We are all ambassadors

You know what I love? Other than scotch that is. It’s being asked by a Mont-Tremblant tourist to take their picture with their phone or camera. The number of times this has happened is too many to recall. What I do remember are the smiles and “thank-you’s”. Now when I see people taking pictures I offer to be their photographer.

I also enjoy assisting with directions to hotels, ski runs, restaurants and other attractions. I only speak English but have helped visitors from France, Japan, China, Russia, South Korea, Germany and many Spanish-speaking nations. In these cases I use expressive hand gestures and a louder voice.

In every instance the effort is appreciated. Getting a “danke mein herr” from German mountain bikers for providing directions was terrific. Escorting a couple from England down the Johansen Trail who were lost was gratifying. Enjoying a cocktail with an Ironman from San Francisco I gave a ride to was fun.

It’s even more rewarding to go above and beyond. Making recommendations to improve the Mont-Tremblant experience is the job of everyone in the area. We locals have the knowledge that visitors crave. From restaurants to activities to accommodations we have the inside track to make a vacation that much more special.

Many have not heard of or considered exploring the national park or Domaine Saint- Bernard. Cyclists are always grateful to learn of the linear park, Le P’tit train du Nord. The gondola to the casino is a freebee that few take advantage of so I suggest that ride. I take time to explain that the area is comprised of three villages each with their own charm.

This summer I was a tourist in my own town. I experienced the Birds of Prey show and Tonga Lumina each for the first time. Both impressive. I now recommend these experiences to anyone who will listen.

In my career I worked for the famous advertising agency, DDB. One of its founders said, “Word of mouth is the best medium of all.” Our area competes globally for tourists, for those seeking a second home or contemplating a place to retire. Positive word of mouth is crucial. We depend on great reviews stemming from great experiences.

That is why each one of us is a Mont-Tremblant ambassador. We have the power to enrich and personalize every visitor’s experience. Think of your own travels. Certainly, you remember landscapes, activities, accommodations and food, but what makes the difference is interacting with locals. My fondest travel stories involve kind, helpful, and interesting people who proudly promote their area.

I have branded entire places. This includes the cities of London and Johannesburg, the province of Manitoba, and the countries of Guatemala, Estonia and Chile. In the last case, the graphic work ended up on the national stamp. However, “place branding” isn’t about a good slogan, logo and ad campaigns. It is about the promise of a unique experience and surpassing expectations in the delivery of that promise. The differentiating factor in “place branding” is not the place it is the people. Short of all of us wearing nametags that say “Can I Help You?” (which is kind of a cool idea) we need to be attentive, authentic, and helpful.

Being an enthusiastic Mont-Tremblant ambassador is doubly rewarding. Helping out those who have chosen to visit is gratifying and smart business. Meeting people from all around the world is another fantastic benefit of living in Mont-Tremblant. So you are all hereby granted the title of “Ambassador”. Go out and do good work!

 

More from this author by clicking on his picture below.

Jeff Swystun

 

Jeff Swystun34 Posts

Conférencier prolifique et écrivain, Jeff a donné plus de 115 conférences dans 25 pays. L'expertise de Jeff en matière de stratégie d'entreprise, de stratégie de marque et de marketing a mené à l'ouverture de Swystun Communications en 2012. / A prolific speaker and writer, Jeff has appeared at over 115 conferences in over 25 countries. Jeff’s expertise in business strategy, branding and marketing led to the opening of Swystun Communications in 2012. SC is a boutique agency focused on the intersection of business and brand strategy.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Nous sommes tous des ambassadeurs

©Tremblant Express

Vous savez ce que j’aime (à part le whisky, bien entendu)? C’est le touriste de Mont-Tremblant qui me demande de le prendre en photo avec son cellulaire ou sa caméra. C’est arrivé trop de fois pour que je puisse les recenser. Mais ce dont je me souviens, ce sont les sourires et les « Merci! » Aujourd’hui, quand je vois des touristes prendre des photos, je leur offre de jouer au photographe.

J’aime les aider quand ils se cherchent un hôtel, une piste de ski, un restaurant ou une activité intéressante. Je parle seulement anglais, mais j’ai aidé des visiteurs de France, du Japon, de Chine, de Russie, de Corée du Sud, d’Allemagne et de nombreux pays latins. Dans ces cas, je m’exprime en parlant ou en gesticulant plus fort.

À chaque fois, ils apprécient mes efforts. Et j’ai éprouvé un réel plaisir à recevoir un « danke mein herr » d’un cycliste de montagne allemand ou à escorter un couple d’Anglais perdus au sommet de la piste Johansen. J’ai même passé du bon temps autour d’un cocktail avec un triathlonien de l’Ironman que j’avais pris à bord de ma voiture.

Il peut être encore plus enrichissant d’aller au-delà de ce qu’on vous demande. Tous les résidants devraient faire des suggestions aux visiteurs pour enrichir leur expérience de Mont-Tremblant. Nous, les gens du coin, connaissons à fond ce que les gens viennent chercher ici. Nous sommes très bien placés pour leur trouver les restaurants, les activités ou l’hébergement qui rendront leurs vacances exceptionnelles.

Peu d’entre eux connaissent ou pensent à explorer le parc national ou le Domaine Saint-Bernard. Les cyclistes sont toujours heureux de découvrir l’existence du parc linéaire Le P’tit train du Nord. La télécabine, ou gondole, du casino de Mont tremblant est gratuite, mais peu de gens en profitent, alors je leur suggère. Je prends le temps de leur expliquer que la région compte trois villages, qui ont chacun leur charme particulier.

Cet été, j’ai fait le touriste dans ma propre ville. J’ai vu les spectacles Oiseaux de proie et Tonga Lumina pour la première fois : j’ai été très impressionné. Depuis, je les recommande à quiconque veut bien m’écouter.

Dans ma carrière, j’ai travaillé pour la prestigieuse agence publicitaire DDB. Pour l’un de ses fondateurs, le bouche-à-oreille est la meilleure source d’information. Notre région a une renommée mondiale dans le secteur de la villégiature et des résidences secondaires ou comme endroit où prendre sa retraite. Le bouche-à-oreille positif est essentiel. Nous avons besoin des meilleures critiques, il faut donc qu’elles proviennent d’expériences inoubliables.

C’est pourquoi chacun de nous est l’ambassadeur de Mont-Tremblant. Nous pouvons enrichir et personnaliser l’expérience de chaque visiteur. Pensez à vos propres voyages. Vous vous souvenez surement des paysages, des activités, des hôtels et des repas, mais surtout, de l’interaction avec ceux que vous y avez rencontrés. Mes plus beaux souvenirs de voyage sont les gens aimables, serviables et intéressants qui ont eu la gentillesse et la fierté de nous faire visiter leur région.

J’ai conçu l’image de marque de régions entières : le Guatemala, l’Estonie et le Chili, la province du Manitoba et des villes comme Londres et Johannesburg. Dans le cas du Chili, mon œuvre graphique a abouti sur un timbre-poste du pays. Or, l’image de marque d’un lieu ne se résume pas à un slogan, un logo ou une campagne publicitaire. C’est surtout la promesse d’une expérience unique qui réussit à dépasser toutes les attentes. Le facteur distinctif ici, ce n’est pas l’endroit, mais ceux qui l’habitent. Sans avoir « Puis-je vous aider? » d’écrit au front (l’idée serait tout de même sympathique), il faut savoir être attentif, authentique et serviable.

Le fait d’être un ambassadeur enthousiaste de Mont-Tremblant a ses avantages : aider ceux qui choisissent de nous visiter est une idée aussi brillante que gratifiante; et rencontrer des gens de partout au monde est un formidable privilège dont jouissent les gens de la région. Par la présente, je vous nomme tous ambassadeurs. Sortez, faites du bon travail et amusez-vous !

 

Plus de cet auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Jeff Swystun

 

Jeff Swystun30 Posts

Conférencier prolifique et écrivain, Jeff a donné plus de 115 conférences dans 25 pays. L'expertise de Jeff en matière de stratégie d'entreprise, de stratégie de marque et de marketing a mené à l'ouverture de Swystun Communications en 2012. / A prolific speaker and writer, Jeff has appeared at over 115 conferences in over 25 countries. Jeff’s expertise in business strategy, branding and marketing led to the opening of Swystun Communications in 2012. SC is a boutique agency focused on the intersection of business and brand strategy.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password