Jump into winter

Winter sports demand a combination of stamina and cardio fitness as well as strength. But to really kick your season into high gear, you’ll need to add power. Plyometrics, also known as plyo or jump training, has proven to be the go-to drill for high-performing athletes who want to add power to their performance.

Explosive training

Plyo involves explosive compound movements such as jumps, skips and hops. Exercises are performed with just bodyweight, or a very light load. The goal is to achieve maximum force production in a minimum amount of time by quickly lengthening, then contracting, your muscles.

Plyo works to help build fasttwitch muscle fibres. This will increase the force and speed of your muscular action. Force plus speed equals power.

Not for newbies

Plyo is not intended for beginning athletes, or those recovering from injury. You should be able to perform about ten deep single leg squats before starting a jump training program. Because it is hi-intensity, keep plyo training to just twice weekly. Combine it with your strength and conditioning routine, under the supervision of a trained professional.

Get jumping

If you have a good solid fitness base, give this sample session a try. Focus on good form, and all-out effort.

  • Squat jumps: Squat, then explode upward as high as you can. Land lightly, absorbing the impact. Repeat ten times.
  • Hop: Six forward hops on each leg.
  • Frog jumps: Jump as far forward on both legs as you can go. Repeat five times.
  • Side to side: Keeping your feet together, jump quickly from side to side. Jump over a line or add a small obstacle such as a cone or small box. Repeat twenty times.

With the hint of winter in the air, it’s time to get jumping if you want a power-packed season on the slopes.

 

By the same author: Stabilize your core to save your knees (Click the image below)

 

Robert Roy70 Posts

Kinésiologue reconnu et un expert chevronné, Robert Roy utilise l’exercice à des fins de prévention, de réhabilitation et de développement athlétique. Il cumule plus de 20 ans d’expérience avec des athlètes de tous les niveaux. Il a bâti le Quartier Général RobFit afin d’offrir un environnement d’entraînement hors pair dans la région. / Well-known kinesiologist and seasoned professional Robert Roy uses exercise for its preventive and rehabilitative virtues as well as for athletic development. He has more than 20 years of experience with athletes of all levels, and more recently built the Quartier Général RobFit in order to provide an outstanding training environment in this area.

Snow fit

Our winter playground

Embrace your sisu

Fitness is not a fad

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Pour mieux s’éclater cet hiver

Les sports d’hiver demandent de l’endurance, une bonne capacité cardiovasculaire et de la force musculaire. Mais pour améliorer vos performances, vous devez y mettre de la puissance. La pliométrie, ou entraînement à base de sauts, s’avère être un bon choix pour les athlètes de haut niveau qui veulent gagner en puissance.

Puissance et explosivité

La pliométrie est un enchaînement rapide de mouvements explosifs tels que des sauts, sautillements et rebonds, utilisant principalement le poids du corps ou réalisés avec une charge très légère. L’objectif est d’augmenter la puissance et la performance musculaire, soit l’explosivité, en effectuant des contractions suivies d’extensions rapides.

Cette méthode aide à développer les fibres musculaires à contraction rapide, ce qui augmente la force et la vitesse de contraction des muscles. Force plus vitesse égale puissance.

Débutants s’abstenir

Cette technique d’entrainement n’est pas recommandée aux sportifs débutants ni à ceux qui se remettent d’une blessure. Vous devriez être capable d’effectuer environ une dizaine de squats sur une jambe avant d’amorcer l’entraînement de sauts. Vu qu’il s’agit d’exercices à haute intensité, faites-les seulement deux fois par semaine. Combinez-les à votre routine habituelle, sous supervision.

Sautez

Si vous êtes en bonne forme physique, essayez ce qui suit. Concentrez-vous sur la posture et l’effort maximal à fournir.

  • Squat sauté : Accroupissez-vous, puis propulsez-vous le plus haut possible. La réception au sol doit se faire doucement afin de dissiper la force de l’impact. Répétez 10 fois ;
  • Sautillement : Sautillez six fois vers l’avant, sur une jambe à la fois ;
  • Saut de grenouille : Sautez sur les deux jambes, aussi loin que possible vers l’avant. Répétez cinq fois ;
  • Côte à côte : Les pieds joints, sautez rapidement d’un côté à l’autre. Sautez par-dessus une ligne ou un petit obstacle. Répétez 20 fois.

Sautez pour profiter d’une bonne saison sur les pentes cet hiver.

 

Du même auteur : Stabiliser le tronc pour protéger les genoux (Cliquez sur l’image)

 

Robert Roy70 Posts

Kinésiologue reconnu et un expert chevronné, Robert Roy utilise l’exercice à des fins de prévention, de réhabilitation et de développement athlétique. Il cumule plus de 20 ans d’expérience avec des athlètes de tous les niveaux. Il a bâti le Quartier Général RobFit afin d’offrir un environnement d’entraînement hors pair dans la région. / Well-known kinesiologist and seasoned professional Robert Roy uses exercise for its preventive and rehabilitative virtues as well as for athletic development. He has more than 20 years of experience with athletes of all levels, and more recently built the Quartier Général RobFit in order to provide an outstanding training environment in this area.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password