Snow fit

As the temperatures begin climb this month, the hint of spring is in the air. However, we continue to have ample opportunity to enjoy our winter playground.

Changing conditions

Snow conditions will change throughout the day as the warmer weather eases in throughout March. We’ll see hard and fast conditions on the slopes in the morning, with more slow and slushy snow in the afternoon. If you are not a fan of soft corn snow, plan to ski earlier in the morning before the snow gets too soft.

But if you are like me and love bumps, then stick around later in the day. Be mindful. With more bumps on the slope, your risk of knee and back injury increases if you do not properly prepare. Follow these simple suggestions to make the rest of your ski season more enjoyable.

Fit tips

  • Drink water often during the day. Staying well hydrated is important.
  • Practice a warmup routine consisting of active stretching for 10-15 minutes. This can be as easy as walking up to the lift instead of taking the cabriolet. Your hips will be more mobile and it will wake up your back muscles.
  • Keep your legs relaxed to better absorb the bumps. Don’t fight the snow; you won’t win.
  • Engage your core muscles to help protect your back.
  • Rehydrate at the end of the day. Drink water before your beer.
  • Practice muscle release of your legs and back with a foam roller or a massage ball. Or, better yet, splurge on a massage. This will keep your muscles and fascia softer and more flexible and will significantly help in your recovery.

Spring skiing should not be discounted as “easy skiing.” It’s even more important to be snow fit in the springtime than at any other time of the season.

 

By the same author: Our winter playground (Click the image below)

 

Robert Roy72 Posts

Kinésiologue reconnu et un expert chevronné, Robert Roy utilise l’exercice à des fins de prévention, de réhabilitation et de développement athlétique. Il cumule plus de 20 ans d’expérience avec des athlètes de tous les niveaux. Il a bâti le Quartier Général RobFit afin d’offrir un environnement d’entraînement hors pair dans la région. / Well-known kinesiologist and seasoned professional Robert Roy uses exercise for its preventive and rehabilitative virtues as well as for athletic development. He has more than 20 years of experience with athletes of all levels, and more recently built the Quartier Général RobFit in order to provide an outstanding training environment in this area.

Every breath you take

Our winter playground

Embrace your sisu

Fitness is not a fad

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

S’adapter aux conditions de glisse

Le temps se fait plus doux, le printemps est dans l’air, mais nous avons encore le temps de profiter de notre terrain de jeu hivernal.

Changement des conditions

En mars, les conditions de neige changeront en cours de journée à mesure que les températures grimperont. Le matin, la neige sera dure alors qu’en après-midi, la neige deviendra molle et collante. Si vous n’aimez pas la neige molle, skiez plus tôt en avant-midi. Mais si vous raffolez des bosses, allez-y plus tard dans la journée.

Soyez conscient que, lorsqu’il y a plus de bosses sur les pentes, vous risquez davantage de vous blesser au genou et au dos si vous n’y êtes pas préparé. Ces simples recommandations rendront le reste de votre saison de ski plus agréable.

Conseils

  • Buvez souvent de l’eau durant la journée. Il est important de rester bien hydraté.
  • Faites une période d’échauffement, soit des étirements actifs pendant 10 à 15 minutes. Marchez jusqu’au remonte-pente au lieu de prendre le cabriolet. Vos hanches seront plus mobiles, et cela réveillera vos muscles dorsaux.
  • Vos jambes doivent être détendues pour mieux absorber les bosses. Ne combattez pas ; vous ne gagnerez pas contre la neige.
  • Sollicitez les muscles du tronc afin de protéger votre dos.
  • Hydratez-vous de nouveau à la fin de la journée avant de boire votre bière.
  • Décontractez les muscles de vos jambes et de votre dos à l’aide d’un rouleau en mousse ou d’une balle de massage, ou faites-vous masser. Cela gardera vos muscles et fascias plus souples et flexibles, et vous aidera grandement à récupérer.

Le ski de printemps ne devrait pas être considéré comme du « ski facile ». Il est important d’être prêt à affronter les différentes conditions de glisse au printemps, plus encore qu’à tout autre moment de la saison.

 

Du même auteur : Notre terrain de jeu hivernal (Cliquez sur l’image)

 

Robert Roy96 Posts

Kinésiologue reconnu et un expert chevronné, Robert Roy utilise l’exercice à des fins de prévention, de réhabilitation et de développement athlétique. Il cumule plus de 20 ans d’expérience avec des athlètes de tous les niveaux. Il a bâti le Quartier Général RobFit afin d’offrir un environnement d’entraînement hors pair dans la région. / Well-known kinesiologist and seasoned professional Robert Roy uses exercise for its preventive and rehabilitative virtues as well as for athletic development. He has more than 20 years of experience with athletes of all levels, and more recently built the Quartier Général RobFit in order to provide an outstanding training environment in this area.

Vie active

Gérer l’intensité

1 Comment

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password