 50 kilometres of snowshoeing trails, rated easy to difficult, in the two sectors (Diable and Pimbina).

Information: 819 688-2281

 

More from this author by clicking on her photo below.

Marie-Ève Boivenu

 

Marie-Ève Boisvenu16 Posts

Gestionnaire au Parc national du Mont-Tremblant. Community relations officer.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Sur les traces de l’époque glaciaire en raquette

Secteur de la Diable - sepaq-©Mathieu-Dupuis

On ne s’en lasse pas, les Laurentides offrent de magnifiques points de vue. Mais imaginez enfiler vos raquettes dans les montagnes qui, il y a des millions d’années, étaient aussi hautes que l’Himalaya.

Ces vestiges, maintenant aux formes arrondies, peuvent être observés en grimpant la crête du mont de la Vache Noire qui culmine à près de 750 m d’altitude. On y accède par le sentier du Centenaire, une boucle de 14,2 km de niveau difficile dotée d’un caractère sauvage, traversant une grande étendue de feuillus et de rochers.

La succession de points de vue est spectaculaire. Les premiers arrêts peignent la rivière du Diable. Par la suite, ce ne sont que sommets magnifiques sur un panorama de 180 degrés. En terminant se dessinent le portrait du massif du mont Tremblant et les paysages arrondis de la vallée. Diable que c’est beau!

Cette sérénité, propre aux randonnées à raquettes, donne l’impression que la forêt se repose et reprend son souffle.

À l’occasion des 125 ans du parc, le sentier du Lac-aux-Atocas est pour la toute première fois accessible en hiver. Traversant à la fois une forêt mature de bouleaux blancs et d’épinettes, quelques milieux humides et une tourbière en devenir, ce petit bijou est très photogénique avec sa passerelle flottante.

Ce qui le distingue, c’est la diversité des écosystèmes rencontrés sur à peine deux kilomètres de randonnée. Ce lac est d’ailleurs un vestige sortant tout droit de l’époque glaciaire. Il fut formé par un bloc de glace ayant fondu tardivement, un kettle, résultant un lac non alimenté par les cours d’eau.

Ce sentier est tout simplement parfait pour initier les familles à la nature et à la raquette.

Le parc national du Mont-Tremblant offre plus de 50 km de sentiers de raquette, de niveau facile à difficile, répartis dans les deux secteurs (Diable et Pimbina).

Information : 819 688-2281

 

Marie-Ève Boisvenu11 Posts

Gestionnaire au Parc national du Mont-Tremblant. Community relations officer.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password