Winging it

© AdobeStock

In 1978, a number of elite athletes were debating who were more fit: swimmers, bikers or runners. To settle the dispute, they decided to stitch the three disciplines into an uber-triathlon to see who would win. Eleven hours, 15 minutes and 58 seconds later, the first Ironman crossed the finish line.

Pivoting

The birth of the Thalontri this summer was a bit less auspicious. With the Mont-Tremblant Ironman series cancelled again this year, it was time to pivot. There were no elite athletes debating. Random swim, bike and run distances were pulled from thin air. The order of the disciplines was changed (hence the mixed-up event name).

My friend Charles and I plotted out a Thalontri race plan. We would begin our day on the bikes, and ride from our respective homes to Montebello. Afterwards, we’d get in a swim and a run.

A new twist

Our friends Jacynthe and Wendy agreed to serve as support crew. Special needs bags were prepped with extra water, bananas, a bit of pickle juice and a bandage or two. Coffee at the makeshift aid station in Namur was most welcome. The bike ride to Montebello was not without its challenges. There are monster hills to climb, some wretched roads and no shoulders.

However, homemade signs of support along the way kept both Charles and me smiling. We made up the rules as we went. We did two swim segments instead of one. We stretched the event over three days. We took naps; we had lunch. Regardless of the modified distances (and rules), we pushed ourselves.

Most importantly, we had fun. Events get cancelled. Plans get changed. Pivot and make the best of it. Mount the podium this season in your own homemade event. It’s certain to be a personal best.

 

More from this author by clicking on her photo below.

Cathy Bergman

 

Cathy Bergman58 Posts

Cathy Bergman est devenue athlète de façon inopinée à un âge relativement avancé. Elle nous montre qu’il n'est jamais trop tard pour retrouver la santé et la forme. Cathy Bergman is an accidental athlete who found health and fitness late in life. She shows us that is never too late to get healthy and fit.

Ask yourself why

Crazy delicious

Opportunity knocks

The power of community

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Pari fou

© AdobeStock

En 1978, des athlètes de haut niveau argumentaient pour déterminer quels athlètes étaient les plus endurants : les nageurs, cyclistes ou coureurs. Pour régler le différend, ils décidèrent de regrouper trois épreuves sportives en un triathlon pour voir qui gagnerait. Onze heures, 15 minutes et 58 secondes plus tard, le premier Ironman franchissait la ligne d’arrivée.

Thalontri

Le Thalontri, organisé cet été, fut un peu moins mémorable. Les épreuves Ironman de Mont- Tremblant ayant encore été annulées cette année, il fallait se tourner vers autre chose. Il n’y eut aucun débat auquel prirent part des athlètes d’élite.

L’ordre des disciplines fut modifié (d’où le nom embrouillé de l’événement), et les distances étaient arbitraires. Mon ami Charles et moi avions élaboré un plan pour la course Thalontri : partir à vélo de nos maisons respectives pour aller jusqu’à Montebello, puis natation et course.

Une variante

Nos amies Jacynthe et Wendy avaient accepté d’agir à titre d’équipe de soutien. Des sacs pour les besoins spéciaux, contenant des bouteilles d’eau supplémentaires, des bananes, un peu de jus de cornichon et un ou deux pansements, avaient été préparés. Le parcours à vélo jusqu’à Montebello ne fut pas sans difficultés. Il y avait des côtes monstrueuses à gravir, des routes en mauvais état et pas d’accotements.

Cependant, Charles et moi avions le sourire aux lèvres en voyant les pancartes de soutien tout au long du trajet. Nous établissions les règles au fur et à mesure. Nous fîmes deux parties natation au lieu d’une. Nous avons étiré l’événement sur trois jours. Nous faisions des siestes et des pauses pour le lunch.

Nous avons poussé nos limites, et surtout, nous nous sommes amusés. Il arrive que les événements soient annulés, que les plans changent. Faites volte-face et tirez-en le meilleur parti. Cette saison, montez sur le podium de votre propre événement.

 

Plus de cette auteure ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Cathy Bergman

 

Cathy Bergman46 Posts

Cathy Bergman est devenue athlète de façon inopinée à un âge relativement avancé. Elle nous montre qu’il n'est jamais trop tard pour retrouver la santé et la forme. Cathy Bergman is an accidental athlete who found health and fitness late in life. She shows us that is never too late to get healthy and fit.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password