For happy food and wine pairings

The harmony of flavours research.

Over the years, our memories attach to feelings that arouse our emotions. The same thing is true for our taste memory. I remember food and wine pairings so successful that the mouth sensation as a whole provided a delicious taste, which was proof of their sublime harmony.

While bitterness is not desirable in a wine, some delicious foods have that quality. Think of endives, mint, fresh herbs and some spices, such as cumin. In the presence of bitter ingredients, it’s important to avoid wines with forward tannins, as they’ll have the effect of increasing the sensation.

Salty foods, however, are easier to pair. They help to soften the acidity and astringency of the tannins. What’s more, you can pair them with a sweeter wine for a sweet and salty match.

Contrary to general belief, the acidity in a dish does not heighten that of the wine. Thus a ceviche will find in a Sauvignon Blanc enough tension and liveliness for a happy pairing.

Other traditional pairings can guide you

I’m thinking of habitual regional pairings such as Muscadet with oysters or Valpolicella with pizza. Lastly, the season can also guide your choice. Rosés or reds with a more pronounced fruity profile work to accompany summer recipes, whereas more structured wines go well with the simmered dishes we serve on those long winter evenings.

Two wines that pair easily

A Sauvignon Blanc with notes of citrus and freshly cut grass. In the mouth it is refreshing and lightly mentholated.

Château de Pocé, Touraine, 2018   $14.95    SAQ #10689606

Or a Rosso de la Vénétie (from Venice) with delightful fruitiness. Freshness and supple tannins.

Farina, Appassilento, 2017   $16.30    SAQ #13894630

 

Lynda Lavertu48 Posts

Toujours tout sourire, Lynda se passionne pour le fabuleux monde du vin et tout ce qui saura plaire aux épicuriens. Sommelière diplômée, elle travaille à la SAQ et partage avec nous ses plus récentes trouvailles. / The ever-smiling Lynda is passionate about the fabulous world of wine and everything that will bring pleasure to epicures. A graduate sommelière – wine steward – she works at the SAQ and shares with us her most recent discoveries.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Pour des accords mets et vins réussis

Recherche de l'harmonie des saveurs.

Au fil du temps, nos souvenirs sont rattachés à des sensations qui réveillent en nous des émotions. Il en est de même pour notre mémoire gustative. Je me souviens d’alliances mets et vins tellement réussies que l’ensemble générait un goût délicieux, preuve de leur accord sublime.

L’harmonie des saveurs  

Bien que l’amertume ne soit pas souhaitable dans le vin, certains aliments aux vertus gustatives en contiennent. Telles les endives, la menthe, les herbes fraîches et certaines épices comme le cumin. En présence d’ingrédients amers, il faut éviter les vins aux tanins trop présents qui auraient pour effet d’augmenter cette sensation.

Les mets salés sont, pour leur part, plus faciles à accorder. Ils contribuent à assouplir l’acidité et l’astringence des tanins. Aussi, on peut les associer à un vin plus moelleux pour un mariage sucré/salé.

Contrairement aux idées reçues, l’acidité contenue dans un plat n’exacerbe pas celle du vin. Ainsi, un ceviche trouvera avec le sauvignon blanc suffisamment de tension et de vivacité pour un mariage heureux.

D’autres repères peuvent aussi vous guider

Je pense aux habitudes régionales telles que le muscadet avec les huîtres ou le Valpolicella avec la pizza. Enfin, les saisons peuvent également orienter vos choix. Les recettes d’été seront accompagnées de rosés ou de rouges au profil fruité plus gouleyants tandis que les plats mijotés au menu des longues soirées d’hiver préféreront les vins plus charpentés.

Deux vins faciles à accorder

Un sauvignon blanc aux effluves d’agrumes et d’herbe fraîchement coupée. En bouche, c’est rafraîchissant et légèrement mentholé.

Château de Pocé, Touraine, 2018   14,95 $   SAQ #10689606

Ou un Rosso de la Vénétie au fruité séduisant. De la fraîcheur et des tanins bien souples.

Farina, Appassilento, 2017   16,30 $   SAQ #13894630

 

Lynda Lavertu48 Posts

Toujours tout sourire, Lynda se passionne pour le fabuleux monde du vin et tout ce qui saura plaire aux épicuriens. Sommelière diplômée, elle travaille à la SAQ et partage avec nous ses plus récentes trouvailles. / The ever-smiling Lynda is passionate about the fabulous world of wine and everything that will bring pleasure to epicures. A graduate sommelière – wine steward – she works at the SAQ and shares with us her most recent discoveries.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password