Retaining a priceless privilege

© AdobeStock

No need to go very far to observe the stars. You can do it from home. But did you know that you can observe the Milky Way from the Laurentides (Laurentians-plus) or Lanaudiere? How can we retain this priceless privilege for visitors to Québec’s oldest provincial park, where light pollution is weakest?

More than a year ago, Mont-Tremblant National Park started on a process of certification to obtain the status of first Parc international de ciel étoilé in Québec. This initiative, which is ongoing, involves a series of specific measures and criteria to meet the requirements of the International Dark-Sky Association, the principal requirement being an absence of light pollution. To help us in this process, the Mont-Mégantic National Park and the Domaine Saint-Bernard astronomy club have provided support.

Since then, other partners have followed suit, including the Conseil régional de l’environnement des Laurentides and numerous municipalities of the MRC des Laurentides. Recently the Ville de Saint-Donat-de Montcalm revised its environmental policy to reduce its light pollution.

The Municipality of La Macaza and the City of Mont-Tremblant have also committed to an initiative of lighting conversion. Even Station Mont-Tremblant (resort) has become involved by installing lighting better adapted to a starry sky. All these actions in the area peripheral to the park will have positive repercussions.

Inauguration of the Place des Étoiles

The Place des étoiles was recently inaugurated in Mont-Tremblant National Park to provide an unforgettable astronomic experience to its visitors. Observation chairs dedicated to a single constellation have been installed in various parts of the park: at the beaches of la Cremaillere (Diable sector), at Lac-Provost and at Lac-des-Sables (Pimbina-Saint-Donat sector).

It’s a novel concept, created and carried out by the Mont-Tremblant National Park. Come visit us and contemplate the priceless gifts provided by nature. The Perseids meteor shower – shooting stars – is this month. Make a wish!

 

More from this author by clicking on her photo bellow.

Marie-Ève Boivenu

 

Marie-Ève Boisvenu16 Posts

Gestionnaire au Parc national du Mont-Tremblant. Community relations officer.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Préserver un privilège inestimable

© AdobeStock

Pas besoin d’aller très loin pour observer les étoiles : cela peut se faire de la maison. Mais savez-vous qu’il est possible d’observer la Voie lactée depuis Les Laurentides ou Lanaudière ? Comment faire pour préserver ce privilège inestimable pour les visiteurs du plus ancien parc national du Québec où la pollution lumineuse est la plus faible ?

Il y a plus d’un an, le parc national du Mont-Tremblant entamait un processus de certification pour obtenir le statut de premier Parc international de ciel étoilé du Québec. Cette démarche, toujours d’actualité, s’inscrit sans une série de mesures et de critères bien spécifiques pour répondre aux exigences de l’Internationale Dark-Sky Association, dont la principale est la quasi-absence de pollution lumineuse.

Pour nous aider dans cette procédure, le parc national du Mont-Mégantic et du Club d’astronomie du Domaine Saint-Bernard nous ont donné leur soutien. Dès lors, d’autres partenaires les ont suivis, dont le Conseil régional de l’environnement des Laurentides et de nombreuses municipalités de la MRC des Laurentides. Récemment, la Ville de Saint-Donat-de-Montcalm a révisé sa politique environnementale pour diminuer sa pollution lumineuse.

La Municipalité de La Macaza et la Ville de Mont-Tremblant se sont également engagées dans une démarche de conversion lumineuse. Même Station Mont Tremblant s’implique par l’installation d’éclairages mieux adaptés à un ciel étoilé. Toutes ces actions en périphérie du parc auront des répercussions positives.

Inauguration de La Place des Étoiles

La Place des étoiles a été récemment inaugurée pour offrir une expérience astronomique inoubliable aux visiteurs. Des chaises d’observations dédiées à une constellation ont été installées dans les différents secteurs du parc : aux plages de la Crémaillère (secteur de la Diable), au Lac-Provost et au Lac-des-Sables (secteur Pimbina-Saint-Donat).

Il s’agit d’une conception originale, conçue et réalisée par l’équipe du parc national du Mont-Tremblant. Rejoignez-nous et venez contempler les cadeaux que la nature vous offre. Profitez de la période des perséides pour faire un vœu !

 

Plus de la même auteure ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Marie-Ève Boivenu

 

Marie-Ève Boisvenu16 Posts

Gestionnaire au Parc national du Mont-Tremblant. Community relations officer.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password