A local European-style Crèmerie

Diane Bélanger. © Guillaume Vincent

A rare, upscale taste treat is now available in Mont-Tremblant: gelato. Come experience European refinement and get to know the two master ice cream makers, Mario St-Laurent and Diane Bélanger, who left the Abitibi area to open the Crèmerie Mabel here.

After many years of dreaming and six years of research and training with Italian specialists, Mario opened his creamery two years ago at the corner of Chemin de Brébeuf and rue de Saint-Jovite. Mario is in charge of the equipment and customers and his spouse has become the recipe queen.

The counter must always carry the classics such as pistachio, dark chocolate and strawberry for the children, but Diane is always experimenting with new flavours. Everything is made on-site. Gelato is a refined product. It’s an artisanal dairy ice made from natural ingredients according to a traditional method developed in Italy.

It contains less air, fat and sugar than commercial ice creams and completely avoids the use of artificial flavours and of artificial conservation and colouring agents. “Avoid florescent colours,” Diane warns us, “as gelato must have the natural colour of the fruit.” For Mario, tasting a gelato is like the winetasting process: “Several factors influence the taste, particularly the temperature at which it’s served. Gelato is tasted at -8° C, compared to -18° C for hard ice cream. The taste immediately explodes in the mouth.”

Choose a gelato in a cone or cup, or a fruity sherbet … perhaps strawberry, mango, grapefruit or coffee: there are more than 20 flavours available. The creamery also carries “soft ice cream” of course, which is a Québec tradition, as well as offering desserts to go: lemon pie, dipping chocolate, solid or liquid sucre à la crème, all made from local ingredients.

Considering the popularity of these treats, remember to order your yule log well before Christmas!

 

More from this author by clicking on his photo below.

Daniel Gauvreau

 

Daniel Gauvreau46 Posts

Récréologue et journaliste de formation, tour à tour organisateur, formateur, consultant, chroniqueur et traducteur dans le milieu du plein air, Daniel Gauvreau est passionné d’activité physique en extérieur. De retour d’un périple au Québec et en France, il a choisi les Hautes-Laurentides pour satisfaire son amour de la nature. Semi-retraité, moniteur de ski de fond à SFMT, son expérience profite désormais aux lecteurs de Tremblant Express. Recreation professional and journalist by education, organizer, trainer, consultant, columnist and translator about the outdoors by experience, Daniel Gavreau is passionate about physical activity outside. Following a trip through Québec and France, he chose the Hautes-Laurentides as the place to satisfy his love of nature. Semi-retired and teaching cross-country skiing with SFMT, he now offers his experience to Tremblant Express readers.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Une crèmerie locale à l’européenne

Diane Bélanger de Crèmerie Mabel. © Guillaume Vincent

Un plaisir gustatif inusité et haut de gamme est maintenant disponible à Mont-Tremblant ; le gelato. Venez expérimenter le raffinement européen et faites connaissance avec les deux maîtres glaciers Mario St-Laurent et Diane Bélanger, qui ont quitté la région abitibienne pour ouvrir chez-nous la Crèmerie Mabel.

Après six années de recherches et de formation auprès de spécialistes italiens, Mario a ouvert il y a deux ans la crèmerie dont il rêvait depuis des années, coin Chemin de Brébeuf et rue de Saint-Jovite. Mario s’occupe des équipements et de la clientèle et sa conjointe est devenue la reine des recettes.

Le comptoir doit toujours contenir les grands classiques comme la pistache, le chocolat noir et les fraises pour les enfants, mais Diane ne cesse d’expérimenter de nouvelles saveurs. Tout est fabriqué sur place. Le gelato est un produit raffiné : c’est une glace artisanale fabriquée à partir d’ingrédients naturels et selon une méthode traditionnelle originaire d’Italie.

Elle contient moins d’air, de gras et de sucre que les crèmes glacées commerciales et on évite également les arômes artificiels, les agents de conservation et les colorants. « Méfiez-vous des teintes fluo, avertit Diane, un gelato doit avoir la couleur naturelle du fruit ». Pour Mario, la dégustation du gelato s’apparente à celle du vin : « plusieurs facteurs influencent le goût en particulier la température de service. Le gelato se déguste à moins 8 degrés, comparé à moins 18 pour une crème glacée dure. Le goût éclate instantanément en bouche. »

Choisissez un gelato en cornet ou en coupe, ou bien un sorbet tout fruit parmi la fraise, la mangue, le pamplemousse ou le café : plus de 20 saveurs proposées. On y trouve bien sûr la « molle » qui appartient au patrimoine québécois, mais la crèmerie offre également des desserts à emporter : tarte au citron, chocolat à tremper, sucre à la crème solide ou liquide, tous confectionnés à partir d’ingrédients locaux.

Vu la popularité de ces gâteries, pensez à commander tôt votre bûche de Noël !

 

Plus de cet auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Daniel Gauvreau

 

Daniel Gauvreau12 Posts

Récréologue et journaliste de formation, tour à tour organisateur, formateur, consultant, chroniqueur et traducteur dans le milieu du plein air, Daniel Gauvreau est passionné d’activité physique en extérieur. De retour d’un périple au Québec et en France, il a choisi les Hautes-Laurentides pour satisfaire son amour de la nature. Semi-retraité, moniteur de ski de fond à SFMT, son expérience profite désormais aux lecteurs de Tremblant Express. Recreation professional and journalist by education, organizer, trainer, consultant, columnist and translator about the outdoors by experience, Daniel Gavreau is passionate about physical activity outside. Following a trip through Québec and France, he chose the Hautes-Laurentides as the place to satisfy his love of nature. Semi-retired and teaching cross-country skiing with SFMT, he now offers his experience to Tremblant Express readers.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password