Pop! … and happiness reigns

© AdobeStock
SAQ 14278880  24,75 $

Casa Vinicola Aldo Rainoldi Zapel

The outdoor thermometer reads 9° C and I lift the Italian from the ice bucket which reflects that rays of the spring sun: “Sunny” by Bobby Hebb answers the spin of my corkscrew as it extracts the cork. It’s 12:12 p.m. … pop! And happiness reigns. The straw colour of the Aldo Rainoldi promises liveliness.

The Zapel, a chardonnay from Valtellina (Italian Alps) surprises and even destabilizes with the freshness of its aromas of cucumber, green melon and white pear. The exoticism continues in the mouth with citrus and the flesh of white fruits. With a good amount of crispness, it shows nice texture both rich and taut.

SAQ 709451 | 21,30 $

For pairing, work with the aromas: a first course of cucumber and mango salad with mint or more simply, opt for shrimp flamed with pastis.

Cosimo Taurino Notarpanaro

Meeting by chance a family member not seen for ages…that’s the impression I had when pouring the Notarpanaro 2011 into the balloon glass and yes, you read it right, 2011. The 100 per cent Negreamaro, a grape native to Pouilles, has already – through its red-brick colour – declared itself as an older wine.

There’s also a hint of toastiness and spice working together. Classical in style, a tad rustic, without too much maturity, but more than anything else, a wine perfect for drinking now. One after another the tastes of raspberry, cocoa, black olives and balsamic meld with the barely dry tannins.

Complex and charming, it’s excellent with a typical ragù or a brochette of Italian sausages, sweet peppers and basil.

SAQ 11409371 | 23,30 $

Michael David Sixth sense Lodi

Don’t jump the gun on spring! But you can probably try a few aspects of it, like removing the cover from your barbecue. The Phillips brothers, Michael and David, undertook the brilliant initiative in the early ‘80s of planting some syrah vines in California.

This grape varietal, Rhodesian in origin, acclimates easily to the temperate, sometimes extreme climate of Sacramento and San Joaquin. The California wine estate Lodi makes a denser and fuller-bodied syrah compared to those of the more northern Côtes-du-Rhône regions.

The wine is an almost opaque cherry red, a sign of concentration. Aromas of plum and black currant dominate, but there are also notes of vanilla, coconut, smoked wood and the typical peppery note of a syrah. It’s just right for someone who likes a generous wine.

Tip: don’t forget your caramelized boar ribs on the grill!

 

More from this author by clicking on his picture below.

Franck Lizotte

 

Franck Lizotte22 Posts

Vulgarisateur vitivinicole/Wine world simplifier

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Pop ! … Y’a de la joie

© AdobeStock
SAQ 14278880 | 24,75 $

Casa Vinicola Aldo Rainoldi Zapel

Le thermomètre indique 9°c, je retire l’Italien d’un seau à glace qui reflète les rayons d’un soleil printanier ; “Sunny” de Bobby Heb répond à la vrille de mon limonadier qui extrait l’opercule de liège, 12h12… pop ! Y’a de la joie. Les reflets paille du vin d’Aldo Rainoldi augurent sa vivacité.

Le Zapel, chardonnay de Valtellina (Alpes italiennes) surprend et même déstabilise par la fraîcheur de ses arômes de concombre, de melon vert et de poire blanche. L’exotisme se poursuit en bouche sur les agrumes et la chair de fruits blancs. De bonne facture croquante franchement digeste, il affiche une jolie texture à la fois volumineuse et tendue.

SAQ 709451 | 21,30 $

Pour les accords, misez sur ses vecteurs d’arômes ; une entrée de salade concombre et mangue à la menthe ou plus simplement, optez pour des crevettes flambées au pastis.

Cosimo Taurino Notarpanaro

Croiser fortuitement un membre de la famille que l’on n’a pas revu depuis des lustres, c’est l’impression que j’ai ressentie en versant le Notarpanaro 2011 dans le ballon… vous avez bien lu ; 2011. Ce 100 % Negroamaro, cépage autochtone des Pouilles, annonce déjà un vin plus âgé de par sa couleur rouge brique.

Les armes torréfiées et épicées sont aussi de mèche. De style classique, un brin rustique, sans extravagance d’élevage, mais avant tout, un vin à point pour la consommation. Tour à tour les arômes de framboise, de cacao, d’olives noires, et balsamiques se fondent aux tanins à peine asséchant.

Complexe et charmeur, c’est un incontournable avec le typique ragù ou la brochette de saucisses italienne, poivrons et basilic.

SAQ 11409371 | 23,30 $

Michael David Sixth sense Lodi

En avril… la suite nous la connaissons tous ! Osez tout de même retirer quelques morceaux, comme la housse de votre BBQ. Les frères Phillips, Michael et David, ont eu la brillante initiative au début des années 80 de planter des vignes de syrah en Californie. Ce cépage, rhodanien d’origine, s’acclimate sans souci au climat tempéré, parfois extrême des comtés de Sacramento et de San Joaquin.

L’appellation californienne Lodi élève une syrah plus dense et plus charnue comparée à celle des Côtes-du-Rhône septentrionaux. La robe est d’un rouge cerise presque opaque, signe de concentration. Les arômes de prune et de cassis dominent, mais ils sont aussitôt chevauchés par ceux de vanille, de noix de coco, de bois fumé et du typique poivré de la syrah. Du sur mesure pour l’amateur de vin gourmand.

Conseil : n’oubliez pas sur le grill vos côtes levées (ribs) de sanglier caramélisées !

 

Plus de cet auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Franck Lizotte

 

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password