Slow and steady wins the race

© AdobeStock

Aesop was right. Without being the tortoise in the fable, you can progress by taking small steps and in particular, by being steady in your efforts to develop your physical skills, your technical abilities, and thus improve your game throughout your life. There’s one condition, though: you have to give yourself the time.

Imagine having the opportunity to improve the distance of your shots by one per cent per year. Say your drives currently travel 230 yards; in ten years, they’d be close to 250 yards. Or would you prefer your score to go from 100 to 90?

Swing slower but hit the ball further

Tempo is an Italian word that means “time”, marked by the duration, alternation of strong or weak movements, order, intensity and rate of the action. The arms move six times faster than the body. Taking as an example the mythical hare (the arms during the swing), and the tortoise (the rest of the body), all golfers improve their tempo as soon as they slow down the speed of their arms.

By relaxing the arms, you create momentum allowing the rest of the body to lead the motion. A slower arm movement permits a more graceful swing – without apparent effort – and creates harmony, control and power.

A time for everything and everything in its own time

In golf as in everyday life, the concept of time is certainly one of the most difficult to manage. “So much to do and so little time”, we say. Without being able to control time, we can concentrate on the essentials by accepting that “you eat an elephant one bite at a time”. Train well this winter, and happy golfing!

 

More from this author by clicking on his photo below.

Pierre Brisebois

 

Pierre Brisebois42 Posts

Enseignant professionnel, top 25 enseignant au Canada selon National Post et Meilleur enseignant régionale en Amérique selon Golf Magazine / Professional teacher, National Post - Top 25 Teachers in Canada, Golf Magazine - Top Regional Teachers in America

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Rien ne sert de courir : il faut partir à point

© AdobeStock

Jean de La Fontaine avait bien raison. Sans être la tortue de la fable, vous pouvez aller à petits pas et surtout être constant dans vos efforts pour développer vos habiletés physiques, vos compétences techniques et ainsi améliorer votre jeu tout au long de votre vie. Cependant, pour qu’il en soit ainsi, il y a une condition à respecter : vous devez vous accorder du temps.

Imaginez avoir la chance d’améliorer la distance de vos coups de 1 % par année. Disons que vos coups de départ parcourent 230 verges présentement ; dans dix ans, ils avoisineront les 250 verges. Préférez-vous passer à des pointages de 100 à 90 ?

Élancez-vous lentement et frappez plus loin

Tempo est un mot italien qui signifie « temps », marqué par la durée, l’alternance des mouvements forts ou faibles, l’agencement, l’intensité et le rythme de l’action. Les bras se meuvent six fois plus vite que le corps.

En se servant de l’exemple du lièvre (bras lors de l’élan) et de la tortue (reste du corps), tous les golfeurs améliorent leur tempo dès lors qu’ils ralentissent la vitesse de leurs bras. En assouplissant les bras, vous permettez au reste du corps de mener la cadence. Un geste plus lent des bras permet un élan plus gracieux – sans effort apparent – et crée harmonie, contrôle et puissance.

Un temps pour chaque chose, et chaque chose en son temps

Au golf comme dans la vie de tous les jours, la notion de temps est certainement une des plus difficiles à gérer. « Tant de choses à faire et si peu de temps », disons-nous. Sans pouvoir maîtriser le temps, nous pouvons nous concentrer sur l’essentiel en acceptant qu’un éléphant se mange une bouchée à la fois.

Bon entraînement cet hiver et bon golf !

 

Plus du même auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Pierre Brisebois

 

Pierre Brisebois42 Posts

Enseignant professionnel, top 25 enseignant au Canada selon National Post et Meilleur enseignant régionale en Amérique selon Golf Magazine / Professional teacher, National Post - Top 25 Teachers in Canada, Golf Magazine - Top Regional Teachers in America

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password