The red oak: a self-portrait

© AdobeStock

“I am a red oak (Quercus rubra), the most common oak in Eastern Canada. My species is fairly abundant in southern Québec but nonetheless, I consider myself quite exceptional. For centuries, my ancestors and peers have been used to build boats, barrels, furniture, woodwork and panelling, or to cover floors. For many years, their bark was used to tan leather.

“Being a twenty-metre-tall hardwood tree, I generally stand in a park or forest. In summertime, many people picnic beneath my cooling canopy. My abundant leaves quiet the noise and capture CO2 and particulate pollution. I do my bit for the environment!

“Humans are not the only ones who use me. A groundhog dug his burrow among my roots and garter snakes spend the winter there. In the crotch of a big branch, a robin built its nest. One day, at the very top, an oriole hung its fibrous, pocket-shaped nest, in which it shelters. In the folds of my rough bark, spiders, insects and mites hide to escape the view of warblers and other insect eaters.

“I also serve as a pantry for all kinds of hungry beings. In springtime, the nectar of my flowers attracts myriad insects which, in exchange, pollinate the flowers and ensure production of my fruit. Some eat my foliage, but the high level of tannin in my leaves discourages the most intractable and limits the damage.

Since my early twenties, come fall, when my lobed leaves take on a coppery tone, my acorns nourish hordes of chipmunks, squirrels, raccoons and deer. I have even seen a family of mallards leave the nearby stream to enjoy the feast. And I should mention the scrawny fox who came close to breaking his teeth on my tough fruit, and the bear who just kept on stuffing himself.

“I can’t even count my offspring. Squirrels planted many of my descendants close by and then forgot where they had hidden my acorns. I’m grateful to them. I don’t fear the future. With a little luck, I’ll live 300 years.”

animalium.ca

 

More from this author by clicking on his photo below.

Jacques Prescott

 

Jacques Prescott83 Posts

Jacques Prescott est biologiste, professeur associé à la Chaire en éco-conseil de l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi et co-fondateur de l’Animalium, le musée zoologique de Mont-Tremblant. Spécialiste de la biodiversité et du développement durable, il est l’auteur de nombreux livres et articles sur la faune et la conservation de la nature. Il nous fait l’honneur de rejoindre notre équipe de collaborateurs et signera chaque mois une chronique intitulée Faune et flore. / Jacques Prescott is a biologist, associate professor with the Chair in Eco-Counselling of the Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, and co-founder of Animalium, the zoological museum of Mont-Tremblant. A specialist in biodiversity and sustainable development, he is the author of numerous books and articles about wildlife and nature conservation. He has honoured us by joining our team of contributors and will write a monthly column entitled Wildlife and Habitat.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Autoportrait du chêne rouge

© AdobeStock

« Je suis un chêne rouge (Quercus rubra), le chêne le plus commun dans l’est du Canada. Mon espèce est assez abondante dans le sud du Québec, mais n’empêche, je me trouve exceptionnel. Depuis des siècles, mes ancêtres et mes congénères ont servi à fabriquer des navires, des tonneaux, des meubles et des boiseries ou à couvrir des parquets. Leur écorce a longtemps été utilisée pour tanner le cuir.

Je dresse mes vingt mètres de bois dur dans un parc. En été, de nombreux passants cassent la croûte sous ma canopée rafraichissante. Mon feuillage abondant assourdit le bruit, capte le CO2 et les particules de pollution. Je fais ma part pour l’environnement !

Les humains ne sont pas les seuls à profiter de moi. Entre mes racines, une marmotte a creusé son terrier et des couleuvres y passent l’hiver; à l’aisselle d’une grosse branche, un merle a construit son nid ; un jour, tout en haut, l’oriole a suspendu la bourse végétale qui lui sert d’abri. Dans les replis de mon écorce rugueuse, araignées, insectes et acariens cherchent à échapper à l’œil des parulines et autres insectivores.

Je sers aussi de garde-manger à une foule d’affamés. Au printemps, le nectar de mes fleurs attire une myriade d’insectes qui, en échange, les pollinisent et assurent ma production de fruits. Certains grignotent mon feuillage, mais la haute teneur en tanin de mes feuilles décourage les plus récalcitrants et limite les dégâts.

Depuis le début de ma vingtaine, l’automne venu, alors que mes feuilles lobées revêtent une teinte cuivrée, mes glands nourrissent tout un peuple de tamias, d’écureuils, de ratons laveurs et de cerfs. J’ai même vu une famille de canards colverts quitter le ruisseau tout proche pour s’en délecter. Et que dire du renard famélique qui faillit se briser les dents sur mes fruits coriaces et de l’ours qui n’en finissait plus de s’empiffrer.

Je ne compte plus ma progéniture. Bon nombre de mes descendants ont été plantés tout près par des écureuils ayant oublié leurs cachettes. Je leur en suis reconnaissant. Je ne crains pas l’avenir, avec un peu de chance, je vivrai 300 ans. »

animalium.ca

 

Plus du même auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Jacques Prescott

 

Jacques Prescott83 Posts

Jacques Prescott est biologiste, professeur associé à la Chaire en éco-conseil de l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi et co-fondateur de l’Animalium, le musée zoologique de Mont-Tremblant. Spécialiste de la biodiversité et du développement durable, il est l’auteur de nombreux livres et articles sur la faune et la conservation de la nature. Il nous fait l’honneur de rejoindre notre équipe de collaborateurs et signera chaque mois une chronique intitulée Faune et flore. / Jacques Prescott is a biologist, associate professor with the Chair in Eco-Counselling of the Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, and co-founder of Animalium, the zoological museum of Mont-Tremblant. A specialist in biodiversity and sustainable development, he is the author of numerous books and articles about wildlife and nature conservation. He has honoured us by joining our team of contributors and will write a monthly column entitled Wildlife and Habitat.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password