Taking your yoga outdoors for a deeper connection

© AdobeStock

Whether you practise yoga three times a week, are a Saturday regular or a newbie, you can increase the benefits of your activity by taking your mat outside. Outdoor yoga can differ from indoor yoga. It’s a complementary experience that can enrich your practice and here’s why.

Deepening your connection

Practising yoga outdoors helps us disconnect from everyday life, to reconnect with nature, to find our source and our roots. It’s not only the spiritual aspect of practising yoga outdoors that can help you feel more grounded, but the literal connection of your feet to the earth that has significant benefits as well. For example, walking barefoot allows the multiple joints and muscles in your feet to stretch and stabilize.

Stretching your comfort zone

You may not be completely comfortable with your first outdoor yoga experience. It’s easier to practise in a closed environment that you are used to. Habit creates a sense of security, but stepping out of your comfort zone gives rise to a whole new interpretation of the yoga session. Imagine a sun salutation under the sun, tree pose rooted beside a spruce tree, or mountain pose on the top of a mountain!

Improving your balance

Finding balance on a mat, with two feet in the grass, or on a rocky surface are all different experiences! The uneven nature of the ground will strengthen your ankles and your muscles in general and you will have to deepen your concentration in order to keep your balance. Taking your practice into nature is a way of reminding yourself that we are all part of something much bigger. Try it out and enjoy the benefits.

Would you like to know our outdoor yoga schedule for this summer? Email us at jessica@enerj.ca

To your health.

 

More from these authors by clicking on their photo below.

Jessica Humphries & Bruno Saint-Hilaire

 

Jessica Humphries Bruno Saint-Hilaire82 Posts

Jessica Humphries est entraîneuse certifiée, coach santé et conceptrice de programmes d’entraînement physique en plein air offerts à longueur d’année. Diplômée de l’Université McGill, elle détient un baccalauréat en éducation physique et kinésiologie. - Bruno Saint-Hilaire est un professionnel de la santé qui a fait ses études universitaires en médecine sportive et nutritionnelle et administration des affaires. Ce qui le passionne depuis plus de 20 ans est d'accompagner sa clientèle très variée (enfants, adolescents et adultes) vers l'optimisation de leur santé afin de les aider à vivre au quotidien avec plus d'énergie et de vitalité. / Jessica Humphries is a certified natural trainer in functional fitness, yoga instructor, healthy lifestyle coach and the designer of year-round nature fitness training programs. She graduated from McGill University with a BEd in physical education and kinesiology. - Bruno Saint-Hilaire is a health professional who completed his university studies in sports and nutritional medicine and business administration. For more than 20 years his passion has been to accompany his wide range of clients (children, teens and adults) in the optimization of their health to help them live their daily lives with more energy and vitality. enerj.ca

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Yoga en connexion avec la nature

© AdobeStock

Que vous soyez novice ou que vous vous y adonniez tous les samedis, voire trois fois par semaine, vous pouvez doubler les bénéfices de votre activité en la pratiquant en plein air. C’est une expérience à part et complémentaire qui permet d’enrichir votre routine et voici pourquoi.

Se connecter plus profondément

La pratique du yoga en extérieur est une occasion de se déconnecter du quotidien, de se reconnecter à la nature et de retrouver nos sources et nos racines. Ce n’est pas seulement l’aspect spirituel de la pratique du yoga en plein air qui peut nous aider à nous sentir plus enracinés. La connexion littérale des pieds à la terre présente également des avantages significatifs. Par exemple, marcher pieds nus permet aux multiples articulations et muscles des pieds de s’étirer et de se stabiliser.

Sortir de sa zone de confort

Il est possible de n’être pas tout à fait à l’aise lors de la première séance de yoga en plein air. L’habitude de pratiquer dans un environnement défini entraîne un sentiment de sécurité, mais sortir de sa zone de confort donne lieu à une toute nouvelle interprétation de la séance de yoga. Imaginez une salutation au soleil sous le soleil, la posture de l’arbre face à un sapin, ou la posture de la montagne sur une montagne !

Améliorer notre équilibre

Trouver l’équilibre les deux pieds dans le gazon ou sur une surface rocailleuse, c’est une autre affaire ! L’instabilité du terrain renforcera vos chevilles et vos muscles en général et vous aidera à vous plonger dans une concentration plus intense, nécessaire à la maîtrise de votre équilibre. Intégrer votre pratique dans la nature est une manière de se rappeler que nous faisons partie d’un tout. Tentez l’expérience et profitez des bienfaits de cette nouvelle approche.

Vous aimeriez connaître notre horaire de yoga en plein air cet été ? Envoyez-nous un courriel à jessica@enerj.ca

À votre santé. Jessica et Bruno

 

Plus de ces auteurs ? Cliquez sur leur photo ci-dessous.

Jessica Humphries & Bruno Saint-Hilaire

 

Jessica Humphries Bruno Saint-Hilaire78 Posts

Jessica Humphries est entraîneuse certifiée, coach santé et conceptrice de programmes d’entraînement physique en plein air offerts à longueur d’année. Diplômée de l’Université McGill, elle détient un baccalauréat en éducation physique et kinésiologie. - Bruno Saint-Hilaire est un professionnel de la santé qui a fait ses études universitaires en médecine sportive et nutritionnelle et administration des affaires. Ce qui le passionne depuis plus de 20 ans est d'accompagner sa clientèle très variée (enfants, adolescents et adultes) vers l'optimisation de leur santé afin de les aider à vivre au quotidien avec plus d'énergie et de vitalité. / Jessica Humphries is a certified natural trainer in functional fitness, yoga instructor, healthy lifestyle coach and the designer of year-round nature fitness training programs. She graduated from McGill University with a BEd in physical education and kinesiology. - Bruno Saint-Hilaire is a health professional who completed his university studies in sports and nutritional medicine and business administration. For more than 20 years his passion has been to accompany his wide range of clients (children, teens and adults) in the optimization of their health to help them live their daily lives with more energy and vitality. enerj.ca

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password