From Labelle, Régal Nomade: treats for people on the go

Régalo Argousier & camerise. © Guillaume Vincent

First off, the word “Régal” means “tasty treat”, and you know what “nomad” means. So here are two young families, in which the parents are long-time outdoors enthusiasts and still play outside with their kids. Kids means “I’m hungry”, right? So a small snack is in order. This is the point of departure of Régale Nomade, a project that had been simmering for a while in these three proud Labelle-dwellers.

Isabelle Morissette, Olivier Chatigny and Valérie Desbiens put together their skills in event management, outdoors and restaurants to create Régal Nomade, a company under development to provide healthy snacks for outdoors enthusiasts. Dehydrated meals and their accompaniments will come next, because all three are convinced that it’s essential to eat healthily, even outdoors.

The “nomadic” products must be light and easy to keep in a backpack. What’s more, the products must showcase local emerging crops like the berries of the argousier (sea buckthorn) and the camerise (haskap or blue honeysuckle) which are produced in our region. They work with, among others, Labelle et l’argousier, from Labelle, who produce the argousier berries and whose company they may take over; the other berries, the blue honeysuckle, come from Rivière-Rouge.

The Regalo fruits (of camerise berries) comes in fine dehydrated orange strips, full of sunshine, a very tasty treat and more fun than a bar. Before distributing on a larger scale, Régal Nomade is waiting for the nutritional labels, which involves quite an intricate regulatory and administrative process. The products will then be available in bulk stores and on the departure sites for outdoor activities.

After that, it’s on to formats that offer cooking shortcuts: for example, instead of offering a freeze-dried spaghetti bolognaise, Régal Nomade will offer a sauce to which you add the pasta of your choice. The same thing will apply to chili, dahl, and a porridge involving the recycling of fruit peels. There are many more projects to explore, such as the use of vegetable proteins, which will contribute to the protection of our planet.

regalnomade.com (Under construction)

 

More from this author by clicking on his photo below.

Daniel Gauvreau

 

Daniel Gauvreau50 Posts

Récréologue et journaliste de formation, tour à tour organisateur, formateur, consultant, chroniqueur et traducteur dans le milieu du plein air, Daniel Gauvreau est passionné d’activité physique en extérieur. De retour d’un périple au Québec et en France, il a choisi les Hautes-Laurentides pour satisfaire son amour de la nature. Semi-retraité, moniteur de ski de fond à SFMT, son expérience profite désormais aux lecteurs de Tremblant Express. Recreation professional and journalist by education, organizer, trainer, consultant, columnist and translator about the outdoors by experience, Daniel Gavreau is passionate about physical activity outside. Following a trip through Québec and France, he chose the Hautes-Laurentides as the place to satisfy his love of nature. Semi-retired and teaching cross-country skiing with SFMT, he now offers his experience to Tremblant Express readers.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Régal Nomade – entreprise fièrement labelloise

Régalo Argousier & camerise. © Guillaume Vincent

Voici deux jeunes familles, dont les parents, amateurs de plein air de longue date, continuent de jouer dehors de plus belle avec leurs enfants. Qui dit enfant dit : « j’ai faim, maman » ! Une collation peut-être ? Ce fut le point de départ d’un projet qui sommeillait depuis un moment pour ces trois fiers Labellois.

Isabelle Morissette, Olivier Chatigny et Valérie Desbiens ont réuni leurs compétences en gestion d’évènement, plein air et restauration pour créer Régal Nomade, une entreprise en développement qui offre des collations saines pour les adeptes de plein air. Repas déshydratés et accompagnements viendront par la suite, car les trois comparses demeurent convaincus qu’il est essentiel de manger sainement, même à l’extérieur.

Les produits « nomades » doivent être légers et se conserver facilement dans le sac à dos. De plus, ces produits devront mettre en valeur les cultures locales émergentes comme celle de l’argouse et de la camerise qui sont produites dans notre région. Ils collaborent entre autres avec Labelle et l’argousier dont ils deviendront possiblement la relève; quant aux camerises, elles proviennent de Rivière-Rouge.

Le Régalo fruits de camerise se présente en fines lanières déshydratées orangées et pleines de soleil, un délice très goûteux et plus ludique qu’une barre. Avant de distribuer à plus grande échelle, Régal Nomade attend les étiquettes nutritionnelles, tout un dédale réglementaire et administratif ! Les produits seront alors offerts dans les boutiques de vrac et sur les sites de départ des activités de plein air.

Suivront ensuite des formules sous forme de raccourci culinaire : par exemple, au lieu d’offrir un spaghetti bolognaise lyophilisé, Régal Nomade proposera une sauce à laquelle vous ajoutez ensuite les pâtes de votre choix. Il en sera de même avec le chili, le dahl et un gruau permettant de recycler les épluchures de fruit. Beaucoup de projets sont encore à explorer comme l’utilisation de protéines végétales, une contribution à la protection de notre planète.

regalnomade.com (En construction)

 

Plus du même auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Daniel Gauvreau

 

Daniel Gauvreau46 Posts

Récréologue et journaliste de formation, tour à tour organisateur, formateur, consultant, chroniqueur et traducteur dans le milieu du plein air, Daniel Gauvreau est passionné d’activité physique en extérieur. De retour d’un périple au Québec et en France, il a choisi les Hautes-Laurentides pour satisfaire son amour de la nature. Semi-retraité, moniteur de ski de fond à SFMT, son expérience profite désormais aux lecteurs de Tremblant Express. Recreation professional and journalist by education, organizer, trainer, consultant, columnist and translator about the outdoors by experience, Daniel Gavreau is passionate about physical activity outside. Following a trip through Québec and France, he chose the Hautes-Laurentides as the place to satisfy his love of nature. Semi-retired and teaching cross-country skiing with SFMT, he now offers his experience to Tremblant Express readers.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password