A doctor who left his mark (Part two)

© Courtoisie

Saint-Paul Hospital was founded. …This is when the family came to settle in a new house in Saint-Jovite. From this point on, Dr. Dupré came to the clinic at the base of the slopes when called. While their personalities were very different, Drs. Dupré and Ouimet got along famously. There was an enormous amount of work.

At the time, of course, it was the doctor who visited the patient. Despite the fact that the hospital provided a number of services. Dr. Dupré was always called in the middle of the night to visit his patients. When it was a birth, it was out of the question that he return home before the child was born – no matter how many hours it took.

During this time, the Dupré family welcomed three more children: Marguerite, Pierre and Jean. Education was extremely important in this family and each child had an impressive path and career.

Paul, the eldest, attended Collège Notre-Dame and Université d’Ottawa and forged a career as administrator with Sports Canada where he was the chief executive officer of Athletics Canada, formerly the Canadian Track and Field Association. He was then CEO of sports for the Canadian Olympic Committee.

Marguerite, upon the urging of her father, became a physician. She specialized in emergency medicine and worked as an emergency physician at Montreal’s Royal Victoria Hospital. Then after 1985, she was head of traumatology at the Sacré-Coeur Hospital.

Pierre, a highly regarded notary, headed a major firm in Saint-Jovite. He was also much engaged in the community as a director of the Fondation La Traversée, among others. It was he who convinced the municipality of Mont-Tremblant to turn over the Château Beauvallon building to the Fondation; the building now houses a palliative care residence. (Ed. note: See our article from December 2020.)

As to Jean, he became the Artistic Director and executive head of Orchestre Métropolitain of Montreal.

Dr. Dupré retired in 1985. He and his wife travelled and enjoyed life in their home in Florida, surrounded by their many friends.

We’ll remember Dr. Dupré as a tactful, sensitive man who listened attentively to his patients. He left an impressive legacy.

  • In 1951, he instigated having the Red Cross in this region.
  • In 1953, it was the Canadian Cancer Society’s turn to owe him its introduction here.
  • In 1954, he created the commission scolaire régionale des Laurentides (school board) and was its president for ten years.
  • He was also president of the Société médicale des Laurentides in 1962 and 1963.
  • He founded the Centre d’accueil du CHSLD (residential and long-term care centre) of Saint-Jovite. And he received other honours and awards, including the following.
  • The diploma for exceptional meritorious service from the Red Cross in 1973.
  • In 1976, he was awarded the certificate of the Canadian College of Family Physicians, of which he was made a life member in 1986.

Dr. Dupré, a member of that generation which developed and advanced our region, passed away in 2005. He and his wife left their children a legacy of love of work well done and of the importance of social commitment. It’s a heritage which, yet today, influences another generation proud of its roots.

 

More from this author by clicking on his photo below.

Peter Duncan

 

Peter Duncan68 Posts

Membre de l’équipe canadienne de ski alpin de 1960 à 1971, skieur professionnel de 1971 à 1979 et champion américain en 1965, Peter Duncan a participé aux Jeux olympiques de 1964 à Innsbruck ainsi qu’à ceux de 1968 à Grenoble. Intronisé au Temple de la renommée du ski au Canada, au Panthéon des sports du Québec et récipiendaire de la médaille du gouverneur général, Peter a longtemps été commentateur de ski à la télévision./ Peter Duncan is a Canadian former alpine skier who competed in the 1964 and the 1968 Winter Olympics. He was named to the Canadian National Alpine Team in 1960 at the age of 16 and competed at the national level for the next 10-years until 1970 before retiring.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Un médecin qui a laissé son empreinte (Seconde partie)

© Courtoisie

L’hôpital Saint-Paul voit le jour… C’est à ce moment-là que la famille vient s’établir dans une nouvelle maison à Saint-Jovite. C’est désormais sur appel que le docteur Dupré se rend à la clinique au bas des pentes. Bien qu’ils aient des personnalités très différentes, le docteur Ouimet et lui-même s’entendent à merveille. Ils ont énormément de boulot.

Il faut se rappeler qu’à l’époque, c’était le médecin qui se déplaçait vers le patient. Bien que l’hôpital offrît déjà de nombreux services, le Dr Dupré était toujours sollicité en pleine nuit pour se rendre auprès de ses patients. Dans le cas d’un accouchement, il n’était pas question de revenir avant la naissance de l’enfant – peu importe le nombre d’heures d’attente.

Pendant ce temps, trois autres enfants viennent agrandir la famille Dupré : Marguerite, Pierre et Jean. L’éducation est d’une importance majeure dans la famille et chacun aura un parcours impressionnant.

Paul, l’aîné, fréquentera le Collège Notre- Dame et l’Université d’Ottawa et fera carrière comme administrateur chez Sports Canada où il sera chef de direction d’Athlétisme Canada. Il sera ensuite directeur exécutif des sports au Comité olympique canadien.

Marguerite, à l’instar de son père, deviendra médecin. Elle se spécialisera en médecine d’urgence et exercera comme urgentologue à l’hôpital Royal Victoria. Puis, à partir de 1985, elle assurera la direction du centre de traumatologie de l’hôpital Sacré-Cœur.

Pierre, notaire d’excellente réputation, dirigera un bureau important à Saint-Jovite. Il s’illustrera par son implication dans la communauté comme administrateur de la Fondation La Traversée, entre autres. C’est d’ailleurs lui qui convaincra la municipalité de Mont-Tremblant de léguer à la Fondation l’édifice du Château Beauvallon qui accueillera sous peu une maison de soins palliatifs. (Voir notre article de décembre 2020. NDLR)

Jean, quant à lui, deviendra Directeur artistique et chef principal de l’orchestre Métropolitain de Montréal.

Le docteur Dupré prendra sa retraite en 1985. Son épouse et lui voyageront et profiteront de la vie dans leur maison en Floride, entourés de leurs nombreux amis.

Nous garderons du Docteur Dupré le souvenir d’un homme d’une grande délicatesse à l’écoute attentive de ses patients. Il nous a laissé un héritage impressionnant :

  • En 1951, il est à l’origine de la présence de la Croix-Rouge dans la région.
  • En 1953, c’est au tour de la Société canadienne du cancer de lui devoir son introduction chez nous.
  • En 1954, il crée la commission scolaire régionale des Laurentides et en assumera la présidence pendant dix ans.
  • Il sera également président de la Société médicale des Laurentides en 1962 et 1963.
  • Il est le fondateur du Centre d’accueil du CHSLD de Saint-Jovite. Mais il a aussi reçu sa part d’honneurs avec, entre autres :
  • Le diplôme de service méritoire exceptionnel pour la Croix-Rouge en 1973.
  • En 1976, on lui décerne le certificat du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada dont il sera fait membre à vie en 1986.

Décédé en 2005, le Dr Dupré fait partie de cette génération qui a développé et mis en avant notre région. Son épouse et lui ont légué à leurs enfants l’amour du travail bien fait et l’importance de l’engagement social. Un héritage qui aujourd’hui influence une autre génération fière de ses racines.

 

Plus de cet auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Peter Duncan

 

Peter Duncan64 Posts

Membre de l’équipe canadienne de ski alpin de 1960 à 1971, skieur professionnel de 1971 à 1979 et champion américain en 1965, Peter Duncan a participé aux Jeux olympiques de 1964 à Innsbruck ainsi qu’à ceux de 1968 à Grenoble. Intronisé au Temple de la renommée du ski au Canada, au Panthéon des sports du Québec et récipiendaire de la médaille du gouverneur général, Peter a longtemps été commentateur de ski à la télévision./ Peter Duncan is a Canadian former alpine skier who competed in the 1964 and the 1968 Winter Olympics. He was named to the Canadian National Alpine Team in 1960 at the age of 16 and competed at the national level for the next 10-years until 1970 before retiring.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password