Getting to love golf

©Gary Yee

Your interest in golf shouldn’t be motivated by just one performance, particularly in the beginning. If it were that easy, I believe very few people would play, because very few golfers play well when they first try. If you have the desire to improve, your ambition will motivate you to get past your initial limitations.

Whether your first experience was pleasant or not, whether you were “good” from the beginning or not, don’t talk about success or failure. If your progress is slow or nonexistent, don’t define yourself by your past performances but rather, by your expected love for the sport. If you really like golf, you’ll take the take the time to improve, and that will give you a new and deeper interest in the sport.

You have a lifetime to learn to play golf. Give yourself time and face as many elements as possible to promote your development. You never want to limit your options when you ask yourself what level of expertise you want to achieve. The more you experience new knowledge – new ways of being and doing – the more you’ll discover new kinds of help and the more your interest, curiosity and progress will be piqued. We often believe we like something we had a talent for from the beginning.

But why miss the pleasure of persevering with an activity that requires more involvement and effort and increases your personal satisfaction once you’ve found it? You’ll be fine as long as you accept a learning process that starts with “not the least inkling”, then moves through “starting to understand”, to arrive at “Aha! I get it!”

That way, you’ll keep progressing at the same time as you enjoy practising the game of golf.

 

More from this author by clicking on his photo below.

Pierre Brisebois

 

Pierre Brisebois34 Posts

Enseignant professionnel, top 25 enseignant au Canada selon National Post et Meilleur enseignant régionale en Amérique selon Golf Magazine / Professional teacher, National Post - Top 25 Teachers in Canada, Golf Magazine - Top Regional Teachers in America

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Aimer le golf

©Gary Yee

Votre intérêt pour le golf ne doit pas être motivé par la seule performance – particulièrement au début. Si c’était le cas, et sans vouloir offenser qui que ce soit, je crois que très peu de gens joueraient, car peu de golfeurs sont ”bons” au début. Si vous avez le désir de vous améliorer, votre ambition vous motivera à dépasser vos limites initiales.

Que votre première expérience ait été agréable ou non, que vous soyez ”bon” dès le début ou non, limitez vos prétentions. Si votre progression est lente ou inexistante, ne vous laissez pas définir par vos performances, mais plutôt par votre amour du jeu. Si vous aimez vraiment le golf, vous prendrez le temps de vous perfectionner, et donnerez un sens nouveau et approfondi à votre intérêt pour ce sport.

Vous avez toute la vie pour apprendre le golf. Donnez-vous du temps et affrontez le plus grand nombre d’éléments favorisant votre développement. Vous ne voulez jamais limiter vos options lorsque vous vous demandez quel calibre vous voulez atteindre. Plus vous expérimenterez de nouvelles connaissances – manière d’être et de faire –, plus vous découvrirez de nouvelles formes d’aide et plus ça piquera votre intérêt, votre curiosité et votre progression.

Nous croyons souvent avoir aimé une occupation pour laquelle nous avons été doués dès le début. Mais pourquoi se priver du plaisir de persévérer dans une activité qui demande plus d’implication et d’efforts et qui nous valorise une fois trouvée. Pourvu que vous acceptiez le processus d’apprentissage qui démarre par : ”sans le moindre indice”, puis passe par : ”un semblant de compréhension” pour arriver au : ”Ah ! Ah ! je l’ai donc bien !”

Ainsi, vous continuerez de progresser tout en prenant du plaisir à pratiquer le golf.

 

Plus de cet auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Pierre Brisebois

 

Pierre Brisebois42 Posts

Enseignant professionnel, top 25 enseignant au Canada selon National Post et Meilleur enseignant régionale en Amérique selon Golf Magazine / Professional teacher, National Post - Top 25 Teachers in Canada, Golf Magazine - Top Regional Teachers in America

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password