Embrace your sisu

Sisu is an ancient Finnish concept that embodies courage, resilience, determination, perseverance and inner strength. It is an action-oriented mindset. Sisu allows you to take on a challenge seemingly beyond your capacity. You call upon it when adversity and opposition force you to give up and only your courage allows you to hold on.

A year of sisu

During the past year, we all faced moments when our physical and mental resources felt tapped out. But, like the Finns that coined the term, our sisu saw us through. When our front-line medical workers were dead on their feet, they pulled another shift. That is sisu.

When our world changed overnight, we pivoted to adapt to a new reality. That is sisu. When events and competitions were cancelled, we continued to train and make fitness a priority. That is sisu.

Maximize your potential

Jean François Ménard, author of Train Your Brain like an Olympian, is an acclaimed performance psychologist. His clients include Canada’s top Olympians: Scott Moir, Tessa Virtue, Mikaël Kingsbury and other gold medal athletes.

FinnishDr. Ménard teaches his athletes to embrace their sisu. It is a state of mind. Regardless the challenge, put yourself in the present moment and focus on the task at hand. Daniel Coyle, author of The Talent Code, repeats the same sisu mantra: Greatness isn’t born, it’s grown.

Be present in the moment

The past year was rough. The coming year will hold its own set of challenges. However, it can also hold amazing opportunity for success. It is all up to you and your mindset. Success requires a focus on the present. Don’t look back. That’s not the direction you are going. I urge you to step outside your comfort zone. Reach for new goals in 2021. Embrace your sisu.

 

By the same author: Fitness is not a fad (Click the image below)

 

Robert Roy76 Posts

Kinésiologue reconnu et un expert chevronné, Robert Roy utilise l’exercice à des fins de prévention, de réhabilitation et de développement athlétique. Il cumule plus de 20 ans d’expérience avec des athlètes de tous les niveaux. Il a bâti le Quartier Général RobFit afin d’offrir un environnement d’entraînement hors pair dans la région. / Well-known kinesiologist and seasoned professional Robert Roy uses exercise for its preventive and rehabilitative virtues as well as for athletic development. He has more than 20 years of experience with athletes of all levels, and more recently built the Quartier Général RobFit in order to provide an outstanding training environment in this area.

The law of motion

Every breath you take

Snow fit

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Se connecter à son sisu

Le sisu est une philosophie finlandaise ancestrale fondée sur le courage, la résilience, la détermination, la persévérance et la force intérieure. C’est un état d’esprit axé sur l’action. Il permet de relever un défi apparemment insurmontable. Il faut l’invoquer devant l’adversité car seul notre courage nous permettra de ne pas capituler.

Le sisu pendant la pandémie

Au cours de la dernière année, nous avons tous vécu des moments difficiles, physiquement et mentalement. Toutefois, comme les Finlandais qui ont inventé le terme, notre sisu nous a aidés à les surmonter. Malgré l’épuisement, nos travailleurs de la santé ont accepté de faire d’autres quarts de travail.

Lorsque notre monde a basculé du jour au lendemain, nous nous sommes adaptés à notre nouvelle réalité. Lorsque les évènements et les compétitions ont été annulés, nous avons continué à nous entraîner et à faire d’un mode de vie sain notre priorité. Le sisu, c’est cela.

Optimiser son potentiel

Jean François Ménard, auteur de Train Your Brain like an Olympian, est reconnu dans le domaine de la psychologie de la performance. Il compte parmi ses clients des olympiens canadiens, notamment Scott Moir, Tessa Virtue et Mikaël Kingsbury.

Dr Ménard apprend à ses athlètes à invoquer leur sisu. Peu importe le défi, il faut être dans l’instant présent et se concentrer sur la tâche à accomplir. Daniel Coyle, auteur de The Talent Code, répète le même mantra sisu : les grands hommes ne naissent pas dans la grandeur, ils grandissent.

Vivre le moment présent

La prochaine année apportera son lot de défis, mais également d’incroyables possibilités. Tout dépend de vous. Pour réussir, il faut se concentrer sur le moment présent, ne pas regarder en arrière, et aller de l’avant. Je vous encourage à sortir de votre zone de confort. Fixez-vous de nouveaux objectifs en 2021. Invoquez votre sisu.

 

Du même auteur : Le fitness n’est pas une mode (Cliquez sur l’image)

 

Robert Roy68 Posts

Kinésiologue reconnu et un expert chevronné, Robert Roy utilise l’exercice à des fins de prévention, de réhabilitation et de développement athlétique. Il cumule plus de 20 ans d’expérience avec des athlètes de tous les niveaux. Il a bâti le Quartier Général RobFit afin d’offrir un environnement d’entraînement hors pair dans la région. / Well-known kinesiologist and seasoned professional Robert Roy uses exercise for its preventive and rehabilitative virtues as well as for athletic development. He has more than 20 years of experience with athletes of all levels, and more recently built the Quartier Général RobFit in order to provide an outstanding training environment in this area.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password