Shedding light on the stars

© AdobeStock

Although we tend not to realize it, we are privileged in terms of a starry sky. In our enormous expanse of unspoiled nature where light pollution is quite minimal, the stars really shine at night. For astronomy buffs, August is unquestionably a superb time to observe the Perseids, a prolific meteor shower.

Imagine discussing them around a fire under the stars. Happiness! For many nocturnal creatures, artificial light has a number of negative impacts on their biological cycle. Caring about conservation also means being interested in light pollution.

For the 125th birthday of its creation, the Parc national du Mont-Tremblant has given itself a gift: that of becoming the first international starry-sky park in Québec. But before obtaining this provisional status from the International Dark-Sky Association, we must meet several criteria.

To do this, we’ve sought the support of IDA-Québec, the Québec section of the International Dark-Sky Association; of the Parc national du Mont-Mégantic; and of the Club d’astronomie of the Domaine Saint-Bernard, in order to submit our candidacy.To achieve this goal, we are undertaking conversion of exterior lighting fixtures to reduce the intensity of their projection.

The action aims to preserve the integrity of the nighttime environment, but also to preserve our starry – “dark” – sky. Thanks to all these small actions, we hope to obtain official status as the first international dark-sky park in Québec and the second in Canada after Waterton-Glacier International Peace Park, in Alberta. Our park gives you 1510 square kilometres for contemplating the stars!

For more information:  ricemm.org   darksky.org

 

More from this author by clicking on her photo below.

Marie-Ève Boivenu

 

Marie-Ève Boisvenu16 Posts

Gestionnaire au Parc national du Mont-Tremblant. Community relations officer.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Lumière sur les étoiles

© AdobeStock

Sans le savoir vraiment, nous sommes plutôt privilégiés en matière de ciel étoilé. Avec un immense territoire de nature sauvage où la pollution lumineuse est moindre, les étoiles sont bien en valeur dès la nuit tombée. Pour les amateurs d’astronomie, le mois d’août est sans contredit une période incontournable pour observer les perséides.

Imaginez-vous discuter autour du feu à la belle étoile. Bonheur total ! Pour de nombreuses espèces nocturnes, la lumière artificielle a de multiples impacts négatifs sur leur cycle biologique. Être soucieux de la conservation, c’est aussi s’intéresser à la pollution lumineuse.

À l’occasion des 125 ans de sa création, le parc national du Mont-Tremblant s’est fait un cadeau : devenir le premier parc international de ciel étoilé au Québec. Mais avant d’obtenir ce statut provisoire par la International Dark-Sky Association, il faut s’assurer de répondre à plusieurs critères.

Pour ce faire, nous avons été cherché l’appui de l’IDAQuébec (section québécoise de la International Dark-Sky Association), le parc national du Mont-Mégantic et du Club d’astronomie du Domaine Saint-Bernard afin de soumettre notre candidature. Pour atteindre cet objectif, nous amorcerons une conversion des éclairages extérieurs afin de diminuer l’intensité de projection de ceux-ci.

Cette action vise à préserver l’intégrité de l’environnement nocturne, mais aussi à préserver notre ciel étoilé. Grâce à tous ces petits gestes, nous souhaitons obtenir le statut officiel du premier parc international de ciel étoilé au Québec et le deuxième au Canada après le Parc international de la paix Waterton-Glacier, en Alberta. Le parc, c’est 1510 km2 d’étoiles à contempler.

Pour plus d’information : idaquebec.org   ricemm.org

 

Plus de la même auteure ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Marie-Ève Boivenu

 

Marie-Ève Boisvenu16 Posts

Gestionnaire au Parc national du Mont-Tremblant. Community relations officer.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password