Teed up for fun

Club de golf Le Maitre. ©Gary Yee (garyphoto.ca)

Because the best things happen outside your comfort zone… Club in hand, I stood at the edge of Le Maître fairway on the opening day of golf season in Mont-Tremblant.

A beginner’s dream day

A magnificent spring day. A gorgeous 260-acre championship golf course designed by Masters champion Fred Couples. Nature and beauty as far as the eye could see. Three supportive friends to round out a foursome. And a seasoned pro by our side.

Not a bad way to take my first step onto a golf course.

The setup

Erik Laframboise, director of operations of Le Maître, is passionate about the sport of golf and generous in sharing his knowledge. It’s a bonus that he’s married to one of my best friends, and a one up that he agreed to give us a private lesson. With the exception of his wife Jennifer, Erik had three newbies on his hands. Although, as the afternoon wore on, I became convinced that Jacynthe Martin might have previously spent some time on the back nine…

Erik started us at the driving range. Step one. Understand the correct setup. Stance, posture and grip. Every player, regardless of skill set, can learn to have a good setup. As long as we stood still – we were Tiger Woods. Wendy Allen could easily have passed for Brooke Henderson. Then we practised our swing. This is where experience and a skill set honed over time comes into play. This is where we needed some serious practice. Silver lining? As a beginner in any sport, there’s no place to go but up.

Not my grandfather’s game

What I know about golf could, quite literally, be written atop a tee. However, what I learned in one afternoon changed my opinion of the sport. As we practised our swings at the driving range, Erik shared that today’s golf game has evolved over time. It is not the same game my grandfather played when I was a toddler.

Golf is much more a power game than it was before. People are getting fit, and staying fit, so that they can play golf better. Indeed, many of the golfers I saw on opening day, I had seen on the training floor this past winter working on strength and conditioning. Those long beautiful drives on opening day came from some serious core strength.

Under par

Opening day of golf season in Mont-Tremblant was a pleasure to remember. Sharing the day with good friends made the new experience even better. Regardless of all the whiffed balls, we had so much fun. We were outdoors. We exercised. We tried, and enjoyed, a new sport. We toasted our afternoon with a celebratory drink on the spacious Clubhouse deck.

With our spectacular view of the course, the waterfall and the neighbouring mountains, we had the perfect end to a delicious afternoon. We came in well under par in all the aspects that count. And… began plotting our next adventure, outside the comfort zone.

 

More from this author by clicking on her photo below.

Cathy Bergman

 

Cathy Bergman72 Posts

Cathy Bergman est devenue athlète de façon inopinée à un âge relativement avancé. Elle nous montre qu’il n'est jamais trop tard pour retrouver la santé et la forme. Cathy Bergman is an accidental athlete who found health and fitness late in life. She shows us that is never too late to get healthy and fit.

Get lost

Overcoming obstacles

Grief on the run

Growing bolder

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Prêt pour s’amuser

Club de golf Le Maitre. ©Gary Yee (garyphoto.ca)

Parce que les meilleures choses arrivent en dehors de votre zone de confort… Club en main, je me tenais sur le bord de l’allée du golf Le Maître, le jour de l’ouverture de la saison à Mont-Tremblant.

La journée de rêve d’un débutant

Une magnifique journée de printemps. Un superbe parcours de golf de championnat de 260 acres conçu par le champion des Masters, Fred Couples. Nature et beauté à perte de vue. Trois amis solidaires pour compléter un quatuor et un pro aguerri à nos côtés. Pas la pire façon de faire mes premiers pas sur un terrain de golf.

Les réglages

Erik Laframboise, directeur des opérations du Maître, est passionné de golf et n’hésite pas à partager son expertise. C’est un bonus qu’il soit marié à l’une de mes meilleures amies, et un autre qu’il ait accepté de nous donner une leçon privée. À l’exception de sa femme Jennifer, Erik avait trois débutants entre les mains. Même si, au fil du temps, j’étais de plus en plus convaincue que Jacynthe Martin avait peut-être déjà passé du temps sur le deuxième neuf…

Erik nous a fait démarrer au champ de pratique. La première étape : comprendre les réglages corrects — position, posture et prise. Chaque joueur, indépendamment de ses compétences, peut assimiler la bonne attitude de départ. Tant que nous restions immobiles, nous étions Tiger Woods. Wendy Allen aurait facilement pu passer pour Brooke Henderson.

Ensuite, nous avons pratiqué notre swing. C’est là que sont entrées en jeu l’expérience et les compétences acquises. C’est là aussi que nous avons pris conscience de la nécessité de nous exercer sérieusement. Côté positif, en tant que débutant dans n’importe quel sport, il n’y a pas d’autre choix que de s’améliorer.

Pas le même jeu du temps de mon grand-père

Ce que je connais à propos du golf pourrait tenir au sommet d’un tee. Néanmoins, ce que j’ai appris en un après-midi a changé mon opinion sur ce sport. Alors que nous pratiquions nos swings au champ de pratique, Erik a expliqué que le golf avait évolué. Ce n’est pas le même jeu auquel jouait mon grand-père quand j’étais enfant. Le golf est beaucoup plus un jeu de puissance qu’il ne l’était auparavant.

Pour mieux jouer au golf, les joueurs doivent être et se maintenir en bonne forme physique. En effet, bon nombre des golfeurs présents le jour de l’ouverture étaient ceux que j’avais croisés, l’hiver dernier, sur le terrain d’entraînement en train de s’exercer. Ce conditionnement leur a permis ces longues et belles balades le jour de l’ouverture.

En dessous de la moyenne

Je me souviendrai du jour de l’ouverture de la saison de golf à Mont-Tremblant. Cette nouvelle expérience est d’autant plus appréciée qu’elle a été partagée avec des amis chers. Indépendamment de toutes les balles brossées, nous nous sommes beaucoup amusés. Nous étions dehors, nous avons pratiqué, nous avons essayé et apprécié un nouveau sport.

Profitant d’une vue spectaculaire sur le parcours, la cascade et les montagnes avoisinantes, nous avons porté un toast à notre après-midi sur la spacieuse terrasse du Clubhouse. Une fin parfaite pour ce délicieux après-midi. Nous sommes arrivés bien en dessous de la moyenne dans tous les aspects qui comptent. Mais nous avons déjà commencé à planifier notre prochaine aventure… hors de notre zone de confort.

 

Plus de cette auteure ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Cathy Bergman

 

Cathy Bergman68 Posts

Cathy Bergman est devenue athlète de façon inopinée à un âge relativement avancé. Elle nous montre qu’il n'est jamais trop tard pour retrouver la santé et la forme. Cathy Bergman is an accidental athlete who found health and fitness late in life. She shows us that is never too late to get healthy and fit.

Surpasser la douleur

Vieillir avec audace

Pédaler dans la neige

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password