Barbecue grill brushes: danger!

Barbecue grill brushes: danger!

Surgeons are raising their voices to warn barbecue lovers about the risk of ingesting metallic threads originating in the brushes used to clean the grills. The resulting health problems can be serious and even go so far as gastrointestinal perforation.

Several national media have broadcast the information, relaying the specialists’ warnings. According to the University of Missouri medical school, no less than 1,500 injuries related to the metal bristles of barbecue brushes have been reported since 2002. Dr. Maureen Allen, who practices in Nova Scotia, has stated on the CBC that cases of ingestion of these pieces of metal increased 60 per cent during the summer of 2016, although she does not know the cause of the increase. She says that her colleagues in the emergency departments of Halifax hospitals have similar data.

After sticking to the cooking grill and being transferred to the food, the metallic fibres can become lodged in the tongue, esophagus or digestive system of the individual. Only surgeons can then intervene, but the operation is delicate and not always successful. The fact that the bristles are almost invisible complicates the task, because once ingested they become very difficult to remove.

“The best thing is to steer clear of them.” – Dr. Ian Dempsey

The solutions, say the surgeons, would be simply to remove barbecue brushes with metallic bristles from the market. According to Radio-Canada, the bristles have become such a problem that the Canadian Society of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery talked about this issue at its annual general meeting in 2016. “No-one has found a safe, effective method for removing them from a patient’s body. It’s better to steer clear of them,” said specialist Dr. Ian Dempsey on Radio-Canada.

No cases listed in the Laurentians

Nothing of this nature has been registered in the Laurentians, according to Myriam Sabourin, information agent for the CISSS (Centre intégré de santé et de services sociaux– health and social services centre). “It is not, as a result, an issue about which our public health officials are concerned,” she states. Health Canada, however, recommends examining the brush prior to every use, particularly if it is of lesser quality, and replacing it if needed. Sleep quiet brave people, services watch out!

Solutions

There are alternative solutions for safely cleaning the cooking surface. There are brushes with abrasive nylon bristles, and brushes made of wood such as The Great Scrape, which you can obtain online and which shapes itself perfectly to the grill. Some barbecue pros recommend cutting an onion in two and sticking a fork into it so it can be used as a brush. The most recent entry into the field, the Cookina cooking sheet, is an excellent alternative to aluminum foil. Reversible, 100 per cent non-stick, reusable and easy to clean, this cooking sheet is ideal for grilling marinated foods. Good barbecues!

Guillaume Vincent277 Posts

Rédacteur et journaliste de profession, Guillaume Vincent a fait ses armes au sein de l’agence QMI. Il s’est joint au Tremblant Express en 2014. Promu en 2017, il y assume depuis le rôle de rédacteur en chef et directeur de la publication. / A writer and photojournalist by profession, Guillaume Vincent won his stripes in the QMI agency. He joined Tremblant Express in 2014. Promoted in 2017, he has been editor-in-chief and co-publisher since then.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Brosses à BBQ : danger !

© Courtoisie

Des chirurgiens joignent leurs voix pour mettre en garde les amateurs de barbecue contre les risques d’ingestions de fils métalliques provenant des brosses à nettoyage pour le grill. Les problèmes de santé qui en résultent peuvent entrainer de graves conséquences et aller jusqu’à la perforation de l’appareil gastro-intestinal.

Plusieurs médias nationaux ont traité l’information et relayé les mises en garde des spécialistes. Selon l’école de médecine de l’Université du Missouri, pas moins de 1 600 blessures reliées aux fils des brosses à barbecue ont été recensées depuis 2002. La Dre Maureen Allen, qui exerce en Nouvelle-Écosse, a déclaré sur les ondes de CBC que les cas d’ingestion de ces morceaux de métal ont augmenté de 60 % lors de la saison estivale de 2016, ignorant cependant la cause d’une telle recrudescence de ces incidents. Ses collègues des urgences de Halifax auraient des données semblables, selon elle.

Après s’être accrochées à la grille de cuisson et transférées aux aliments, ces fibres métalliques peuvent se loger dans la langue, dans l’œsophage ou dans le système digestif du patient. Seuls des chirurgiens peuvent alors intervenir, mais l’opération est délicate et ne réussit pas à tous les coups. Le fait que ces poils soient presque invisibles complique la tâche, car une fois ingérés, ils deviennent très difficiles à déloger.

« Mieux vaut les éviter » – Dr Ian Dempsey

La solution, affirment des chirurgiens, serait de retirer purement et simplement les brosses à barbecue munies de poils métalliques du marché. Selon Radio-Canada, ces dernières sont devenues un tel problème que les membres de la Société canadienne d’oto-rhino-laryngologie et de chirurgie cervico-faciale ont traité cette problématique lors de leur assemblée générale annuelle de 2016. « Personne n’a trouvé de façon sécuritaire et efficace de les enlever du corps d’un patient. Il vaut donc mieux les éviter », a fait valoir, à Radio-Canada, le Dr spécialiste Ian Dempsey.

Aucun cas répertorié dans les Laurentides

Aucun évènement de cette nature n’aurait été recensé dans les Laurentides, selon Myriam Sabourin, agente d’information au CISSS (Centre intégré de santé et de services sociaux). « Ce n’est donc pas un enjeu qui fait l’objet de préoccupation de la part de notre direction de santé publique », a-t-elle précisé. Pour sa part, Santé Canada recommande d’examiner la brosse avant chaque nettoyage, surtout si elle est de moindre qualité, et de la remplacer au besoin. Dormez tranquilles braves gens, les services veillent !

Solutions

Il existe des solutions alternatives permettant un nettoyage de la surface de cuisson en toute sécurité. On retrouve notamment des brosses munies de soies abrasives en nylon ou des grattoirs en bois, comme The Great Scrape, qui se moule parfaitement à la grille. Certains pros du BBQ recommandent quant à eux de couper un ognon en deux, d’y planter une fourchette et de frotter. Dernière venue, la pellicule de cuisson Cookina représente une excellente alternative au papier d’aluminium. Réversible, 100 % antiadhésive, réutilisable et facile à nettoyer, cette feuille de cuisson est idéale pour griller les aliments marinés. Bons barbecues !

Guillaume Vincent277 Posts

Rédacteur et journaliste de profession, Guillaume Vincent a fait ses armes au sein de l’agence QMI. Il s’est joint au Tremblant Express en 2014. Promu en 2017, il y assume depuis le rôle de rédacteur en chef et directeur de la publication. / A writer and photojournalist by profession, Guillaume Vincent won his stripes in the QMI agency. He joined Tremblant Express in 2014. Promoted in 2017, he has been editor-in-chief and co-publisher since then.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password