Tips for hitting “bombs”

Man playing golf at club

Like you, I love hitting bombs. I like being able to use every one of my 140 lbs by swinging without wasting energy. Besides, driving the ball an extra 15 to 20 yards makes a big difference on the scorecard. And what’s more, getting to the green with a 7 iron instead of a wood is so much easier.

Have two strategies

On the one hand, learn to swing with ease for the middle of the fairway. Move your body with suppleness and coordination with 60 per cent effort. Then from that basic swing go into ”overdrive”, add more power and energy to create an intensely more powerful swing. If you want to hit long, then go for it, expressing yourself freely, without holding back, with all your heart.

Develop your physical skills

Because your technique is based on the quality of your balance, agility, suppleness, coordination, proprioception, strength and speed, you have to develop these natural physical traits.

Perfect your swing by adjusting your initial set-up position

Take an athletic posture with your feet wider apart, getting more support from your left foot by tilting your pelvis towards the target so that 60 per cent of your body mass is supported by the leading foot. Align yourself to the right of your target to promote better hip and trunk rotation. This way you’ll get a bigger arc on the backswing and more arm speed through the ball.

Place your tee higher and position the ball opposite your left heel to promote a backward tilt of your spine during the downswing and therefore a club that catches the ball on the upswing at impact. Get a stronger grip by allowing the handle to rest in your fingers instead of the palms of your hands to get better flexion of the left wrist at the start of the swing and a better release of the clubhead at impact.

Get fitted

Custom clubs help golfers at every level. Try several shafts, heads and grips, with different lengths, weights, sizes and adjustments.

Happy golfing!

 

More from this author by clicking on his photo below.

Pierre Brisebois

 

Pierre Brisebois42 Posts

Enseignant professionnel, top 25 enseignant au Canada selon National Post et Meilleur enseignant régionale en Amérique selon Golf Magazine / Professional teacher, National Post - Top 25 Teachers in Canada, Golf Magazine - Top Regional Teachers in America

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Conseils pour frapper des « bombes »

Comme vous, j’adore frapper loin. J’aime pouvoir me servir de chaque once de mes 140 livres en m’élançant sans perte d’énergie. D’ailleurs, frapper 15 à 20 verges de plus fait toute une différence sur le pointage. Et puis, atteindre le vert avec un fer 7 plutôt qu’un bois est tellement plus facile.

Ayez deux stratégies

Jouez d’une part avec aisance et pour le milieu de l’allée. Élancez-vous en souplesse et coordination avec 60 % d’effort. Mais ajoutez plus de vigueur et d’énergie afin de créer un élan en force et puissance. Vous voulez frapper loin, alors élancez-vous en vous exprimant librement, sans retenue, de tout votre cœur.

Développez vos habiletés physiques

Puisque votre technique repose sur la qualité de vos équilibre, agilité, souplesse, coordination, proprioception, force et vitesse, vous devez développer ces mêmes prédispositions physiques dont la nature vous a doté.

Perfectionnez votre élan en ajustant votre position initiale de départ

Prenez une position athlétique avec un écart des pieds plus large, un appui à gauche en inclinant le bassin vers la cible pour un partage de 60% des masses du corps sur le pied avant. Alignez-vous à droite de votre cible pour favoriser une meilleure rotation des hanches et du tronc. Vous trouverez ainsi un plus grand arc lors de l’élan arrière, et plus de vitesse des bras à travers la balle.

Placez votre té plus haut et positionnez la balle vis-à-vis du talon gauche pour favoriser une inclinaison arrière de la colonne vertébrale lors de la descente et conséquemment un mouvement ascendant du bâton à l’impact. Renforcez votre prise en faisant reposer le manche dans les doigts plutôt que dans la paume des mains pour obtenir une meilleure flexion du poignet gauche dès l’amorce de l’élan et un meilleur dégagé.

Procurez-vous le bon équipement

Les bâtons sur mesure aident les golfeurs de tout niveau. Faites l’essai de plusieurs tiges, manches et têtes de poids, de longueurs et d’ajustements différents.

Bon golf !

 

Plus du même auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Pierre Brisebois

 

Pierre Brisebois42 Posts

Enseignant professionnel, top 25 enseignant au Canada selon National Post et Meilleur enseignant régionale en Amérique selon Golf Magazine / Professional teacher, National Post - Top 25 Teachers in Canada, Golf Magazine - Top Regional Teachers in America

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password