Mont-Tremblant seen from the sky

Jean-Benoit Daigneault, pilot and president of Héli-Tremblant. © GuillaumeVincent

A first flight on a jumbo jet or a Cessna is nice. But in a helicopter, it’s better. Much better. And to discover our magnificent part of the country from a completely different angle, well, it’s simply brilliant. That’s what’s offered by Héli-Tremblant, located beside Hwy 117 in Mont-Tremblant.

Equipped with a fleet of three Robinson R44 machines and an equal number of considerate pilots, the company offers 10-, 20- and 30-minute excursions for an unforgettable helicopter experience. The flights not only allow you to explore vast parts of this mountainous region, but also to learn more about its major attractions.

“In addition to the flight portion, we make sure that our pilots act as tourist guides. They are ambassadors for the region,” explains Jean-Benoit Daigneault, pilot and president of Héli-Tremblant. Which is why, during our initial flight, our likeable pilot Anthony Marcy made sure we noticed that an ice-skating ring now encircles Lac Raynaud at the Domaine Saint-Bernard.

After flying over the Casino, the Versant Soleil and Lac Tremblant, Anthony pointed out that the baths at the Scandinave Spa, closed for the reasons of which we’re all well aware, usually send up clouds of steam at this time of year. He also made a point of emphasizing that the spa company is open and continues to offer treatments and massages.

When’s the best time to fly?

Created in 2006 – just after the Gray Rocks seaplanes on Lac Ouimet stopped their activities – Héli- Tremblant is starting its 15th year of operation. An airplane pilot for around thirty years and a helicopter pilot for two decades, Jean-Benoit Daigneault has been flying over the region for more than 15 years.

He notes that he never tires of it, at any time of year. “Everything is beautiful here,” he states. “I’m not tired of it, even after 15 years. The Rivière Rouge, the parc du Mont-Tremblant… I really love flying on winter days like today. You see the deer everywhere because the trees are bare.”

© GuillaumeVincent

The aircraft

Built in Torrance, California, the Robinson R44 is particularly well-suited to tourist flights. Fast, comfortable and easy to manoeuvre, these helicopters also provide superb visibility and a fairly modest operating cost.

The only negative is that each aircraft can only seat three passengers.

The solution offered by Héli-Tremblant is to opt for a slightly longer flight, divided in two parts. This way the children take off with Dad who, for the second half of the flight, cedes his place to Mom. Just guess who’s happy….

“The children are happy and we reduce the price a bit so that it’s still manageable. It works well for families of four, five or six people,” Jean-Benoit explains. “It’s important to show some flexibility, because three is not a magic number for everybody,” he admits.

The prices

That same flexibility also applies to the various services the company offers, as well as to the personalized packages. As to the price, it’s $99 per person for an introductory flight of 10 minutes. That amount of flight time can be doubled for an additional $49 per person. The third person pays only $49, no matter which package has been chosen.

“Our price structure encourages slightly longer flights to limit the number of departures, because I am sensitive to the issue of noise,” Jean-Benoit Daigneault emphasizes. “We have adapted our routes and our approach and arrival procedures to minimize the sound impact. Showing ourselves to be as respectful as possible is part of our business philosophy.”

In other words, it’s better – if your budget permits – to choose a 20- or 30-minute flight. You can be sure, however, that even with a 10-minute introductory tour, the children’s sense of wonder can be seen on their faces several days before, and during, and after the flight. It’s an unforgettable experience to have at least once as a family.

heli-tremblant.com

 

Guillaume Vincent261 Posts

Rédacteur et journaliste de profession, Guillaume Vincent a fait ses armes au sein de l’agence QMI. Il s’est joint au Tremblant Express en 2014. Promu en 2017, il y assume depuis le rôle de rédacteur en chef et directeur de la publication. / A writer and photojournalist by profession, Guillaume Vincent won his stripes in the QMI agency. He joined Tremblant Express in 2014. Promoted in 2017, he has been editor-in-chief and co-publisher since then.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Mont-Tremblant vu des cieux

Jean-Benoit Daigneault, pilote et président d’Héli-Tremblant. © GuillaumeVincent

Un baptême de l’air en jumbo-jet ou en Cessna, c’est bien. Mais en hélicoptère, c’est mieux. Beaucoup mieux. Et pour découvrir notre magnifique coin de pays sous un angle inédit, c’est tout simplement génial. C’est ce que propose Héli-Tremblant, située en bordure de la route 117, à Mont-Tremblant.

Forte d’une flotte de trois appareils Robinson R44 et d’autant de pilotes prévenants, l’entreprise propose des excursions de 10, 20 ou 30 minutes pour une expérience héliportée inoubliable. Ces vols permettent non seulement d’explorer le vaste territoire tremblantois au relief montagneux, mais également d’en apprendre plus sur les principaux attraits de la région.

« En plus de la portion vol, nous nous assurons que nos pilotes tiennent le rôle de guides touristiques. Ce sont des ambassadeurs de la région », explique Jean-Benoit Daigneault, pilote et président d’Héli-Tremblant. Voilà pourquoi, lors de notre vol d’initiation, notre sympathique pilote Anthony Marcy n’a pas manqué de nous faire remarquer qu’une patinoire ceinturait désormais le lac Raynaud du Domaine Saint-Bernard.

Après avoir survolé le Casino, le Versant Soleil et le lac Tremblant, Anthony nous a fait observer que les bains du Scandinave Spa, fermés pour les raisons que l’on connait, fument habituellement en cette période de l’année. Il a néanmoins pris soin de souligner que l’entreprise demeure ouverte et continue de proposer des soins et des massages.

À quelle période voler ?

Créée en 2006 – tout juste après que les hydravions de Gray Rocks au lac Ouimet ne cessent leurs activités – Héli-Tremblant commence sa quinzième année d’opération. Pilote d’avion depuis une trentaine d’année et d’hélicoptère depuis deux décennies, Jean- Benoit Daigneault survole la région depuis plus de 15 ans. Il confie ne pas se lasser, et ce, quelle que soit la période de l’année.

« Tout est beau dans la région, affirme-t-il. Je ne me tanne pas, même après 15 ans. La rivière Rouge, le parc du Mont-Tremblant… j’aime beaucoup voler les journées d’hiver comme aujourd’hui. On voit les chevreuils partout parce qu’il n’y a pas de feuillage dans les arbres. »GuillaumeVincent

© GuillaumeVincent

Les appareils

Fabriqués à Torrance, en Californie, le Robinson R44 est particulièrement bien adapté aux vols touristiques. Rapides, confortables, faciles à manœuvrer, ces hélicoptères offrent en outre une superbe visibilité ainsi qu’un coût d’opération relativement faible.

Seul bémol, le nombre de passagers limité à trois.

La solution proposée par Héli-Tremblant est d’opter pour un vol un peu plus long qui sera divisé en deux portions. Ainsi, les enfants partent avec papa qui laissera sa place à maman pour la deuxième moitié du vol. Devinez qui est content ?

« Les enfants sont heureux et nous baissons un peu le coût afin que ça demeure accessible. Ça fonctionne très bien pour les familles de quatre, cinq ou six personnes, précise Jean- Benoit. Il est important de se montrer flexibles, car trois n’est pas un chiffre magique pour tout le monde », concède-t-il.

Les prix

Cette flexibilité s’applique également dans les différents services que propose l’entreprise ainsi que dans les forfaits personnalisés. Côté prix, il faut compter 99 $ par personne pour un vol d’initiation de 10 minutes. Il est possible de doubler son temps de vol pour 49 $ par personne. Soulignons que la troisième personne ne paiera que 49 $, et ce, quel que soit le forfait retenu.

« Notre structure de prix encourage les vols un peu plus longs afin de limiter les départs, car l’enjeu du bruit me tient à cœur, souligne Jean-Benoit Daigneault. Nous avons adapté nos parcours ainsi que nos procédures d’approche et d’arrivée afin de minimiser l’impact sonore. Se montrer le plus respectueux possible s’inscrit dans notre philosophie d’entreprise. »

En résumé, il est préférable – si votre budget vous le permet – d’opter pour un tour de 20 ou 30 minutes. Soyez assurés cependant que même avec un tour d’initiation de 10 minutes, l’émerveillement des enfants se lira sur leurs visages plusieurs jours avant, pendant et après le vol. Une expérience inoubliable à vivre en famille au moins une fois.

heli-tremblant.com

 

Guillaume Vincent257 Posts

Rédacteur et journaliste de profession, Guillaume Vincent a fait ses armes au sein de l’agence QMI. Il s’est joint au Tremblant Express en 2014. Promu en 2017, il y assume depuis le rôle de rédacteur en chef et directeur de la publication. / A writer and photojournalist by profession, Guillaume Vincent won his stripes in the QMI agency. He joined Tremblant Express in 2014. Promoted in 2017, he has been editor-in-chief and co-publisher since then.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password