Earn every run

© Tremblant

Alpine touring is in full growth mode in the Laurentians. More and more fans of the sport are choosing to climb “on skins” rather than use the chairlifts. Some people think they’re crazy; the climbers, however, believe they’re fortunate to keep warm and avoid the lift lines. There’s no question but that after the effort needed to get to the top, every run is well deserved.

Several terms, pretty well synonymous, are used for this winter activity: backcountry skiing, off-piste skiing, ski mountaineering (or skimo), split board and more. The traditional sealskins have now been replaced by synthetic skins that stick to the snow when climbing.

For the run downhill, whether in alpine skiing, telemark or snowboard equipment, you replace the bindings, tighten your boots and dress more warmly. The technical equipment varies with the desired use, the type of terrain and a preference between a less physically demanding climb versus a more challenging downhill run.

A popular festival

© Tremblant

One good opportunity to get started in alpine touring is by participating in the Festival Rando Alpine Tremblant presented by Smartwool, which will be held for the sixth time February 7 to 9, 2020.

The program offers several kinds of guided outings. Besides getting good advice, you can meet new people who like the outdoors. You can rent equipment onsite, notably at the Centre Aventure which provides the service all season.

Real fans of the sport satisfy their search for adventure with tougher forest touring outings or expeditions on winter fat bikes. One of the magic moments of the Festival Rando Alpine Tremblant is the night tour and fondue supper on the North Side.

Please note, too, that festival registration includes an annual alpine touring pass for Mont Tremblant Ski Resort, a contribution essential for trail maintenance and patrol service.

A new challenge

Skiers are trying alpine touring to see the mountain differently, stretch out the season and provide themselves with a new challenge, says Samuel Saint-Germain, manager at Daniel Lachance Ski Service.

This entrepreneur has watched the market change. “I’ve been selling sealskins for 15 years, but in the past five years sales have really exploded,” he remarks, mentioning in the next breath that sales of touring skis and split boards have increased whereas the demand for telemark skis and snowshoes is falling.

While it’s true that ski touring equipment remains more expensive than alpine ski equipment, the products are becoming increasingly affordable, particularly since the major ski brands have come on board.

A world to discover

Once they’re well equipped, the tourers have to plan their outing carefully. Obviously, it’s wiser to start on the resorts, such as Tremblant or Mont Blanc, where the trails are maintained and a hot soup is never far away. A few people whose names were chosen in a random draw will have their annual access to Mount Alta in Val-David, a former ski hill converted into a ski touring paradise with an altitude of 178 metres.

Before heading out on an adventure in some distant location where there would be the risk of avalanches, you are advised to take training in alpine technique, such as that available from par La Liberté Nord-Sud at the Montagne d’Argent.

Some clubs, such as the Chèvres de Montagne and the Vieilles Po, organize touring outings just for women, often including some hot wine or a campfire. There are a number of options available. The important thing is to be well supported, to stay dry and to have fun on the mountain!

Tremblant.ca

 

More from this author by clicking on her picture below.

Geneviève Huchette

 

Geneviève Huchette51 Posts

Geneviève Huchette a grandi à Montréal et a complété un baccalauréat en agronomie à McGill. Après ses études et quelques voyages, elle a atterri à Mont-Tremblant en 2008, d'abord pour un emploi sur une ferme biologique. Alors qu'elle continue de jardiner pour le plaisir, Geneviève travaille actuellement dans les domaines du yoga, de la vente au détail et de la rédaction. Dans ses temps libres, elle adore les sports en montagne, les jeux de société et jouer de la musique. Geneviève Huchette grew up in Montreal and completed a bachelor degree in Environmental and Agricultural Sciences at McGill University. After years of studying and travelling, she landed in Mont Tremblant in 2008, first to work on an organic farm. Although she still enjoys gardening for fun, Genevieve presently works in various domains: yoga, retail and writing. In her leisure time, she likes mountain sports, board games and playing music.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Mériter chaque descente

© Tremblant

La randonnée alpine est en plein essor dans les Laurentides. De plus en plus d’adeptes choisissent de monter « en peaux » au lieu d’utiliser les télésièges. Certains les trouvent fous alors qu’ils se considèrent privilégiés de se maintenir au chaud et d’éviter les files d’attente. Nul doute qu’après l’effort requis pour atteindre le sommet, chaque descente est bien méritée.

Plusieurs termes, quasi synonymes, réfèrent à cette activité hivernale: ski de rando, ski de haute route, touring, skimo, split board, hors-piste, etc. Les traditionnelles peaux de phoque sont de nos jours remplacées par des peaux synthétiques qui adhèrent bien à la neige lors de l’ascension.

Pour la descente, que ce soit en ski alpin, en télémark ou en planche à neige, on enlève les peaux, on replace les fixations, on resserre les bottes et on s’habille plus chaudement. L’équipement technique varie selon l’utilisation voulue, le type de terrain et la préférence entre une ascension plus légère ou une descente plus performante.

Un festival rassembleur

© Tremblant

Une belle occasion de s’initier à la randonnée alpine est de participer au Festival Rando Alpine Tremblant présenté par Smartwool qui en sera à sa 6e édition du 7 au 9 février prochain.

La programmation diversifiée propose plusieurs sorties guidées. En plus d’y trouver de judicieux conseils, on peut y rencontrer de nouveaux partenaires de plein air. Il est possible de louer de l’équipement sur place, notamment au Centre Aventure qui offre ce service pendant toute la saison.

Les mordus y étanchent aussi leur soif d’aventure avec des randonnées en forêt plus ardues ou des sorties à vélo de montagne d’hiver (fatbike). Un des moments magiques du Festival Rando Alpine Tremblant est la randonnée nocturne et son souper fondue au Versant Nord.

À noter que l’inscription au festival inclut la passe annuelle de rando alpine à Station Mont Tremblant, une contribution essentielle à l’entretien des sentiers et au service de patrouille.

Un nouveau défi

Les skieurs se tournent vers la randonnée alpine pour voir la montagne différemment, allonger la saison et se donner un nouveau défi, constate Samuel Saint-Germain, gérant chez Daniel Lachance Ski Service.

Cet entrepreneur a vu le marché se transformer. « Je vends des peaux de phoque depuis 15 ans, mais depuis 5 ans, ça a vraiment explosé », remarque-t-il, soulignant du même souffle que les ventes et les locations de skis de randonnée et de split boards ont augmenté alors que les télémarks et les raquettes sont moins en demande.

Bien que l’équipement de ski touring reste plus dispendieux que le ski alpin, les produits deviennent de plus en plus abordables, surtout depuis que les grandes marques de ski se sont mises de la partie.

Un monde à découvrir

Une fois bien équipés, les randonneurs doivent bien planifier leur sortie. Il est évidemment plus sage de commencer sur des stations de ski, comme Tremblant ou Mont Blanc, où les pistes sont entretenues et où une soupe chaude n’est jamais bien loin. Quelques chanceux tirés au sort obtiendront leur accès annuel au mont Alta à Val-David, un ancien mont de ski converti en paradis du touring sur un dénivelé de 178 m.

Avant de s’aventurer en zone éloignée où il y aurait des risques d’avalanche, il est conseillé de suivre une formation en techniques alpines, comme celle dispensée par La Liberté Nord-Sud à la Montagne d’Argent.

Certains clubs, comme les Chèvres de Montagne et les Vieilles Po, organisent des randonnées exclusives aux femmes, souvent agrémentées de vin chaud ou d’un feu de camp. Plusieurs options s’offrent à vous. L’important est d’être bien accompagnés, de rester au sec et de bien s’amuser sur la montagne!

Tremblant.ca

 

Plus de cette auteure ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Geneviève Huchette

 

Geneviève Huchette51 Posts

Geneviève Huchette a grandi à Montréal et a complété un baccalauréat en agronomie à McGill. Après ses études et quelques voyages, elle a atterri à Mont-Tremblant en 2008, d'abord pour un emploi sur une ferme biologique. Alors qu'elle continue de jardiner pour le plaisir, Geneviève travaille actuellement dans les domaines du yoga, de la vente au détail et de la rédaction. Dans ses temps libres, elle adore les sports en montagne, les jeux de société et jouer de la musique. Geneviève Huchette grew up in Montreal and completed a bachelor degree in Environmental and Agricultural Sciences at McGill University. After years of studying and travelling, she landed in Mont Tremblant in 2008, first to work on an organic farm. Although she still enjoys gardening for fun, Genevieve presently works in various domains: yoga, retail and writing. In her leisure time, she likes mountain sports, board games and playing music.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password