A 25th birthday for Tremblant Express

Denis Primeau, David Coderre, Guillaume Vincent et Myriam Delage. ©Allen_McEachern

It’s been a quarter century since Chris Fair, armed with a degree in journalism from Concordia University, published the first issue of Tremblant Express: a bilingual skier’s guide called Ski Tremblant.

The first, 12-page issue appeared in fall 1993, referring to itself as “the most visible guide in the region […] consulted by visitors looking for information about shopping, meals and things to do.”

“Tremblant had asked Chris Fair to create an independent newspaper that would publish factual, objective information about the activities offered by the  mountain and the region,” explains Denis Primeau, who was the Tremblant Express editor from 1999 to 2017, “In exchange, Tremblant, which never went back on its word, offered to sponsor the paper by buying advertising space.”

In July 1994, Ski Tremblant became Tremblant Express. Informative content was added for this 16-page issue which announced on its cover the first Canadian Annual Blues Summit, the precursor of the Tremblant International Blues Festival. “That’s how the distinctive character of Tremblant Express was born,” wrote André Courey in 2008, for the publication’s 15th birthday.

It should be noted here that Mr. Courey, a retired Radio Canada International journalist, wrote most of the content of Tremblant Express from 2000 to 2017.

On to coated paper, for “the only bilingual newspaper in the Laurentians”

In 2010, Denis Primeau decided to improve the quality of the paper of this monthly publication, which at that time printed 30,000 copies per month, eleven months a year. Still bilingual, Tremblant Express thus set itself apart from weekly papers such as Information du Nord and Point de vue. At first the paper was hybrid, printed partly on coated stock, partly on newsprint. Then in 2011, Tremblant Express was printed exclusively on coated paper.

Not just journalists…

Tremblant Express newsmagazine would not be what it is without its columnists. In addition to reports, portraits and numerous articles giving interesting information about the lifestyle in this beautiful part of the work — as well as all the events and activities that happen here — Tremblant Express has provided, over the years, an important showcase for the expertise of numerous local professionals.

Among these, we must emphasize the contribution of Laura Scully and Pierre Brisebois, whose columns have graced our pages for xxyears. In leafing through the pages of some old copies of our paper, we have discovered that Pascal De Bellefeuille, Sébastien Houle, Chantale Germain, Benoit Poirier, Gérald Gauthier, Nicolas Fleurant, Sylvie Gauthier, Marie-Claude Guéreand many others have also been published in this paper.

More recently, we should mention the contributions of Robert Roy, Jacques Prescott, Éric Cadotte, Magali Tisseyre, Tony O’Keeffe, Ariane Lavigne, Jessica Humphries and Bruno St-Hilaire, Marie-Stéphane Asselin, Gérald Le Gal, Pascale Janson, Valérie Goyette, Lynda Lavertu, Francis Couillard and Isabelle Morissette.

If it’s bilingual, that means translation

Many readers have told us how much they appreciate the fact that our publication is bilingual. Some even use the paper to work on the language that’s less familiar to them. All of this would not be possible without the work of Anne Johnston and Lysanne Éthier, who have been our translators for some time: Anne since 2004, and Lysanne since 2004. It is real asset for us to be able to rely on their professionalism.

To wind this up, we’ll just remind you that on March 1, 2017, Denis Primeau turned over Tremblant Express to David Coderre and Guillaume Vincent. The two new owners, who worked for Denis Primeau as sales director and journalist, respectively, have since been working to ensure that the paper remains at the level of its mission: to provide a high-quality, monthly, bilingual publication focusing on the lifestyle, sports and culture of Mont-Tremblant.

 

 

Guillaume Vincent283 Posts

Rédacteur et journaliste de profession, Guillaume Vincent a fait ses armes au sein de l’agence QMI. Il s’est joint au Tremblant Express en 2014. Promu en 2017, il y assume depuis le rôle de rédacteur en chef et directeur de la publication. / A writer and photojournalist by profession, Guillaume Vincent won his stripes in the QMI agency. He joined Tremblant Express in 2014. Promoted in 2017, he has been editor-in-chief and co-publisher since then.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Tremblant Express a 25 ans

Denis Primeau, David Coderre, Guillaume Vincent et Myriam Delage. ©Allen_McEachern

Voilà déjà un quart de siècle que Chris Fair, diplômé en journalisme de l’Université Concordia, publiait la première mouture du Tremblant Express : un guide bilingue pour skieur intitulé Ski Tremblant.

Ce premier numéro de 12 pages, apparu à l’automne 1993, se voulait à l’époque « le guide le plus visible de la région […] consulté par les visiteurs en quête d’information en matière de magasinage, de repas et de loisirs ».

« Tremblant avait demandé à Chris Fair de créer un journal indépendant qui publierait de l’information factuelle et objective sur les activités qu’offrait la montagne et sa région », explique Denis Primeau, éditeur du Tremblant Express de 1999 à 2017. « En échange, Tremblant, qui n’a jamais manqué à sa parole, avait offert de commanditer le journal en achetant de l’espace publicitaire. »

En juillet 1994, Ski Tremblant devint Tremblant Express. Du contenu informatif fut ajouté à ce numéro de 16 pages qui annonçait en couverture le premier Sommet du blues canadien annuel, précurseur du Festival international du blues de Tremblant. « Ainsi était né le caractère distinctif du Tremblant Express », écrivit André Courey en 2008, à l’occasion du 15eanniversaire de la publication.

Soulignons ici la contribution de M. Courey, journaliste à la retraite de Radio-Canada, qui a noirci avec dévouement la très grande majorité des pages du Tremblant Express de 2000 à 2017.

Du papier glacé pour « le seul journal bilingue des Laurentides »

En 2010, Denis Primeau prit la décision d’améliorer la qualité du papier de cette publication mensuelle, maintenant tirée à 30 000 exemplaires, onze mois par année. Toujours bilingue, Tremblant Express se distinguait alors des hebdomadaires comme l’Information du Nord et le Point de vue. Des éditions hybrides, conjuguant papier glacé et papier journal, furent d’abord leur apparition puis, en 2011, Tremblant Express fut exclusivement imprimé sur du papier glacé.

Qui dit encre, dit plume

La revue Tremblant Express ne serait pas ce qu’elle est sans ses chroniqueurs. En plus des reportages, des portraits et des nombreux articles permettant de cerner l’art de vivre de notre belle région ainsi que l’ensemble des évènements et des activités qui s’y déroulent, Tremblant Express a offert, au fil du temps, une vitrine importante sur l’expertise de nombreux professionnels d’ici.

Parmi eux, soulignons la contribution de Laura Scully et de Pierre Brisebois, qui écrivent dans nos pages depuis xannées. En feuilletant quelques vieux exemplaires de notre périodique, nous avons découvert que Pascal De Bellefeuille, Chantale Germain, Benoit Poirier, Gérald Gauthier, Nicolas Fleurant, Sylvie Gauthier, Marie-Claude Guéret, et bien d’autres ont prêté leur plume à cette revue.

Plus récemment, soulignons l’apport des chroniqueurs et chroniqueuses Robert Roy, Sébastien Houle, Jacques Prescott, Éric Cadotte, Magali Tisseyre, Tony O’Keeffe, Ariane Lavigne, Jessica Humphries et Bruno St-Hilaire, Marie-Stéphane Asselin, Gérald Le Gal, Valérie Goyette, Lynda Lavertu, Francis Couillard et Isabelle Morissette.

Qui dit bilingue, dit traduction

De nombreux lecteurs nous ont rapporté apprécier le fait que notre publication soit bilingue. Certains en profitent même pour se familiariser avec quelques rudiments de la langue qui leur est la moins familière. Tout ceci n’aurait été possible sans la complicité d’Anne Johnston et de Lysanne Éthier, qui participent à l’aventure du Tremblant Express à titre de traductrices depuis 2004. C’est un véritable cadeau de pouvoir compter sur leur professionnalisme.

Pour terminer, rappelons que le 1ermars 2017, Denis Primeau céda le Tremblant Express à David Coderre et Guillaume Vincent. Les deux nouveaux propriétaires, qui travaillaient pour Denis respectivement à titre de directeur des ventes et de journaliste, y œuvrent depuis afin d’assurer une relève à la hauteur de la mission du Tremblant Express; soit d’offrir une publication mensuelle bilingue de qualité orientée sur l’art de vivre, le sport et la culture de Mont-Tremblant.

 

 

Guillaume Vincent277 Posts

Rédacteur et journaliste de profession, Guillaume Vincent a fait ses armes au sein de l’agence QMI. Il s’est joint au Tremblant Express en 2014. Promu en 2017, il y assume depuis le rôle de rédacteur en chef et directeur de la publication. / A writer and photojournalist by profession, Guillaume Vincent won his stripes in the QMI agency. He joined Tremblant Express in 2014. Promoted in 2017, he has been editor-in-chief and co-publisher since then.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password