A man with a true passion for skiing

Conrad Guay on March 25, 2017. © Gary Yee

Conrad Guay passed away on October 7 at the age of 82. He was best known for his coaching career and the careers of his three sons, and his love of skiing dates back to his earliest youth. Born on the South Shore of Montreal, he first hit the slopes at the Rougement ski area. From then on he built strong friendships, notably with René Beauchamp and Bernard Trottier.

The family settled in Montreal close to the Morgan hill, where the Olympic Stadium stands now, which meant that he could ski just a few blocks from home. Conrad joined Montreal’s Club de Ski Satellite and, along with others who enjoyed the sport, travelled to the small ski resort in Prévost. Others in his neighbourhood also loved skiing and he met Michel Dubreuil, André Burns and Pierre Petit, all of whom became his lifelong friends.

Conrad studied at Saint-Laurent College, preparing for real life. But he loved sports without compromise: you’re either a sportsman or you’re not. He played hockey with his buddies Noël Lirette and Pierre Petit, tennis with Claude Dumontier and of course…he skied!

At the same time, he became a firefighter. The job requirements confirmed that being in shape was crucial, and he spent many hours at the gym lifting weights. It was simply part of the job.

His schedule, with seven days at the firehall and seven days off, allowed him to become a Tremblant patroller under Sonny Draper in the winter of ’61-’62. After that he became a ski instructor at Villa-Bellevue and at Manoir Pinoteau, still one week out of two. Come spring, from 1962 to 1970, he and his friends travelled to Mount Washington to tackle a steep and dangerous couloir called Tuckerman Ravine.

The call of the mountain

At the end of the ‘60s, the mountain called him. He left his work as a firefighter – saying goodbye to his pension and benefits – and went to settle in what he called the most beautiful place in the world, Mont-Tremblant.

At the Chamonix Mont-Blanc bar of Mont Fugère, close to Sainte-Agathe-des-Monts, he spent hours with Robert Fugère. They discussed technique: for teaching skiing to the growing number of people taking up the sport, or for coaching elite skiers. It’s important to know that Conrad was interested in competitive skiing long before the birth of his three sons who became champions.

In the winter of ’69 -’70, Conrad became a technician for Lange and for Dynamic skis. He accompanied the Canadian National Alpine Ski Team on the World Cup circuit. In summer and fall, he was at the training camps on the glaciers of North America, South America, Europe, Australia and New Zealand. I was one of the skiers who used the equipment he had. Conrad ensured that the Lange boots were adjusted to the racers’ feet, that the ski edges were sharp and that the waxes used were right for the competition conditions.

In 1974, he came back to Mont-Tremblant where he became the ski school director until 1989. Michel Beaulieu, one of his young ski instructors, who later became the ski school director himself, says of Conrad: “He was highly disciplined and never counted his hours. What I appreciated about him as a boss was that he was fair and always straightforward.”

During that same period, Conrad sat on the technical committee of the Canadian Ski Instructors Alliance, where he was respected by his colleagues.

An important encounter

The most important event in Conrad Guay’s life, according to his closest friends, was his meeting with Ellen Mathieson. The daughter of a Norwegian mother and a Danish father, Ellen met Conrad during a course offered at Stoneham by the Ski Instructors Alliance. More than a spouse, she was his true partner in life and together, they formed a solid team. Ellen gave birth to three sons: Kristian (1979), Erik (1981) and Stefan (1986).

Faced with the undeniable talent of his children, Conrad made a point of perfecting his coaching skills. He participated, at his own expense and as an observer, in Québec team training sessions at Sölden, Austria, and at Val Senales, Italy, in the fall of 1992.

He was the coach for the Mont-Tremblant Ski Club in the Laurentian Division of the Québec team, and in the end, for the Québec team itself (men and women). Among those whose careers he guided were slalom skier Julien Cousineau, Thomas Rinfret, Ryan Semple and J.P. Roy. He became coach, at the national level, of the women’s team. The legendary Nancy Green, who appreciated his talents as a tennis opponent, said of him, “He was a great coach!”

Skiing in their DNA

It should be noted that Conrad and Ellen’s three sons all succeeded as elite skiers on the international scene. Holder of a crystal globe in super-G in 2010 and of two World Championship titles – the first in downhill in 2011 at Garmisch-Partenkirchen and the second in super-G in 2017 at Saint Moritz – Erik is Canada’s most decorated alpine skier in history.

There can be no question that Conrad contributed mightily to the upsurge in new Canadian talent. In 2008, he was inducted into the Laurentians Ski Hall of Fame and in 2014, he received the certificate of recognition for 50 years of membership in the Canadian Ski Instructors Alliance.

His friends agree that he truly lived his passion, first as a skier, then as a ski patroller, coach, father of champion skiers and grandfather of future champions.

Farewell, Conrad.

This text was written using material from Claude Dumontier’s archives and with the participation of Martin Jean, Michel Beaulieu, Robert Fugère and Ellen Guay.

 

More from this author by clicking on his photo below.

Peter Duncan

 

Peter Duncan68 Posts

Membre de l’équipe canadienne de ski alpin de 1960 à 1971, skieur professionnel de 1971 à 1979 et champion américain en 1965, Peter Duncan a participé aux Jeux olympiques de 1964 à Innsbruck ainsi qu’à ceux de 1968 à Grenoble. Intronisé au Temple de la renommée du ski au Canada, au Panthéon des sports du Québec et récipiendaire de la médaille du gouverneur général, Peter a longtemps été commentateur de ski à la télévision./ Peter Duncan is a Canadian former alpine skier who competed in the 1964 and the 1968 Winter Olympics. He was named to the Canadian National Alpine Team in 1960 at the age of 16 and competed at the national level for the next 10-years until 1970 before retiring.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Un véritable passionné du ski

Conrad Guay le 25 mars 2017. © Gary Yee

Conrad Guay nous a quittés le 7 octobre dernier à l’âge de 82 ans. Connu pour sa carrière d’entraîneur et celles de ses trois fils, son amour pour le ski remonte à son plus jeune âge. Natif de la rive sud, c’est au centre de ski de Rougemont qu’il dévale ses premières pentes. Dès lors, il se forge des amitiés fidèles, notamment avec René Beauchamp et Bernard Trottier.

La famille s’installe à Montréal près de la côte Morgan, où se trouve maintenant le Stade olympique. Il peut ainsi skier à quelques rues de chez lui. Conrad se joint au Club de ski Satellite de Montréal et, en compagnie d’adeptes du sport, se rend à la petite station de ski à Prévost. Les voisins de son quartier sont des mordus de ski ; il rencontre Michel Dubreuil, André Burns et Pierre Petit qui deviendront des amis à vie.

Conrad étudie au collège Saint-Laurent où il se prépare pour la vraie vie. Mais il aime le sport et ne se compromet pas – tu es sportif ou tu ne l’es pas. Il joue au hockey avec ses copains Noël Lirette et Pierre Petit, au tennis avec Claude Dumontier et bien sûr, il skie !

Par ailleurs, il s’engage chez les pompiers. Les exigences du métier lui confirment que se maintenir en forme est essentiel et il passe de nombreuses heures au gymnase à soulever des poids. Ça fait tout simplement partie du travail.

Son horaire, 7 jours à la caserne 7 jours de congé, lui donne l’opportunité de devenir patrouilleur à Tremblant sous la direction de Sonny Draper durant l’hiver 61-62. Puis, il devient moniteur à Villa-Bellevue et au Manoir Pinoteau, toujours une semaine sur deux. Le printemps venu, de 1962 à 1970, lui et ses amis se rendaient au mont Washington pour attaquer un couloir dangereux et raide : le Tuckerman Ravine.

L’appel de la montagne

À la fin des années 60, la montagne l’appelle. Il quitte le métier de pompier – adieu pension et tous les avantages – et s’établit dans ce qu’il appelle le plus beau coin du monde, Mont-Tremblant.

Au bar Chamonix Mont-Blanc du mont Fugère, près de Sainte-Agathe-des-Monts, il passe des heures avec Robert Fugère. Ils discutent technique; soit d’enseignement destiné à une population grandissante d’amateurs de ski ou d’entraînement pour les skieurs d’élite. Il faut savoir que Conrad s’est intéressé au ski de compétition bien avant la naissance de ses trois champions de fils.

Durant l’hiver 69-70, Conrad devient technicien pour la compagnie Lange et les skis Dynamic. Il accompagne l’équipe nationale canadienne de ski alpin sur le circuit de la Coupe du monde. En été et en automne, il se retrouve dans les camps d’entraînement sur les glaciers des continents nord-américain, sud-américain, d’Europe, d’Australie et de Nouvelle-Zélande.

Je faisais partie des skieurs qui utilisaient ces pièces d’équipement. Conrad s’assurait que les bottes Lange étaient adaptées aux coureurs, que les carres des skis étaient bien aiguisées et que le fartage convenait aux conditions atmosphériques de la compétition.

En 1974, il rentre à Mont-Tremblant où il devient directeur de l’école de ski jusqu’en 1989. Michel Beaulieu, un de ses jeunes moniteurs qui deviendra lui-même directeur de l’école dira de Conrad : « Il était très discipliné et ne comptait jamais ses heures. Ce que j’appréciais chez lui comme patron, c’est qu’il se montrait juste et toujours franc ».

Pendant cette même période, Conrad siégeait au comité technique de l’Alliance des moniteurs de ski du Canada où ses confrères le respectaient.

Une rencontre marquante

L’évènement marquant dans la vie de Conrad Guay, selon ses amis les plus intimes, restera sa rencontre avec Ellen Mathieson. Née d’une mère norvégienne et d’un père danois, Ellen fait la connaissance de Conrad lors d’un cours offert par l’Alliance des moniteurs de ski à Stoneham. Plus qu’une conjointe, elle sera sa complice et ensemble, ils formeront une solide équipe. Ellen mettra au monde trois fils; Kristian (1979), Erik (1981) et Stefan (1986).

Devant les talents indéniables de ses enfants, Conrad entreprendra de se perfectionner comme entraîneur. Il participera, à ses frais et à titre d’observateur, à un stage de l’équipe du Québec à Sölden, en Autriche et à Val Senales, en Italie durant l’automne 1992. Il sera entraîneur au club de ski Mont-Tremblant, à la division laurentienne de l’équipe du Québec et enfin, pour l’équipe du Québec (hommes et femmes).

Il a entre autres guidé les carrières du slalomeur Julien Cousineau, de Thomas Rinfret, Ryan Semple et J.P. Roy. Il deviendra, au niveau national, entraîneur pour l’équipe féminine. La légendaire Nancy Green, qui appréciait ses talents d’adversaires au tennis, dira de lui : « He was a great coach ! ».

Le ski dans l’ADN

Soulignons que les trois fils de Conrad et d’Ellen ont réussi comme skieurs d’élite sur la scène internationale. Détenteur d’un globe de cristal en super-G en 2010 et de deux titres de champion du monde – le premier en descente en 2011 à Garmisch-Partenkirchen et le second en super-G en 2017 à Saint-Moritz – Erik est le skieur alpin canadien le plus décoré de l’histoire.

Conrad a sans conteste contribué à l’éclosion des nouveaux talents canadiens. En 2008, il fut intronisé au Temple de la renommée du ski des Laurentides et en 2014, il reçut le certificat de reconnaissance de 50 ans d’adhésion à Canadian Ski Instructor’s Alliance.

Ses amis s’entendent pour dire qu’il a vraiment vécu sa passion, d’abord comme skieur, puis comme patrouilleur, comme entraîneur, comme père de skieurs champions et comme grand-papa de futurs champions.

Au revoir, Conrad.

Ce texte a été rédigé à partir des archives de Claude Dumontier et la participation de Martin Jean, Michel Beaulieu, Robert Fugère et Ellen Guay.

 

Plus de cet auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Peter Duncan

 

 

Peter Duncan68 Posts

Membre de l’équipe canadienne de ski alpin de 1960 à 1971, skieur professionnel de 1971 à 1979 et champion américain en 1965, Peter Duncan a participé aux Jeux olympiques de 1964 à Innsbruck ainsi qu’à ceux de 1968 à Grenoble. Intronisé au Temple de la renommée du ski au Canada, au Panthéon des sports du Québec et récipiendaire de la médaille du gouverneur général, Peter a longtemps été commentateur de ski à la télévision./ Peter Duncan is a Canadian former alpine skier who competed in the 1964 and the 1968 Winter Olympics. He was named to the Canadian National Alpine Team in 1960 at the age of 16 and competed at the national level for the next 10-years until 1970 before retiring.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password