Holiday visitor trends in Mont-Tremblant

©AVTSMT

The Holidays at the end of the year, an important time if there is one, usually allow hoteliers and property managers to rent out almost all their rooms and units. This year, the uncertainty over the restrictions that the government could impose at any time is contributing to the “last minute” tendency. Let’s take a look at how the Mont-Tremblant accommodation industry is adapting to this singular situation.

“In December 2019, the revenues generated by Mont-Tremblant hotel establishments having four rooms or more amounted to more than $12.5 million and the daily occupation rates were between 85 per cent and 100 per cent,” says Daniel Blier, managing director of Tourisme Mont-Tremblant. “It goes without saying that this period represents a significant source of revenue for our members, as well as for our community,” he affirms.

The last-minute tendency

At this point, reservations are going well, particularly for Christmas week. The periods preceding and following that week are seeing a drop of 30 to 40 per cent in demand compared to previous years. It’s a situation that is not really worrying David Proulx, property manager with Tremblant Prestige, a company that specializes in ski-in/ski-out properties.

“Reservations are fewer than last year for the weeks before and after Christmas,” Mr. Proulx notes. “My impression is that everything will come in at the last minute, when the situation is less fluid.”

“The trend is much more last-minute than what we’re used to,” confirms Vincent Leblanc, director of sales for Fairmont Tremblant. “But we remain confident. We noticed this trend all summer and through the fall, as well.”

Suzanne Fyfe, owner of Tremblant à louer (Tremblant for rent), mentions that the current trend in terms of the number of reservations closely reflects those of past years. “I’m not the least bit concerned. It looks good,” she observes.

Cancellation policies loosened

To reassure their customers, the property managers questioned have adapted their cancellation policies. Until now the policies were fairly restrictive, given the strong demand over a short period of time. It should be noted that most of Québec and Ontario go on holiday at the same time during a period which stretches over two or three weeks.

©AVTSMT

“It’s currently the first question we’re asked when we make a reservation” David Proulx admits. “For all imminent closures due to a government decision, we reimburse 100 per cent up to the day of arrival.”

Same story at Tremblant à louer, which offers a reimbursement in the event of situations related to requirements from public health authorities. At Fairmont Tremblant, the cancellation period has moved from 60 days to seven days.

Learning to adapt 

Fairmont Tremblant is busy diversifying its offer related to outdoor activities to be ready to adapt if skiing is not possible due to the limited number of lift tickets available.

“We’re working to improve the experience close to the hotel and to accent other activities,” says Vincent Leblanc. “The Holiday programming has been reviewed and our concierges have a wide variety of activities to suggest besides alpine skiing. We have added outdoor fireplaces on our terraces as well as a half-dozen safe Play Snow igloos for the children,” he explains.

It should be noted that the hotel’s family restaurant, which was originally a buffet, has been transformed into an Italian restaurant. There will also be a “boxed meal” available.

In conclusion

In other words, again this year we can expect a strong tourist demand for our destination, ”even greater than last year’s,” according to Mr. Blier. “Since they can’t go south, Quebecers will head for resorts and the outdoors,” says the managing director of Tourisme Mont-Tremblant, who salutes the decision from public health and the efforts of the ASSQ (Québec ski resorts association) that have permitted Quebec ski resorts to remain open.

 

Guillaume Vincent255 Posts

Rédacteur et journaliste de profession, Guillaume Vincent a fait ses armes au sein de l’agence QMI. Il s’est joint au Tremblant Express en 2014. Promu en 2017, il y assume depuis le rôle de rédacteur en chef et directeur de la publication. / A writer and photojournalist by profession, Guillaume Vincent won his stripes in the QMI agency. He joined Tremblant Express in 2014. Promoted in 2017, he has been editor-in-chief and co-publisher since then.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Que nous réservent les Fêtes à Tremblant ?

©AVTSMT

Période clé s’il en est, les Fêtes de fin d’année permettent habituellement aux hôteliers et aux gestionnaires de propriétés de louer la quasi-totalité de leurs chambres et unités. Cette année, l’incertitude concernant les restrictions que le gouvernement pourrait imposer à tout moment contribue à renforcer la tendance du « dernière minute ». Voyons comment l’industrie de l’hébergement tremblantoise s’adapte à cette situation inédite.

« En décembre 2019, les revenus générés par les établissements hôteliers de quatre chambres et plus de Mont-Tremblant se sont élevés à plus de 12,5 M$ et les taux d’occupation quotidiens se situaient entre 85 et 100 % », déclare Daniel Blier, directeur général de Tourisme Mont-Tremblant. « Il va sans dire que cette période représente une source de revenus importante pour nos membres, mais également pour notre communauté », souligne-t-il.

La tendance du « dernière minute »

Jusqu’à maintenant, les réservations vont bon train, particulièrement pour la semaine de Noël. Les périodes précédentes et subséquentes accusent toutefois une baisse de 30 à 40 % de la demande par rapport aux années antérieures. Une situation peu inquiétante, selon David Proulx, gestionnaire de propriétés chez Tremblant Prestige, entreprise spécialisée dans les propriétés ski in/ski out.

« Les réservations sont inférieures à l’an passé pour les semaines qui précèdent et succèdent Noël, note M. Proulx. Mon impression est que tout va se passer à la dernière minute, lorsqu’on sera davantage fixés sur la situation. »

« La tendance est beaucoup plus ‘’dernière minute’’ que ce à quoi nous sommes habitués », confirme Vincent Leblanc, directeur des ventes à Fairmont Tremblant. « Mais nous restons confiants. Nous avons pu constater cette tendance tout au long de la saison estivale et également cet automne. »

De son côté, Suzanne Fyfe, propriétaire de Tremblant à louer, mentionne que la tendance actuelle du nombre de réservations reflète à peu de chose près celles des dernières années. « Je ne suis pas inquiète du tout. Ça s’annonce très bien », observe-t-elle.

Assouplissement des politiques d’annulation 

Afin de rassurer leurs clients, les gestionnaires de propriétés interrogés ont adapté leurs politiques d’annulation. Ces dernières étaient jusqu’alors assez restrictives, étant donné la forte demande sur un très court laps de temps. Soulignons que la majorité du Québec et de l’Ontario tombent en congé en même temps lors d’une période qui s’échelonne sur deux à trois semaines.

©AVTSMT

« C’est actuellement la première question que l’on se fait poser lorsque l’on effectue une réservation, concède David Proulx. Pour toute fermeture imminente due à une décision gouvernementale, nous remboursons à 100 % jusqu’à la journée de l’arrivée. »

Même son de cloche chez Tremblant à louer qui propose un remboursement en cas de situations reliées aux exigences de la santé publique. Chez Fairmont Tremblant, la période d’annulation est passée de 60 jours à 7 jours.

L’art de s’adapter 

Fairmont Tremblant s’applique par ailleurs à diversifier son offre relative au plein air pour pallier une éventuelle impossibilité de skier en raison du nombre de billets limité.

« On travaille à améliorer l’expérience aux abords de l’hôtel et mettre l’accent sur d’autres activités, indique Vincent Leblanc. La programmation des Fêtes a été revue et nos concierges ont une multitude d’activités à proposer autres que le ski alpin. Nous avons ajouté des foyers extérieurs sur nos terrasses ainsi qu’une demi-douzaine d’igloos sécuritaires Play Snow pour les enfants », précise-t-il.

Mentionnons que le restaurant familial de l’établissement hôtelier, qui était initialement un buffet, a été transformé en restaurant italien. Un concept de « boites repas » sera également offert.

En conclusion

Nous pouvons donc nous attendre, cette année encore, à une très forte demande touristique pour notre destination, « voire même supérieure à l’an passé », selon M. Blier. « Faute de pouvoir partir dans le Sud, les Québécois se tourneront vers des destinations de villégiature et de plein air », fait valoir le directeur de Tourisme Mont-Tremblant, qui salue la décision de la santé publique et les efforts de l’ASSQ ayant permis de maintenir l’ouverture des stations de ski au Québec.

 

Guillaume Vincent249 Posts

Rédacteur et journaliste de profession, Guillaume Vincent a fait ses armes au sein de l’agence QMI. Il s’est joint au Tremblant Express en 2014. Promu en 2017, il y assume depuis le rôle de rédacteur en chef et directeur de la publication. / A writer and photojournalist by profession, Guillaume Vincent won his stripes in the QMI agency. He joined Tremblant Express in 2014. Promoted in 2017, he has been editor-in-chief and co-publisher since then.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password