Tremblant: New $14M investment in 2019-20

Tremblant experience keeps getting better and better

A new $14.1M investment was announced to refresh Tremblant’s guest and sports experience, with $10.3M being directed at the mountain and $3.8M at a major Aquaclub La Source makeover.

As part of a five-year investment plan announced in March 2018, Alterra Mountain Company has invested $17M toward the current slide season’s on-mountain Tremblant upgrades, from a global $555M investment in its family of emblematic destinations.

Today’s announcement also includes $1,684,600 received in August 2018 by Station Mont Tremblant (Resort) from the Québec government, in the context of its Tourism Development Strategy Support Program.

A 50 per cent increase in snowmaking capacity

This new on-mountain investment will serve primarily to boost snowmaking capacity by 50 per cent for the mountain as a whole. For instance, the new snowmaking system for Versant Soleil’s Algonquin trail will better equip it to offer beginner and intermediate skiers additional terrain over a longer period of time.

“A higher-performing snowmaking system will allow us to keep this sector of the mountain open longer, which is a timely upgrade given the recent announcement of the new $45M C Hôtels Tremblant development project,” stated Patrice Malo, Station Mont-Tremblant’s president and chief operating officer.

“The addition of about 90 extra snow guns to our current fleet will optimize our snowmaking capacity and boost snow production to an impressive 87 feet of snow across one acre in only 24 hours!”

This latest investment also covers the acquisition of two Prinoth grooming machines ‒  a Bison and a Husky ‒  as well as maintenance work on the Express Gondola, and Phase II of Le Grand Manitou renovations comprising washrooms on all three floors, and roof replacement.

A year-round food truck

Next winter also marks the introduction of a new food truck concept to enhance the on-mountain foodservice offering. Year-round, including the snowy season, guests will enjoy restaurant fare on the go in assorted strategic locations according to the weather, events or peak periods.

“This is an innovative, exciting project,” says Annique Aird, Station Mont Tremblant’s vice-president marketing and communications. “The new concept is a food truck — on skis in winter – that will serve skiers and boarders right on the mountain. The idea is to stay on the mountain and show up on a trail, to the guests’ surprise,” she adds.

Other projects have also been earmarked, including the renovation of some hotel common areas, of shops and of public washrooms as well as upgrades to golf course rental equipment and to course maintenance.

Aquaclub La Source makeover

The transformation of Aquaclub La Source will renew the indoor activities offered so that rain or shine, families can access a reinvented waterpark and a refreshed aquatic experience.

The complex will feature four water slides, 35 interactive water games, an indoor jet tub and an all-new fitness centre. Renovations also include the reception area, lockers and showers.

“The goal is to retain this investment, aimed at young families, which is complementary to skiing when the weather doesn’t cooperate,” explains Pierre Bertrand, general manager of the Tremblant Resort Association.

“Sometimes you have to make an attractive product trendier or it can become outdated. We think that with this work, the facility will get back to its initial numbers, which stood at around 120,000 people annually. We expect to close at the end of this ski season and open at the start of next ski season, around mid-November,” he notes.

Tremblant.ca

 

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Nouveaux investissements de 14 M$ à Tremblant 

L’expérience Tremblant à nouveau bonifiée

De nouveaux investissements de 14,1 M$ visant à rehausser l’expérience des sportifs et villégiateurs ont été annoncés à Tremblant, dont 10,3 M$ en montagne et 3,8 M$ pour la transformation de l’Aquaclub la Source.

Le plan quinquennal d’Alterra Mountain Company annoncé en mars 2018 se poursuit, après que 17 M$ aient été injectés en montagne pour la saison en cours dans le cadre d’investissements globaux de 555 M$ dans l’ensemble de ses destinations.

Cette annonce inclut également l’aide financière du gouvernement du Québec qui, en août 2018, octroyait 1 684 600 $ à Station Mont Tremblant dans le cadre du Programme de soutien aux stratégies de développement touristique.

Augmentation de la capacité d’enneigement de 50%

Les sommes investies en montagne viendront augmenter de 50 % la capacité d’enneigement sur l’ensemble de la montagne. De plus, le système d’enneigement de la piste Algonquin du versant Soleil sera amélioré, offrant davantage de terrain aux skieurs débutants et intermédiaires sur une plus longue période.

« Un système d’enneigement plus performant nous permettra de prolonger l’ouverture de ce versant de montagne où l’on vient d’annoncer le développement du nouveau C Hôtels Tremblant au coût de 45 M$, souligne Patrice Malo, président et chef de l’exploitation de Station Mont Tremblant. L’ajout d’environ 90 canons à notre flotte actuelle optimisera notre capacité d’enneigement de façon impressionnante, nous permettant de produire en seulement 24 heures un total de 87 pieds de neige sur un acre! »

À ces investissements s’ajoutent deux dameuses Bison et Husky de Prinoth, des travaux pour l’entretien de la Télécabine Express ainsi que pour la phase II des rénovations du Grand Manitou visant les toilettes, sur les trois étages, et le remplacement de la toiture.

Le food truck des neiges

Notons également qu’un nouveau concept de « roulotte alimentaire » sera inauguré pour la prochaine saison hivernale et viendra bonifier l’offre de restauration en montagne à l’année. Ainsi, les invités pourront profiter de services de restauration ponctuels dans des endroits stratégiques selon la température, les événements ou l’affluence.

« Il s’agit d’un projet innovant et très excitant », confie Annique Aird, Vice-présidente ventes, marketing et communications à Station Mont Tremblant. « Ce nouveau concept permettra de rejoindre les skieurs et planchistes en montagne avec une roulotte à ski. L’idée est de rester en montagne et notamment d’arriver sur une piste sans que les gens s’y attendent », indique-t-elle.

D’autres projets sont également prévus tels que la rénovation de certains espaces communs d’hôtels et de boutiques, de toilettes publiques ainsi que le renouvellement d’une partie de la flotte d’équipements de location et l’entretien des golfs.

L’Aquaclub la Source se refait une beauté    

La transformation de l’Aquaclub la Source viendra renouveler l’offre d’activités intérieures pour les familles qui auront désormais accès à une expérience aquatique réinventée.

L’expérience comprendra quatre glissades, 35 jeux d’eau interactifs, un bain à remous intérieur et un tout nouveau centre de conditionnement physique. Les espaces de l’accueil, des vestiaires et des douches seront également rénovés.

« Le but est de conserver cet investissement destiné aux jeunes familles qui est complémentaire au ski lorsque la météo fait des siennes », explique Pierre Bertrand, directeur général de l’Association de villégiature Tremblant (AVT).

« Il arrive un moment où il est nécessaire de mettre un produit attractif à la saveur du jour, sinon, il devient désuet. Nous pensons qu’avec ces travaux-là, on parviendra à retrouver l’achalandage initial qui était aux alentours de 120 000 personnes par année. On prévoit fermer à la fin de la saison de ski pour rouvrir dès le début de la saison prochaine, soit à la mi-novembre », conclut-il.

Tremblant.ca

 

 

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password