Growing bolder

©Guillaume Vincent

Birthdays mark that we’re another year older. They can also mark another year stronger. As my birthday-meter strikes 63 this month, I am choosing stronger.

Birthday fitness

I share my birthday month with Stéphane Leclerc, co-owner of Gym OxyClub. In anticipation of some pink-frosted chocolate cake, I asked Stéphane to program a workout for me that would take advantage of all the gym has to offer.

The largest fitness facility in Mont- Tremblant, OxyClub boasts more equipment than any gym north of Saint-Sauveur. There is almost no end to the amazing array of machines available to help you pump, push, pull, run, ride and climb your way to fitness.

Bolder not older

I started my sweat session on the main floor. The treadmill provided a good warm-up. In the new hi-intensity cardio room, I climbed the oversized StairMaster. Done, but not easy.

I sampled the vertical wall climber. It’s a sure bet I will never play Spiderman in a movie – or elsewhere. Then it was on to the free-weight training zone. My favourite. I am uncertain who uses the 135-pound dumbbells, but whoever it is, he (or she) has got some serious biceps.

Next up. The multi-functional room has huge windows with wall-to-wall mirrors. Energizing and great for monitoring form while working on function. Then it was upstairs for core work and stretching.

The loft overlooks the huge main training floor. It’s a semi-private area where you can train on your own – or cool down after a hard-hitting training session. Train on your own at OxyClub or buy a custom plan.

With day passes, a 10-pack punch card, a Weekend Warrior special, an array of memberships, and a 24/7 VIP pass available, there is a package for every level.

Get outside your comfort zone. Get bolder, not older… and always enjoy your birthday cake.

 

More from this author by clicking on her photo below.

Cathy Bergman

 

Cathy Bergman68 Posts

Cathy Bergman est devenue athlète de façon inopinée à un âge relativement avancé. Elle nous montre qu’il n'est jamais trop tard pour retrouver la santé et la forme. Cathy Bergman is an accidental athlete who found health and fitness late in life. She shows us that is never too late to get healthy and fit.

Teed up for fun

Grief on the run

Hooping in happiness

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Vieillir avec audace

©Guillaume Vincent

Chaque anniversaire, nous prenons de l’âge, mais nous pouvons aussi gagner en force. J’ai 63 ans cette année, et je choisis la force.

Anniversaire sur le thème du fitness

Ce mois-ci, pour célébrer mon anniversaire, et prévoyant me régaler d’un gâteau au chocolat au glaçage rose, j’ai demandé à Stéphane Leclerc – copropriétaire du Gym Oxyclub –, d’élaborer un programme d’entraînement qui me permettrait de profiter de tout ce que le gym a à offrir.

À l’Oxyclub, le plus grand centre d’entraînement à Mont-Tremblant, il y a plus d’appareils de conditionnement physique que dans tout autre gym au nord de Saint-Sauveur. Une incroyable panoplie de machines pour pomper, pousser, tirer, courir, rouler, grimper… et améliorer notre condition physique est à notre disposition.

Audacieux et non âgé

J’ai commencé par m’échauffer– et à suer – sur le tapis roulant au premier étage. Dans la nouvelle salle cardio à haute intensité, j’ai grimpé sur le marchepied surdimensionné. Pas facile, mais j’y suis parvenue.

J’ai essayé l’escalade de la paroi verticale, mais je n’ai rien d’un Spider- Man. Puis, mon préféré, l’entraînement avec poids. Je ne sais pas qui soulève des haltères de 135 livres, mais il (ou elle) doit avoir de formidables biceps.

Ensuite, la salle multifonctionnelle avec ses grandes fenêtres et ses murs recouverts de miroirs. Énergisant et idéal pour surveiller la posture pendant l’exercice. Je suis par la suite montée à l’étage pour le renforcement des abdominaux et les étirements.

Le loft surplombe l’immense salle d’entraînement principale. C’est un espace semi-privé où l’on peut s’entraîner seul – ou récupérer après une séance d’entraînement intense. Entraînez-vous seul à l’Oxyclub ou prenez un programme d’entraînement personnalisé.

Il y a des laissez-passer journaliers, une carte à perforer valide pour 10 visites, un spécial guerrier du week-end, toute une série d’abonnements et une passe VIP 24/7 – des forfaits pour tous les niveaux.

Sortez de votre zone de confort. Soyez audacieux, et non pas vieux… et prenez toujours plaisir à déguster votre gâteau d’anniversaire.

 

Plus de cette auteure ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Cathy Bergman

 

Cathy Bergman76 Posts

Cathy Bergman est devenue athlète de façon inopinée à un âge relativement avancé. Elle nous montre qu’il n'est jamais trop tard pour retrouver la santé et la forme. Cathy Bergman is an accidental athlete who found health and fitness late in life. She shows us that is never too late to get healthy and fit.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password