The intelligence of the raven

In a Hallowe’en context, the raven represents the incarnation of evil, damned souls and Satan. At one time, in Europe, a dead raven was nailed to the door of a house to protect those within from misfortune. The bird’s bad reputation, however, is unfounded. The raven is actually a sensitive, intelligent creature which plays an important role in the balance of nature.

My colleague Louis Lefebvre, a professor at McGill University, has developed a measurement scale for the Intelligence quotient (IQ) of birds based on hundreds of scientific studies. According to him, birds in the Corvidae family (or Corvid…not Covid!) – which includes jays, crows and ravens – sit enthroned at the top of the intelligence scale.

A raven’s intelligence is comparable to that of a chimpanzee or a three-year-old child, whether in finding food, communicating with its peers or playing. Ravens have been seen amusing themselves with pine cones or twigs, throwing stones at intruders, and even sliding down snow-covered roofs.

The raven uses a complex language of sounds, gestures and postures. It imitates the calls and cries of other birds and animals, points with its beak to indicate something (as we would with an index finger) or grasps an object to attract the attention of its kind. The raven recognizes its friends, even after several years of separation, and comforts them after a quarrel by preening their feathers or giving them food.

Another proof of intelligence is that the raven can find food for itself in extremely different habitats, including city, forest, farming area or Arctic tundra. It cleans up animal carcasses, as well as feeding on fruit, nuts, seeds and garbage. Cautious about danger, it can live forty years or more.

The raven is anything but a bird of misfortune. Its majesty and intelligence were recognized by the Indigenous people of North America. This is the bird that created the world, protects humans, and is at the origin of the stars, and of water and fire. Next time you see one, bow low before this exceptional creature.

Jacques Prescott83 Posts

Jacques Prescott est biologiste, professeur associé à la Chaire en éco-conseil de l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi et co-fondateur de l’Animalium, le musée zoologique de Mont-Tremblant. Spécialiste de la biodiversité et du développement durable, il est l’auteur de nombreux livres et articles sur la faune et la conservation de la nature. Il nous fait l’honneur de rejoindre notre équipe de collaborateurs et signera chaque mois une chronique intitulée Faune et flore. / Jacques Prescott is a biologist, associate professor with the Chair in Eco-Counselling of the Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, and co-founder of Animalium, the zoological museum of Mont-Tremblant. A specialist in biodiversity and sustainable development, he is the author of numerous books and articles about wildlife and nature conservation. He has honoured us by joining our team of contributors and will write a monthly column entitled Wildlife and Habitat.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

L’intelligence du corbeau

Dans l’esprit de l’Halloween, le corbeau représente l’incarnation du mal, des âmes damnées et de Satan. À une certaine époque, en Europe, on clouait le cadavre d’un corbeau sur la porte de la maison pour éloigner le mauvais sort. Cette mauvaise réputation n’a pourtant pas sa raison d’être. Le corbeau est en réalité un être sensible et intelligent qui occupe une place essentielle dans l’équilibre de la nature.

Mon confrère Louis Lefebvre, professeur à l’Université McGill, a développé une échelle de mesure du quotient intellectuel des oiseaux basée sur l’analyse de centaines d’études scientifiques. Selon lui, les oiseaux de la famille des corvidés, dont font partie les geais, la corneille et le corbeau, trônent au sommet de cette échelle.

L’intelligence du corbeau se compare à celle d’un chimpanzé voire à celle d’un enfant de 3 ans, que ce soit pour trouver de la nourriture, communiquer avec ses semblables ou jouer. On a vu des corbeaux s’amuser avec des pommes de pin ou des branchettes, lancer des cailloux à des intrus, et même glisser sur les toits enneigés.

Le corbeau utilise un langage complexe de sons, de gestes et de postures. Il imite les cris d’autres animaux, pointe du bec comme on le ferait avec l’index pour indiquer quelque chose ou saisit un objet pour attirer l’attention du congénère. Le corbeau reconnaît ses amis, même après plusieurs années de séparation, et les réconforte après une dispute en leur lissant les plumes ou leur donnant de la nourriture.

Autre preuve d’intelligence, le corbeau trouve sa nourriture dans les habitats les plus variés, en ville comme en forêt, en milieu agricole comme dans la toundra arctique. Il nettoie les carcasses d’animaux, se nourrit de fruits, de noix, de graines et de déchets. Prudent face au danger, il peut vivre plus de quarante ans.

Le corbeau n’est certes pas un oiseau de malheur. Les Amérindiens ont de tout temps reconnu sa majesté et son intelligence. C’est l’oiseau créateur du monde et protecteur des humains, à l’origine des astres, de l’eau et du feu. Lors d’une prochaine rencontre, saluez bien bas cet être d’exception.

 

Jacques Prescott81 Posts

Jacques Prescott est biologiste, professeur associé à la Chaire en éco-conseil de l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi et co-fondateur de l’Animalium, le musée zoologique de Mont-Tremblant. Spécialiste de la biodiversité et du développement durable, il est l’auteur de nombreux livres et articles sur la faune et la conservation de la nature. Il nous fait l’honneur de rejoindre notre équipe de collaborateurs et signera chaque mois une chronique intitulée Faune et flore. / Jacques Prescott is a biologist, associate professor with the Chair in Eco-Counselling of the Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, and co-founder of Animalium, the zoological museum of Mont-Tremblant. A specialist in biodiversity and sustainable development, he is the author of numerous books and articles about wildlife and nature conservation. He has honoured us by joining our team of contributors and will write a monthly column entitled Wildlife and Habitat.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password