Stabilize your core to save your knees

Knee pain and/or injury is one of the most common reasons people visit a physician or sports therapist. But research has found the key to lowering the risk of knee pain and injury has nothing to do with the knee.

Core strength Is key

Medical researchers have repeatedly found that core strength and stability have a profound effect on the dynamics of the knee joint. The muscles in your torso, including back, abdominals, hips and upper thighs, make up the core. These muscle groups work together in synergy to stabilize the lower extremity.

The core facilitates the transfer of forces from the upper and lower extremities. It stabilizes the spine and hips when you run, cut and jump. It serves to help accelerate and decelerate the force you create during sports activities. Poor core control puts extra torque on the knee, straining the ligaments that hold it in place.

Backed by research

In a study published in The International Journal of Sports Physical Therapy, researchers had participants perform core strengthening exercises. They found that knee pain decreased throughout the strengthening series.

Further, doctors found that poor control during weight-bearing exercises created more stress on the knee joint. This was leading to instability. There was an increase in knee pain with more movement and instability in the core and hips. As the participants grew stronger in the core, they noticed less pain in the knee.

An essential training component

Proper form and incorporating the right strengthening exercises in a training regimen is beneficial not only to injury prevention but also to performance and athletic efficiency. If core work is not part of your training program, seek the counsel of a certified professional who can assist in establishing a program that includes these vital exercises. Your knees will thank you.

 

By the same author: Boost your speed on the track (Click the image below)

 

Robert Roy78 Posts

Kinésiologue reconnu et un expert chevronné, Robert Roy utilise l’exercice à des fins de prévention, de réhabilitation et de développement athlétique. Il cumule plus de 20 ans d’expérience avec des athlètes de tous les niveaux. Il a bâti le Quartier Général RobFit afin d’offrir un environnement d’entraînement hors pair dans la région. / Well-known kinesiologist and seasoned professional Robert Roy uses exercise for its preventive and rehabilitative virtues as well as for athletic development. He has more than 20 years of experience with athletes of all levels, and more recently built the Quartier Général RobFit in order to provide an outstanding training environment in this area.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Stabiliser le tronc pour protéger les genoux

C’est principalement en raison de douleurs ou de blessures aux genoux que les gens consultent un médecin du sport ou un physiothérapeute. Des études ont démontré que pour préserver la santé des genoux, il est primordial de travailler les muscles du tronc.

Renforcer le tronc est essentiel

Des chercheurs en sciences médicales ont constaté que des exercices de renforcement et de stabilisation du tronc contribuent grandement à soulager la pression sur les articulations des genoux. Les muscles du torse, y compris le dos, les abdominaux, les hanches et le haut des cuisses forment le noyau du corps. Ces groupes musculaires travaillent en synergie pour stabiliser les membres inférieurs.

Le noyau facilite le transfert des forces sur les membres supérieurs et inférieurs. Il stabilise la colonne vertébrale et les hanches lorsque vous courez et sautez. Il permet d’augmenter et de diminuer les pressions subies pendant les activités sportives. Un mauvais contrôle des muscles du tronc entraîne une utilisation excessive des genoux et augmente la tension sur les ligaments.

Scientifiquement prouvé

Des chercheurs ont demandé à des participants d’effectuer des exercices de renforcement du tronc. Ils ont alors constaté que les douleurs aux genoux avaient diminué tout au long de la série d’exercices.

De plus, les médecins ont constaté qu’une mauvaise maîtrise des exercices de port de poids créait un plus grand stress sur les articulations des genoux. Avec le mouvement, les douleurs aux genoux augmentaient, et le tronc et les hanches devenaient instables.

Essentiel à l’entraînement

Une bonne forme physique et l’ajout d’exercices de renforcement des muscles du tronc à un programme d’entraînement contribuent non seulement à prévenir les blessures, mais aussi à améliorer la performance sportive. Demandez l’avis d’un professionnel certifié qui pourra vous aider à ajouter ces exercices essentiels à votre programme. Vos genoux vous en seront reconnaissants.

 

Du même auteur : Courir sur piste pour augmenter sa vitesse (Cliquez sur l’image)

 

Robert Roy68 Posts

Kinésiologue reconnu et un expert chevronné, Robert Roy utilise l’exercice à des fins de prévention, de réhabilitation et de développement athlétique. Il cumule plus de 20 ans d’expérience avec des athlètes de tous les niveaux. Il a bâti le Quartier Général RobFit afin d’offrir un environnement d’entraînement hors pair dans la région. / Well-known kinesiologist and seasoned professional Robert Roy uses exercise for its preventive and rehabilitative virtues as well as for athletic development. He has more than 20 years of experience with athletes of all levels, and more recently built the Quartier Général RobFit in order to provide an outstanding training environment in this area.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password