Our cells communicate with each other

Conceptual illustration of neuron cells with glowing link knots. © AdobeStock

Day after day, your body performs complex tasks. Whether the purpose is to maintain your body temperature or move your hand away from a heat source, your trillions of cells do what’s needed to help you function. Their communication with each other is called cell-signalling the network needed to send and receive these messages is complex.

It consists of an army of messenger molecules to spread the signal across and between cells (signalling molecules). Cell-signalling molecules come in multiple forms. Sometimes the signalling happens within the cell itself. In other cases, cells send messages to neighbouring cells or to other, distant cells. These signals can be:

  • Chemical compounds (e.g., nutrients and toxins);
  • Electrical impulses (e.g., neurotransmitters inducting electrical signals along nerves);
  • Mechanical stimuli (e.g., stretching of the stomach to signal you are full).

The purpose of cell-signalling is to respond and adapt to your internal and external environment. Thus, properly functioning cell-signalling pathways are essential to maintaining and promoting health. When cell-signalling pathways work well, your body runs smoothly. And the environment – internal and external – can impact your cells.

They require specific conditions to make the reactions work, including proper temperature, pH, and energy status. Some lifestyle habits can negatively affect proper signalling, including an unhealthy diet, too much or too little exercise, environmental factors, exposure to toxins and the normal aging process. Recent research has shown, however, that a healthy lifestyle and a diet rich in vitamins, minerals, phytonutrients, antioxidants, proteins and healthy fats can support cell-signalling… and your health.

To your Health. Jessica & Bruno

Source: Unlocking the secrets of cell-signalling, National Library of Medicine.

 

More from these authors by clicking on their photo below.

Jessica Humphries & Bruno Saint-Hilaire

 

Jessica Humphries Bruno Saint-Hilaire88 Posts

Jessica Humphries est entraîneuse certifiée, coach santé et conceptrice de programmes d’entraînement physique en plein air offerts à longueur d’année. Diplômée de l’Université McGill, elle détient un baccalauréat en éducation physique et kinésiologie. - Bruno Saint-Hilaire est un professionnel de la santé qui a fait ses études universitaires en médecine sportive et nutritionnelle et administration des affaires. Ce qui le passionne depuis plus de 20 ans est d'accompagner sa clientèle très variée (enfants, adolescents et adultes) vers l'optimisation de leur santé afin de les aider à vivre au quotidien avec plus d'énergie et de vitalité. / Jessica Humphries is a certified natural trainer in functional fitness, yoga instructor, healthy lifestyle coach and the designer of year-round nature fitness training programs. She graduated from McGill University with a BEd in physical education and kinesiology. - Bruno Saint-Hilaire is a health professional who completed his university studies in sports and nutritional medicine and business administration. For more than 20 years his passion has been to accompany his wide range of clients (children, teens and adults) in the optimization of their health to help them live their daily lives with more energy and vitality. enerj.ca

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Nos cellules communiquent entre elles

© AdobeStock

Chaque jour, votre corps accomplit des tâches complexes. Qu’il s’agisse de maintenir votre température corporelle ou d’éloigner votre main d’une source de chaleur, vos milliards de cellules font le nécessaire pour vous aider à exister. Cette forme de communication est un processus appelé signalisation cellulaire.

Le réseau nécessaire pour envoyer et recevoir ces messages est élaboré. Il requiert une armée de molécules pour diffuser le signal entre les cellules (molécules de signalisation). Les molécules de signalisation cellulaire se présentent sous plusieurs formes. Parfois, la signalisation se produit dans la cellule elle-même. Dans d’autres cas, les cellules envoient des messages aux voisins ou à d’autres cellules très éloignées. Ces signaux peuvent être des :

  • Composés chimiques (nutriments et toxines) ;
  • Impulsions électriques (neurotransmetteurs induisant des signaux électriques le long des nerfs) ;
  • Stimuli mécaniques (étirement de l’estomac pour signaler que vous êtes rassasié).

L’objectif est de répondre et s’adapter à l’environnement interne et externe. Ainsi, des voies de signalisation cellulaire fonctionnant correctement sont essentielles au maintien de la santé. Bref, lorsque les voies de signalisation cellulaire fonctionnent bien, votre corps fonctionne bien aussi. Et l’environnement – interne et externe – peut avoir un impact sur vos cellules.

Ces dernières nécessitent des conditions spécifiques pour que les réactions fonctionnent. Cela inclut une température, un pH et un état énergétique appropriés. Certaines habitudes de vie peuvent affecter négativement la signalisation cellulaire, comme une alimentation malsaine, un manque ou un excès d’exercice, des facteurs environnementaux, une exposition aux toxines et le processus normal de vieillissement.

Cependant, des recherches récentes ont montré qu’une vie saine et une alimentation riche en vitamines, minéraux, phytonutriments, antioxydants, protéines et bonnes graisses peuvent soutenir les voies de signalisation cellulaire.

Portez-vous bien. Jessica et Bruno

Source : Unlocking the secrets of cell signaling, National Library of Medicine

 

Plus de ces auteurs ? Cliquez sur leur photo ci-dessous.

Jessica Humphries & Bruno Saint-Hilaire

 

Jessica Humphries Bruno Saint-Hilaire88 Posts

Jessica Humphries est entraîneuse certifiée, coach santé et conceptrice de programmes d’entraînement physique en plein air offerts à longueur d’année. Diplômée de l’Université McGill, elle détient un baccalauréat en éducation physique et kinésiologie. - Bruno Saint-Hilaire est un professionnel de la santé qui a fait ses études universitaires en médecine sportive et nutritionnelle et administration des affaires. Ce qui le passionne depuis plus de 20 ans est d'accompagner sa clientèle très variée (enfants, adolescents et adultes) vers l'optimisation de leur santé afin de les aider à vivre au quotidien avec plus d'énergie et de vitalité. / Jessica Humphries is a certified natural trainer in functional fitness, yoga instructor, healthy lifestyle coach and the designer of year-round nature fitness training programs. She graduated from McGill University with a BEd in physical education and kinesiology. - Bruno Saint-Hilaire is a health professional who completed his university studies in sports and nutritional medicine and business administration. For more than 20 years his passion has been to accompany his wide range of clients (children, teens and adults) in the optimization of their health to help them live their daily lives with more energy and vitality. enerj.ca

1 Comment

  • Jovette Reply

    mai 30, 2021 at 9:08

    Tres instructif, merci

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password