Tender Box: Fourth album for Marc Anderson DesRochers

Marc Anderson DesRochers. ©GuillaumeVincent

Well known in Mont-Tremblant for the wild concerts he and his musicians give on the night of Saint-Patrick’s Day, Marc Anderson DesRochers is launching his fourth career album this month. We met with him on a December afternoon, at the very spot where for more than 10 years he has given his concerts in celebration of the great Celtic holiday.

Marc was waiting for us in the dining room of the resto-pub Au Coin, bearing in hand a quite unusual guitar. “I’ve called this new instrument a ‘guitarola’ (guitar and mandola)”, he explains, as he shows us his guitar… on the back of which guitar-maker Jean-Guy Hache, from Boileau, has managed to graft a ukulele.

“I tune it like a mandolin, which allows me to have two instruments in one,” the musician adds. A native of Georgian Bay, Ontario, Marc arrived in Mont-Tremblant close to 20 years ago. He’s a ski instructor, and it’s here that he chose to perfect his musical art. “I wanted to be closer to Montreal. I would have liked to live in a city, but only if I could have a chalet in the north. I decided to start with the chalet,” he says, smiling.

Tender Box

It’s been seven years since Marc Anderson DesRochers released an album. On this new opus, which demonstrates clear maturity, you’ll hear a succession of folk music pieces with accents that move from country to light rock, and even sometimes to bossa nova. Seven of the ten songs Marc has written were recorded at Kells, Ireland, at Martin Quinn’s Jam Studios.

The recording was done on a musical voyage taken in fall 2018, initiated by his girlfriend Marcella Haggerty. “She organized everything. She saw that I had songs that wanted to be heard. The three other pieces were recorded at World Inside Studios, in Sainte-Agathe-Des-Monts, with Lauren Bélec,” he adds.

The gentle, poetic style of the words, which he translated himself, shows polished writing, one of Marc’s passions, and he is particularly fond of the work of a certain Leonard Cohen. The only completely French piece, called “Namur”, is truly country in style.

Marc’s barely perceptible English accent adds charm to the song, which tells a story of growing love against the background of this small settlement in the Laurentians. Will the song become the official anthem of Namur? Perhaps….

The end of live music?

Marc is no stranger to the stage. In addition to his many concerts in Mont-Tremblant and Ottawa, he spent two months in Mexico last winter to play six nights a week in an Irish pub in Puerto Vallarta. The situation we’re in now makes life tough for live culture. As a result, it’s hard to say when this musician will be performing live again.

In the meantime, listening to an album doesn’t break any of the rules we’re now living under, so it would be a shame to miss this. You can get Tender Box through b4musique.com and through Mark’s website, which will go online this month at madmusic.ca/wordpress.

Happy listening!  

 

Guillaume Vincent257 Posts

Rédacteur et journaliste de profession, Guillaume Vincent a fait ses armes au sein de l’agence QMI. Il s’est joint au Tremblant Express en 2014. Promu en 2017, il y assume depuis le rôle de rédacteur en chef et directeur de la publication. / A writer and photojournalist by profession, Guillaume Vincent won his stripes in the QMI agency. He joined Tremblant Express in 2014. Promoted in 2017, he has been editor-in-chief and co-publisher since then.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Tender Box : Un quatrième album pour Marc Anderson DesRochers

Marc Anderson DesRochers. ©GuillaumeVincent

Bien connu du public tremblantois pour les concerts endiablés qu’il donne en compagnie de ses musiciens lors de la soirée de la Saint-Patrick, Marc Anderson DesRochers lance ce mois-ci son quatrième album en carrière. Nous l’avons rencontré un après-midi de décembre, à l’endroit précis où il se produit depuis plus de 10 ans à l’occasion de cette grande fête celtique.

Marc nous attendait, installé dans la salle à manger du resto-pub Au Coin, une guitare singulière à la main. « J’ai nommé ce nouvel instrument, une “guitarola’’ (guitare et mandola) », explique-t-il en dévoilant cette guitare au dos de laquelle le luthier Jean-Guy Hache, de Boileau, est parvenu à greffer habilement un ukulélé.

« Je l’accorde comme une mandoline, ça me permet d’avoir deux instruments en un », précise le musicien. Originaire de la Baie Georgienne, en Ontario, Marc est arrivé à Mont-Tremblant il y a près de 20 ans. Moniteur de ski, c’est dans notre localité qu’il choisira de parfaire son art. « Je voulais me rapprocher de Montréal. J’aurais aimé vivre en ville, mais seulement si j’avais pu avoir un chalet dans le nord. J’ai opté pour le chalet en premier », indique-t-il en souriant.

Tender Box

Cela faisait déjà sept ans que Marc Anderson DesRochers n’avait pas sorti d’album. On retrouve, sur ce nouvel opus doté d’une maturité évidente, une succession de pièces musicales folk aux accents tantôt country, légèrement rock et parfois même, bossa-nova. Sept de ces dix chansons composées par Marc ont été enregistrées à Kells, en Irlande, au Jam Studios de Martin Quinn.

Un voyage musical réalisé en automne 2018 grâce à l’initiative de son amie de cœur, Marcella Haggerty. « Ma copine a tout organisé. Elle voyait que j’avais des chansons qui voulaient sortir. Les trois autres pièces ont été enregistrées au World Inside Studios, à Sainte-Agathe-Des- Monts, avec Lauren Bélec », souligne-t-il.

Le doux caractère poétique des paroles traduit à lui seul un travail d’écriture soigné; une des passions de Marc qui affectionne particulièrement l’œuvre d’un certain Léonard Cohen. L’unique pièce entièrement en français, intitulée « Namur », s’inscrit à la perfection dans la tradition country.

Bien que légèrement perceptible, l’accent anglais de Marc ajoute au charme de cette chanson qui met en lumière une histoire d’amour naissante ayant pour toile de fond cette petite localité des Laurentides. Deviendra-t-elle l’hymne officiel de Namur ? À suivre.

La fin de la musique « live » ?

Marc est un habitué de la scène. En plus de ses nombreux concerts à Mont-Tremblant et à Ottawa, il est allé passer deux mois au Mexique l’hiver dernier pour y jouer six soirs par semaine dans un pub irlandais de Puerto Vallarta. La situation actuelle mène la vie dure à la scène culturelle. Il est donc difficile de prédire quand le musicien pourra se produire à nouveau.

En attendant, l’écoute d’un album ne contrevient aucunement aux règles nouvellement imposées par notre gouvernement. Il serait donc dommage de s’en passer. Il est possible de se procurer Tender Box via b4musique.com et sur le site de Marc qui sera mis en ligne au courant du mois à : madmusic.ca/wordpress.

Bonne écoute !

 

Guillaume Vincent261 Posts

Rédacteur et journaliste de profession, Guillaume Vincent a fait ses armes au sein de l’agence QMI. Il s’est joint au Tremblant Express en 2014. Promu en 2017, il y assume depuis le rôle de rédacteur en chef et directeur de la publication. / A writer and photojournalist by profession, Guillaume Vincent won his stripes in the QMI agency. He joined Tremblant Express in 2014. Promoted in 2017, he has been editor-in-chief and co-publisher since then.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password