Outside our back door

©AdobeStock

I’m an absolute slug when it comes to climbing uphill. Biking, running, snowshoeing. Pick a sport. I shine on the descent, not the ascent. And that is why I did not think I would care much for hiking. Until I started.

Sunday morning tradition

What began as a Sunday morning hike with a few friends last autumn turned into a weekly tradition that is still holding strong. We followed the Classique Salomon Tremblant 5K course and scaled the mountain. We trekked up Casino hill and scrabbled through Sentier des pruches.

Jacynthe Martin steadfastly led the way as we hiked Villa Bellevue, Geai Bleu, La Diable, La Jazz, La Gorge and Deer Mountain. When the red zone lockdown prohibited group gatherings, my husband and I explored Montagne Labelle behind our home.

A few Sundays back, my friend Wendy Allen attempted to kill me pulling a crew up the Pic Brosseau. It’s part of the Sentiers Huberdeau, and the hike to this summit requires more than just a bit of grit… and a few climbing ropes. We’ve explored our natural playground, one trail at a time.

Spring hiking

Warm spring days are ahead. Grab a friend and spend some time on our network of trails this season. Although some of our trails can be wicked hard, as Jennifer Laframboise often reminds me, one foot in front of the other gets you to the top. And when a challenging adventure is accompanied by a good friend, it’s always easier.

Be wary of those really fit friends, though; they will pick some steep climbs. As we exit our COVID winter, there is no better time to get outside your comfort zone and take a hike. The scenery is nothing short of glorious – and the views from the summits truly take your breath away.

 

By the same author: It’s all downhill from here (Click the image below)

 

Cathy Bergman46 Posts

Cathy Bergman est devenue athlète de façon inopinée à un âge relativement avancé. Elle nous montre qu’il n'est jamais trop tard pour retrouver la santé et la forme. Cathy Bergman is an accidental athlete who found health and fitness late in life. She shows us that is never too late to get healthy and fit.

Foraging fitness

Winging it

A journey home

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Notre cour arrière

©AdobeStock

Peu importe le sport – vélo, course à pied, raquette –, je me surpasse dans les descentes, mais j’avance à pas de tortue dans les montées. Et c’est pourquoi je ne pensais pas aimer la randonnée, jusqu’à ce que j’essaie.

Tradition du dimanche matin

Une randonnée avec quelques amis un dimanche matin l’automne dernier est devenue une tradition hebdomadaire bien ancrée. Nous avons emprunté le parcours de cinq kilomètres de La Classique Salomon Tremblant et escaladé la montagne. Nous avons gravi la pente jusqu’au casino et parcouru le Sentier des Pruches.

Jacynthe Martin nous guidait d’un pas ferme dans les sentiers de la Villa Bellevue, du Geai-Bleu, de la Diable, la Jazz, la Gorge et de Deer Mountain. Lorsque les rassemblements ont été interdits en zone rouge, mon mari et moi avons exploré la Montagne Labelle juste derrière notre maison.

Il y a quelques semaines, mon amie Wendy Allen a littéralement voulu me tuer en tentant de me hisser au sommet du Pic Brosseau, lequel fait partie du réseau de sentiers d’Huberdeau. L’ascension demande beaucoup de courage… et des cordes d’escalade. Mais nous avons exploré notre terrain de jeu naturel, un sentier à la fois.

Randonnées printanières

Les beaux jours du printemps arrivent. Partez avec un ami à la découverte des sentiers de notre réseau. Certains sentiers sont vraiment difficiles, mais comme me le répète souvent Jennifer Laframboise, c’est en mettant un pied devant l’autre que l’on arrive au sommet. Et quand on part à l’aventure avec un bon ami, c’est toujours plus facile.

Méfiez-vous toutefois des amis en grande forme physique; ils choisiront des montées abruptes. Notre hiver en pandémie tire à sa fin. C’est le moment de sortir de votre zone de confort et de partir en randonnée. Les paysages sont tout simplement spectaculaires, et la vue du haut des cimes est à couper le souffle.

 

De la même auteure : Tout en descente ! (Cliquez sur l’image)

 

Cathy Bergman46 Posts

Cathy Bergman est devenue athlète de façon inopinée à un âge relativement avancé. Elle nous montre qu’il n'est jamais trop tard pour retrouver la santé et la forme. Cathy Bergman is an accidental athlete who found health and fitness late in life. She shows us that is never too late to get healthy and fit.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password