The secret to fat burning

If you have a weight loss goal for the New Year, add a new word to your vocabulary: mitochondria – a scientifically proven component of torching fat.

What Are Mitochondria?

Mitochondria are microscopic organelles in our cells that use oxygen to strip electrons from the food we eat to create energy and heat, and plays a key role in fatty acid oxidation (fat Loss).  So the term “fat burning” is an appropriate analogy as that is just what’s happening.

How Do Mitochondria Work?

Where do new mitochondria come from?  Exercise!

Getting your body to create mitochondria requires a stressor, literally, a change to the system. When you start to exercise, you place pressure on your system to produce high amounts of energy.

The mitochondria respond by becoming better able to take oxygen from the blood and use it to make energy. That energy literally burns fat, slows the aging process and helps your body fight off disease.

Turn On Your Furnace

For a long time, researchers thought that only aerobic exercising could increase mitochondria and was the best way to burn fat. However, recent research has shown that interval and strength training also increases mitochondria.

Recent research out of McMaster University has shown the effectiveness of interval training. Test subjects used a single-leg cycling protocol: one leg was used for interval training, the other for continuous cycling.

The interval leg saw bigger improvements in the mitochondria compared to the continuous-cycling leg. That fits the theory that intensity is what triggers improvements in function, debunking the myth that it is the volume of training, since both legs completed the same amount of work.

It’s All In The Science

If your goal is to increase your fat burning capacity, focus on endurance training, strength training and high intensity interval training. Hard and fast science beats fly-by-night fads every day.

 

By the same author: Should you stretch before or after a workout?  (Click the image below)

 

Robert Roy86 Posts

Kinésiologue reconnu et un expert chevronné, Robert Roy utilise l’exercice à des fins de prévention, de réhabilitation et de développement athlétique. Il cumule plus de 20 ans d’expérience avec des athlètes de tous les niveaux. Il a bâti le Quartier Général RobFit afin d’offrir un environnement d’entraînement hors pair dans la région. / Well-known kinesiologist and seasoned professional Robert Roy uses exercise for its preventive and rehabilitative virtues as well as for athletic development. He has more than 20 years of experience with athletes of all levels, and more recently built the Quartier Général RobFit in order to provide an outstanding training environment in this area.

Your holiday survival guide

Hamstrung by hamstrings

Training with technology

The pliable athlete

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Le secret pour brûler les graisses

Tout est dans la science. Si votre résolution pour la nouvelle année est de perdre du poids, ajoutez un nouveau mot à votre vocabulaire : mitochondrie – un composant cellulaire qui brûle les graisses, et cela a été démontré scientifiquement.

Comment les mitochondries fonctionnent-elles?

Lorsqu’il y a naissance de nouvelles mitochondries, les cellules bénéficient d’une énergie accrue. D’où proviennent les nouvelles mitochondries? De l’exercice!

Pour que le corps produise des mitochondries, il faut un élément déclencheur, un facteur de stress, un changement apporté au système. Lorsque vous commencez à faire de l’exercice, vous forcez votre système à produire de grandes quantités d’énergie.

Les mitochondries sont alors davantage en mesure d’emmagasiner l’oxygène présente dans le sang et de l’utiliser pour produire de l’énergie. Cette énergie brûle littéralement les graisses, ralentit le processus de vieillissement et aide le corps à lutter contre les maladies.

Allumer son brûleur

Pendant longtemps, les chercheurs ont pensé que seuls les exercices d’aérobie pouvaient contribuer à augmenter le nombre de mitochondries et constituaient le meilleur moyen de brûler les graisses.

Bien que les exercices d’anaérobie, comme l’entraînement à haute intensité, augmentent la masse musculaire, ils augmentent également les mitochondries.

Une récente recherche menée à l’Université McMaster a démontré l’efficacité de l’entraînement par intervalles. Les cyclistes utilisaient un protocole différent d’une jambe à l’autre; l’entraînement par intervalles pour une jambe, le cyclisme en continu pour l’autre.

On a constaté que l’entraînement par intervalles avait contribué de manière beaucoup plus significative à la production de mitochondries et à leur bon fonctionnement. Cela concorde avec la notion que l’intensité entraîne l’amélioration des fonctions et brise le mythe selon lequel la quantité de mitochondries dépend du volume d’entraînement.

Scientifiquement prouvé

Si votre objectif est d’augmenter votre capacité à brûler les graisses, optez pour un programme d’exercices qui allie l’endurance, la musculation et l’entraînement par intervalles à haute intensité. Mieux vaut se fier à la science absolue plutôt qu’aux engouements passagers.

 

Du même auteur : S’étirer avant ou après un entraînement ? (Cliquez sur l’image)

 

Robert Roy84 Posts

Kinésiologue reconnu et un expert chevronné, Robert Roy utilise l’exercice à des fins de prévention, de réhabilitation et de développement athlétique. Il cumule plus de 20 ans d’expérience avec des athlètes de tous les niveaux. Il a bâti le Quartier Général RobFit afin d’offrir un environnement d’entraînement hors pair dans la région. / Well-known kinesiologist and seasoned professional Robert Roy uses exercise for its preventive and rehabilitative virtues as well as for athletic development. He has more than 20 years of experience with athletes of all levels, and more recently built the Quartier Général RobFit in order to provide an outstanding training environment in this area.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password