Mont-Tremblant golf scene changing significantly

Arundel golf club. ©Gary Yee

The range of courses available to golfers has changed a great deal in the past year. Of the six Mont-Tremblant courses, four remain active: La Bête, Le Maître, the Diable and the Manitou.

Complexe Le Maître

Le Maître and La Bête will from now on be run jointly following an agreement in principle concluded by ClubLink which allows resources to be shared. These two exceptional courses thus become the Complexe Le Maître. La Bête’s clubhouse is expected to be updated and some improvements made to the course itself.

At the Maître, ClubLink members will be able to enjoy the all-new Clubhouse, which will be finished and ready to open this spring. Handsomely built by Construction Tremblant – the master builder for Le Maître’s resort community – and architect Louise Bourée, this new gathering place provides a spectacular view across the golf course, waterfall and neighbouring mountains.

Members of La Bête golf club, as members of “Plein Golf Le Maître ClubLink”, will have the opportunity to enjoy the full ClubLink experience, which provides access to more than 40 golf courses.

Le Diable Golf Course, of Tremblant Resort

Just like last year, only Golf le Diable will be in operation this year starting May 1. The T-Golf tickets are back and the fees are identical to those of 2020. What’s new? The Multi-rounds 20-30-40 (valid for seven days). It’s also possible to add five games at the same unit price at any time, to prolong the season. The Links card, Passe PM and Passe illimitée will not be offered this year.

The Manitou continues on its path

Located beside the Diable River, this Fred Couples-designed course is recognized as the best “short” 18-hole golf course in Canada. The course, which will celebrate its 20th birthday next year, allows players to play a full round in three-and-a-half hours. Note that the fees have not been increased, despite a recent hike in the number of members.

La Belle of Gray Rocks no longer exists

La Belle, of Gray Rocks, will not see its 101st spring. The closure of this hundred-year-old golf course follows a major real estate transaction. Maintenance costs and the renovations needed are some of the reasons cited for ending the operation of this course, which was much prized by a local community of passionate golfers.

Exodus of local players

The decision set off a major wave of protests and caused the migration of dozens of players to the golf course of the tourist resort Royal Laurentien as well as to Golf Arundel. Questioned on the subject, the director of the latter course, Stefan Lebel, wanted to express his sympathy for the players who have lost their course.

“Some of them learned to play there 50 years ago,” Mr. Lebel notes. “I would like to thank Guy Ouimet, director of the Gray Rocks courses, for all the help he provided and for everythingl he’s done for Mont-Tremblant golf,” Mr. Lebel adds. “As well as having deep experience, Mr. Ouimet is a real gentlemen who has always supported young players. To honour all his efforts and continue to encourage the next generation, we’re offering young people a program at the same price as that of Mr. Ouimet.”

It’s worth noting that significant investments have been made over the past four years at Golf Arundel. Its year 2020 was exceptional, as it was for all area courses. But according to Stefan Lebel, competitive prices, the beauty of the clubhouse – which has a rustic cachet – and the fact that the course borders the Rouge River, explains in large part the success of this golf course, which was already booming before the crisis.

 

More from this author by clicking on his photo below.

Guillaume Vincent

 

Guillaume Vincent261 Posts

Rédacteur et journaliste de profession, Guillaume Vincent a fait ses armes au sein de l’agence QMI. Il s’est joint au Tremblant Express en 2014. Promu en 2017, il y assume depuis le rôle de rédacteur en chef et directeur de la publication. / A writer and photojournalist by profession, Guillaume Vincent won his stripes in the QMI agency. He joined Tremblant Express in 2014. Promoted in 2017, he has been editor-in-chief and co-publisher since then.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Le golf tremblantois en pleine mutation

Club de Golf Arundel. ©Gary Yee

L’offre pour les amateurs de golf s’est considérablement métamorphosée cette dernière année. Sur les six terrains de Mont-Tremblant, quatre demeurent en activité ; soit La Bête, Le Maître, le Diable et le Manitou.

Complexe Le Maître

Le Maître et La Bête seront désormais exploités conjointement suite à une entente de principe conclue par ClubLink permettant de mutualiser les ressources. Ces deux parcours d’exception deviennent ainsi le « Complexe Le Maître ». On prévoit de rafraichir le club-house de La Bête et d’apporter quelques améliorations au terrain.

Au Maître, les membres ClubLink pourront profiter du tout nouveau clubhouse dont la mouture finale doit être dévoilée ce printemps. Érigé avec brio par Construction Tremblant – maître d’œuvre de la communauté de villégiature Le Maître – et l’architecte Louise Bourrée, ce nouveau lieu de rencontres offre une vue spectaculaire sur le parcours, les chutes d’eau et les montagnes environnantes.

Quant aux membres du golf La Bête, en tant que membre « Plein Golf Le Maître ClubLink », ils auront l’occasion d’intégrer l’expérience complète de ClubLink qui offre l’accès à plus de 40 terrains de golf.

Le Golf le Diable de Station Mont Tremblant

Comme l’an dernier, seul le Golf le Diable sera en opération cette saison à compter du 1er mai. Les billets T-Golf sont de retour et les tarifs sont identiques à ceux de 2020. Nouveauté : la Multirondes 20-30-40 (valide 7 jours). Il est aussi possible d’ajouter cinq parties au même prix unitaire en tout temps afin de prolonger sa saison.

La carte Links, la Passe PM et la Passe illimitée ne seront toutefois pas proposées cette année.

Le Manitou continue sur sa lancée

Situé en bordure de la rivière du Diable, ce parcours dessiné par Fred Couples est reconnu comme le parcours de 18 trous « court » le meilleur au Canada. Ce golf, qui célèbrera ses 20 ans l’année prochaine, permet de jouer une ronde en trois heures et demie. Notons que les prix n’ont pas été majorés, malgré une récente augmentation du nombre de membres.

La Belle de Gray Rocks n’est plus

La Belle de Gray Rocks ne connaitra pas son 101e printemps. La fermeture de ce golf centenaire fait suite à une importante transaction immobilière. Le coût d’entretien et les rénovations nécessaires sont parmi les raisons invoquées pour cesser l’exploitation de ce parcours prisé par une communauté locale de golfeurs passionnés.

L’exode des locaux

Cette décision a déclenché une importante vague de protestations et provoqué la migration de plusieurs dizaines de joueurs vers le golf de la station touristique Royal Laurentien ainsi que le Golf Arundel. Interrogé à ce sujet, le directeur de ce dernier, Stefan Lebel, a tenu à exprimer ses sympathies pour les joueurs et les joueuses qui ont perdu leur terrain.

« Certains d’entre eux y ont appris à jouer il y a 50 ans », souligne M. Lebel. « Je voudrais remercier , , directeur des golfs Gray Rocks pour toute l’aide qu’il nous a apportée et pour tout ce qu’il a fait pour le golf tremblantois », ajoute M. Lebel. « En plus d’avoir une grande expérience, M. Ouimet est un vrai gentleman qui a toujours soutenu les jeunes. Afin d’honorer tous ses efforts et continuer d’encourager la relève, nous offrons un programme pour les jeunes au même prix que celui de M. Ouimet. »

Notons que d’importants investissements ont été réalisés ces quatre dernières années au Golf Arundel. L’année 2020 en fut une exceptionnelle, comme ce fut le cas pour l’ensemble des parcours de la région. Mais, selon Stefan Lebel, les prix compétitifs, la beauté du club-house – doté d’un cachet rustique – et le fait que ce parcours borde la rivière Rouge expliquent en grande partie le succès de ce golf qui était déjà en pleine effervescence avant la crise.

 

Plus de cet auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Guillaume Vincent

 

Guillaume Vincent261 Posts

Rédacteur et journaliste de profession, Guillaume Vincent a fait ses armes au sein de l’agence QMI. Il s’est joint au Tremblant Express en 2014. Promu en 2017, il y assume depuis le rôle de rédacteur en chef et directeur de la publication. / A writer and photojournalist by profession, Guillaume Vincent won his stripes in the QMI agency. He joined Tremblant Express in 2014. Promoted in 2017, he has been editor-in-chief and co-publisher since then.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password