Training successfully when skiing independently

©Gary Lee

The club is in “pause” mode till February 8. The young members should keep up their training and apply the teaching tips provided by their coach during the Christmas camp. To obtain the greatest success, however, you have to go stage by stage in a good training session.

Warming up

Warming up is crucially important, to awaken the central nervous system. It loosens the muscles and supports an information exchange between the muscles and the brain, to optimize movements. This period also gives you time to test your equipment: the sharpness of the skis, the glide of skis on the snow, the way boots are reacting to the cold, etc.

You have to take the time to evaluate the environment during this phase. What’s the type of snow today, the visibility, temperature and wind? Rushing through your warm-up or skipping it altogether to get started going at high intensity on the run is a really bad idea. At best, it can slow progression in training or worse, cause injuries.

What should you do during this session? You could start with an off-snow warm-up by moving your legs ballistically and rotating your arms and trunk. Be careful not to exaggerate the movements, to avoid tearing a muscle. It’s wise to stick with reasonable movement amplitude. The goal is to move the muscles, not to stretch them. The warm-up should also increase your heart rate to send more oxygen to your muscles.

Do some fast jumps, jogging, push-ups…. After these come the on-snow warm-ups. We’ll emphasize exercises at moderate speed, e.g., javelin turns, hockey stops, intermediate parallel, exercises without poles…. The objective of these exercises is to work on technical movements.

The main part

When our bodies have achieved an acceptable level of wakefulness, we move into the main part of the training session. This is the period in which we’ll work at higher intensity. We’re going to make the movements more complex by increasing the speed of movement across the snow, the level of difficulty of the run, and the speed of execution of the actions. In other words, we’ll ski! However, we limit the increase in intensity over time to keep it optimal without risk of injuring ourselves.

Cool-down

When fatigue occurs, the body responds less quickly to the request. At this point we reduce the intensity and volume of the training to prevent injuries. We enter into the phase “cool-down”. We can use this time to repeat the exercises from the beginning of the day. These exercises allow us to reconnect with the sensations we’re looking for, finish on a good note and consolidate our motor activities.

To sum up, if you keep to the three parts of a training session, you should experience good progress and avoid eventual injuries.

 

More from this author by clicking on his picture below.

Jocelyn Huot

 

Jocelyn Huot20 Posts

Entraineur Chef du Club de ski Mont-Tremblant Entraineur Niveau 4 certifié FESC / PNCE Niveau 3 de l'Alliance des moniteurs de ski du Canada Formateur pour Alpine Canada depuis 2007 Head coach of the Mont-Tremblant Ski Club Leve 4 FESC/PNCE – certified coach, Level 3 CSIA/AMSC – certified instructor

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Réussir son entrainement en ski autonome

©Gary Yee

Le club est désormais arrêté jusqu’au 8 février. Les jeunes devront continuer à s’entrainer et mettre en application les enseignements dispensés par leur coach durant le camp de Noël. Toutefois, afin d’obtenir un maximum de succès, il faudra procéder par étape dans une bonne session d’entrainement.

L’échauffement

L’échauffement est crucial à l’éveil du système nerveux central. Il sert à délier les muscles et favoriser l’échange d’information entre ces derniers et le cerveau afin d’optimiser les mouvements. Cette période permet également de tester l’équipement ; l’affutage des skis, la glisse des skis sur la neige, la réaction des bottes au froid, etc.

Il faut prendre le temps d’évaluer l’environnement durant cette phase. Quels sont aujourd’hui le type de neige, la visibilité, la température, le vent… Précipiter l’échauffement ou tout simplement s’en passer pour s’engager rapidement sur la piste à haute intensité est une très mauvaise idée. Cela peut au mieux ralentir la progression dans l’entrainement ou pire, engendrer des blessures.

Que faire durant cette séance ? Nous pourrons débuter par un échauffement hors neige en effectuant des mouvements balistiques des jambes et de rotation des bras et du tronc. Attention de ne pas exagérer les gestes afin d’éviter de se déchirer un muscle. Il est prudent de rester dans des amplitudes de mouvement raisonnables. L’objectif est de faire bouger les muscles et non de les étirer.

L’échauffement doit également permettre d’augmenter les pulsations cardiaques afin d’apporter plus d’oxygène aux muscles. Effectuez des sauts rapides, un jogging, des push-up…

Viennent ensuite les échauffements sur neige. Nous allons prioriser des exercices à vitesse modérée. Ex. : virage javelin, hockeystop, parallèle intermédiaire, exercices sans les pôles. Le but de ces exercices est de mettre l’accent sur le geste technique.

La partie principale

Lorsque notre corps aura atteint un niveau d’éveil acceptable, nous entrerons dans la partie principale de l’entrainement. C’est la zone dans laquelle nous allons travailler à plus haute intensité. Nous allons complexifier le mouvement en augmentant la vitesse de déplacement, le degré de difficulté de la piste, la vitesse d’exécution des gestes.

En deux mots, nous skierons ! Toutefois, nous limiterons l’accroissement de l’intensité dans le temps pour la maintenir de façon optimale sans risquer de nous blesser.

Le retour au calme

Lorsque la fatigue s’installe, le corps ne répond plus aussi rapidement à la demande. Nous devrons alors réduire l’intensité et le volume de l’entrainement afin de prévenir les blessures. Nous entrerons dans la phase de retour au calme. Nous pourrons utiliser ce moment pour refaire les exercices du début de la journée. Ces exercices nous autorisent à nous reconnecter avec les sensations recherchées, finir sur une bonne note et consolider notre geste moteur.

En conclusion, si vous respectez les trois parties d’une séance d’entrainement, vous devriez entretenir une bonne progression et éviter d’éventuelles blessures.

 

Plus de cet auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Jocelyn Huot

 

Jocelyn Huot24 Posts

Entraineur Chef du Club de ski Mont-Tremblant Entraineur Niveau 4 certifié FESC / PNCE Niveau 3 de l'Alliance des moniteurs de ski du Canada Formateur pour Alpine Canada depuis 2007 Head coach of the Mont-Tremblant Ski Club Leve 4 FESC/PNCE – certified coach, Level 3 CSIA/AMSC – certified instructor

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password