Valérie Daigle : a spark of résilience

How we react when faced with adversity often reveals our intrinsic strength. Valérie Daigle is an extraordinary example of this. This is about an encounter with a young woman who has managed to blossom despite a twist of fate.

Just barely 24, Valérie Daigle is one of those people who can’t be sidelined by bad luck. Having left at 18 to live her dream on the snowy slopes of BC, her life was derailed in a heartbeat at the beginning of her third season in Western Canada. She had trained hard all summer, but took a fall when back on the slopes.

The impact was so violent that it compressed the young boarder’s spinal cord; at the time, she was also a Whistler Blackcomb snowboarding instructor. A powder hound who loved free riding and moguls, Valérie dreamed of establishing snowboard moguls competitions.

“I trained seriously to reach a professional level,” says Valérie Daigle. “I was performing really well in the bumps and I would have liked to take this sport to another level, but I didn’t have the time. The universe had another path planned for me,” she notes, smiling.

Transported to hospital by helicopter, Valérie had emergency surgery. The operation was to decompress the T12 vertebra crushed in the fall. She realized then that she had almost completely lost the use of her legs.

“I was overwhelmed with emotion, but I considered myself truly lucky. I still had a small spark, a tiny connection with my toes; as a result, I had a chance to rebuild myself,” Valérie recounts. “The doctors told me I’d never walk again. But I was 20, and it was out of the question that I accept that.”

The process

Long months of re-education awaited the young woman, who had decided to give her all to succeed. The courage and perseverance of her companions in misfortune inspired her and strengthened her determination.

“Re-education is a bit like life,” Valérie remarks. “You learn non-stop and always face new challenges. I think I’m lucky to have learned so young to take care of myself. It’s a blessing. Those close to me helped enormously. I have a lot of friends and an amazing family. That’s hugely important, because I was isolated for a really long time.”

Yoga a determining factor in a spectacular recovery 

Unsurprisingly, Valérie, who teaches yoga at the Complexe aquatique Mont-Tremblant and at the Boréal Yoga studio, states categorically that this age-old practice was an enormous help in getting to use her legs again.

A crucial encounter sealed her destiny forever when her path crossed that of the woman who would become her yoga teacher: Tina Pashumati James.

“Yoga really helped me,” she admits. “I found my teacher in Vancouver, and she launched me on the path to recovery in a most magnificent way. Tina had already been there. She had crushed a cervical vertebra at the age of 20 and her whole body was paralyzed.

Yoga saved her, thanks to techniques of reactivation of the nervous system, of reinforcement and of purification. It’s a whole, which permits better coherence between the body, mind and spirit so that they work together to achieve the optimum.

That’s what helped me on a daily basis. I am so grateful to have found Tina and to have been able to learn her techniques.”

To perfect her knowledge, Valérie spent three months in India last winter to do 400 hours of courses in yoga therapy and ashtanga. She’ll return this winter to deepen her knowledge of this altruistic aspect of the practice.

“I’m 24 years old and I feel more awakened, more stimulated than ever before. From my perspective, yoga must – before all else – be therapeutic, and I invite anyone who needs it to contact me to discuss their personal challenges and, perhaps, to receive in turn the help they need,” she concludes.

 

Guillaume Vincent277 Posts

Rédacteur et journaliste de profession, Guillaume Vincent a fait ses armes au sein de l’agence QMI. Il s’est joint au Tremblant Express en 2014. Promu en 2017, il y assume depuis le rôle de rédacteur en chef et directeur de la publication. / A writer and photojournalist by profession, Guillaume Vincent won his stripes in the QMI agency. He joined Tremblant Express in 2014. Promoted in 2017, he has been editor-in-chief and co-publisher since then.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Valérie Daigle : étincelle de résilience

La façon dont nous nous relevons face à l’adversité révèle bien souvent la force intrinsèque qui nous est propre. Valérie Daigle en est un exemple flagrant. Rencontre avec une jeune femme parvenue à s’épanouir en dépit d’un revers du destin.

Âgée tout juste de 24 ans, Valérie Daigle fait partie de ces personnes que l’infortune n’aura pu renverser. Partie vivre son rêve à 18 ans sur les pentes enneigées de la Colombie-Britannique, sa vie bascula en un instant, à l’aube d’une troisième saison de glisse dans l’Ouest canadien.

Alors que la jeune femme s’était entrainée tout l’été, elle fit une chute lors de son retour sur les pistes. L’impact fut si violent qu’il compressa la moelle épinière de la jeune planchiste, également monitrice de snowboard pour Whistler Blackcomb.

Adepte de poudreuse, de free riding et de bosses, Valérie caressait le rêve d’instituer des compétitions de bosses en planche à neige.

« Je m’entrainais sérieusement pour atteindre un niveau professionnel, raconte Valérie Daigle. Je performais vraiment bien en bosses et j’aurais aimé amener cette discipline à un autre niveau, mais je n’en ai pas eu le temps, l’univers avait un autre chemin pour moi », souligne-t-elle en souriant.

Transportée à l’hôpital en hélicoptère, Valérie est opérée d’urgence. L’intervention doit permettre de décompresser la vertèbre T12 qui fut écrasée lors de la chute. Elle réalise alors qu’elle a presque entièrement perdu l’usage de ses jambes.

« J’étais submergée par l’émotion, mais je me considérais vraiment chanceuse. J’avais encore une petite étincelle, une connexion très minime avec mes orteils; j’avais donc une chance de me reconstruire, raconte Valérie. Les docteurs m’ont annoncé que je ne remarcherai pas. Mais j’avais 20 ans, il était hors de question que j’accepte ça. »

Le cheminement

De longs mois de rééducation attendent alors la jeune femme qui décide de tout mettre en œuvre pour s’en sortir. Le courage et la persévérance de ses compagnons d’infortune l’inspirent et renforcent sa détermination.

« La rééducation, c’est un peu comme la vie, fait remarquer Valérie. On apprend sans cesse et on se lance toujours de nouveaux défis. Je me trouve chanceuse d’avoir appris aussi jeune à prendre soin de moi. C’est une bénédiction. Mes proches m’aident énormément. J’ai beaucoup d’amis et une famille extraordinaire. C’est primordial, car je suis restée isolée très longtemps. »

Le yoga, facteur déterminant d’une guérison spectaculaire 

Valérie, qui enseigne le yoga au Complexe aquatique Mont-Tremblant et au studio Boréal Yoga, affirme sans détour que cette pratique séculaire l’a énormément aidée à retrouver l’usage de ses jambes. Une rencontre capitale scella son destin à jamais lorsqu’elle croisa sur son chemin celle qui deviendrait sa professeure de yoga; Tina Pashumati James.

« Le yoga m’a vraiment aidée, concède-t-elle. J’ai trouvé ma professeure à Vancouver, et elle m’a lancée sur la voie de la guérison d’une magnifique façon. Tina était déjà passée par là. Elle s’était cassé une vertèbre cervicale à 20 ans et tout son corps était resté paralysé.

Le yoga l’a sauvée, grâce à des techniques de réactivation du système nerveux, de renforcement et de purification. C’est un tout, qui permet une meilleure cohésion entre le corps et l’esprit afin qu’ils travaillent ensemble pour atteindre l’optimal.

C’est ce qui m’aide au quotidien. Je suis vraiment reconnaissante d’avoir trouvé Tina et d’avoir pu apprendre ses techniques. »

Afin de parfaire ses connaissances, Valérie a passé trois mois en Inde l’hiver dernier pour y suivre 400 heures de cours de yoga thérapie et d’ashtanga. Elle y retournera cet hiver afin d’approfondir ses connaissances sur l’aspect altruiste de cette discipline.

« J’ai 24 ans et j’ai l’impression de m’être éveillée comme jamais. Pour moi le yoga doit avant tout être thérapeutique et j’invite quiconque en a besoin à me contacter pour discuter de leurs défis personnels, et peut-être, obtenir à leur tour l’aide qui leur sera nécessaire », conclut-elle.

 

Guillaume Vincent261 Posts

Rédacteur et journaliste de profession, Guillaume Vincent a fait ses armes au sein de l’agence QMI. Il s’est joint au Tremblant Express en 2014. Promu en 2017, il y assume depuis le rôle de rédacteur en chef et directeur de la publication. / A writer and photojournalist by profession, Guillaume Vincent won his stripes in the QMI agency. He joined Tremblant Express in 2014. Promoted in 2017, he has been editor-in-chief and co-publisher since then.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password