Mary Ryan, Tremblant pioneer

Born Mary Rutherford in 1906, in the small town of Paoli, Pennsylvania, Mary Rutherford met and married Joe Ryan in New York. She visited Mont-Tremblant for the first time in 1940 and settled there with her young children, Peter and Seddon, in 1942.

This woman, who knew the rich cultural life of New York and who had, thanks to her husband’s fortune, access to all it had to offer, found herself in a region with almost none of the comforts of modern life.

At the foot of the slopes, everything was still to be built: the roads, hotel, village…not to mention the basic infrastructure that would provide running water.

When her husband died in the fall of 1950, Mary Ryan inherited a ski area, no less. It was quite a challenge, but she didn’t hesitate to take over the reins.

At the time, women did not head up big businesses, but from the beginning she brought a delicate, refined touch that attracted an exclusive clientele looking for something new.

She soon took charge of the details: the style of the little village at the foot of the slopes, the customer service, the dining room, the chef, decoration of the small chalets and the common areas. The spaces were not necessarily luxurious, but they were comfortable, cosy, and rich in colour and personality.

The cornerstone: the team

In the year that followed the death of her husband, Madame Mary (as she was called) was approached by investors who wanted to purchase the ski centre. After all, why would a woman on her own in the back of beyond want to pursue the dream of her deceased husband?

She refused the offer for two reasons.

In the first place, the offer was ridiculous. In the second, she recognized and appreciated the talent of the people around her, and she remained confident that she had the ability to bring Joe Ryan’s dream to fruition thanks to the management and operations team he had put together.

Mary Ryan

The beginnings of sustainable development

When he first arrived, Mr. Ryan had acquired an immense piece of land, some of which was located at the southern end of lac Tremblant. During the ‘50s, Mary Ryan instituted a zoning project to ensure protection of the beauty of the lake and its shores.

Future owners of these lots had to respect the space allocated for construction, limit the number of trees felled and keep their buildings a certain distance from the water’s edge. The initiative was largely responsible for preserving the magnificence of our lake.

The elite of skiing: the basis for Tremblant’s fame

Mme Ryan was also responsible for activities on the mountain and she encouraged skiing competitions. She invited international-class racers to participate in the competitions held at Mont Tremblant.

At the time, there were three important competitions: the Québec Kandahar, the Ryan Cup, in honour of Mr. Ryan, and the Taschereau Cup. Mme Ryan knew very well that the quality and calibre of these competitors had a direct influence on perception of the quality of the slopes and the importance of her ski centre.

The businesswoman

Even at the end of the ‘50s, ski centres depended on the temperatures. Mme Ryan was not a great skier, but she was an excellent businesswoman. She realized that if the slopes were in bad shape in January and February, where the hotels were full, the cash flow suffered.

So she took out a “snow insurance” policy with Lloyd’s of London thanks to data permitting the establishment of a snowfall model. In this way, she ensured that during difficult periods, Tremblant wasn’t operating without a net.

It was, of course, before the magic of artificial snow.

I take my hat off to Mme Mary Rutherford Ryan, a true pioneer who was able to meet an incredible challenge in an era reserved for men. She managed to distinguish herself in a remarkable manner and succeed in spite of the pitfalls.

This woman, with her sense of hospitality, her good taste and her elegance contributed greatly to the legend that Mont Tremblant became.

 

By the same author: The forgotten: Osias Ouimet (Click the image below)

 

Peter Duncan72 Posts

Membre de l’équipe canadienne de ski alpin de 1960 à 1971, skieur professionnel de 1971 à 1979 et champion américain en 1965, Peter Duncan a participé aux Jeux olympiques de 1964 à Innsbruck ainsi qu’à ceux de 1968 à Grenoble. Intronisé au Temple de la renommée du ski au Canada, au Panthéon des sports du Québec et récipiendaire de la médaille du gouverneur général, Peter a longtemps été commentateur de ski à la télévision./ Peter Duncan is a Canadian former alpine skier who competed in the 1964 and the 1968 Winter Olympics. He was named to the Canadian National Alpine Team in 1960 at the age of 16 and competed at the national level for the next 10-years until 1970 before retiring.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Mary Ryan, pionnière de Tremblant

Née Mary Rutherford en 1906, dans la petite ville de Paoli, en Pennsylvanie, Mary rencontra et épousa Joe Ryan à New York. Elle visita pour la première fois Mont-Tremblant en 1940 et s’y installa avec ses jeunes enfants Peter et Seddon, en 1942.

Cette femme, qui connaissait la vie riche en culture qu’offrait New York et qui avait, grâce à la fortune de son mari, accès à tout ce que celle-ci pouvait offrir, se retrouva dans une région en mal de modernité.

Aux pieds des pentes, tout était à construire; les routes, l’hôtel, le village, sans oublier les infrastructures permettant l’accès à l’eau courante.

À la mort de son mari, à l’automne 1950, Mme Ryan hérita d’un centre de ski, rien de moins. Le défi fût considérable, mais elle n’hésita pas une seconde à en prendre les rênes.

À l’époque, les femmes ne se retrouvaient pas à la tête de grandes entreprises, mais dès le départ, elle y apporta une touche délicate et raffinée qui attira une clientèle exclusive à la recherche de nouveauté.

Elle se concentra rapidement sur les détails : le style du petit village au pied des pentes, le service à la clientèle, la salle à manger, le chef cuisinier, la décoration des petits chalets et des aires communes. Ces espaces n’étaient pas nécessairement luxueux, mais confortables, chaleureux, riches en couleurs et en personnalité.

La pierre angulaire : l’équipe

L’année qui suivit le décès de son mari, Mme Mary (on l’appelait ainsi) fut approchée par des investisseurs désireux de faire l’acquisition du centre de ski. Après tout, pourquoi une femme seule au bout du monde voudrait-elle poursuivre le rêve de feu son époux ?

Elle refusa l’offre pour deux raisons.

Premièrement, cette dernière était dérisoire. Deuxièmement, Mme Ryan savait reconnaitre et apprécier le talent des personnes qui l’entouraient, et elle demeurait persuadée qu’elle avait les capacités de mener à terme le rêve de Joe Ryan grâce à l’équipe de gestion et d’opérations que celui-ci avait constituée.

Mary Ryan

Les prémices du développement durable

À son arrivée, M. Ryan s’était porté acquéreur d’un immense territoire dont une partie était située sur le bout sud du lac Tremblant. Au cours des années 50, Mary Ryan institua un projet de zonage pour assurer la protection de la beauté du lac et de ses rives.

Les futurs propriétaires de ces terrains devaient respecter l’espace alloué pour la construction, se limiter dans le nombre d’arbres abattus et garder une distance du bord de l’eau. Une initiative qui a grandement servi la préservation de notre magnifique lac.

L’élite du ski, à l’origine de la notoriété de Tremblant

Mme Ryan était également responsable des activités sur la montagne et elle encourageait les compétitions de ski. Elle invitait des coureurs de calibre international à participer aux compétitions tenues à Mont-Tremblant.

À cette époque, il y en avait trois d’importance : la Québec Kandahar, la coupe Ryan, en l’honneur de M. Ryan, et la coupe Taschereau. Mme Ryan savait très bien que la qualité et le calibre de ces compétiteurs avaient une incidence directe sur la perception de la qualité des pentes et de l’importance de son centre de ski.

La femme d’affaires

Même à la fin des années 50, les centres de ski étaient tributaires de la température. Mme Ryan n’était pas une grande skieuse, mais elle était une excellente femme d’affaires.

Elle réalisait que si les pentes étaient en mauvais état en janvier et en février, alors que les hôtels affichaient complet, la caisse en souffrait. Elle s’est donc munie d’une police d’assurance « neige » avec la Lloyd’s of London grâce à des données permettant d’établir un modèle des chutes de neige.

Ainsi, elle s’est assurée que pendant les périodes difficiles, Tremblant ne fonctionnait pas sans filet. C’était bien sûr avant la magie de la neige artificielle.

Je lève mon chapeau à Mme Mary Rutherford Ryan, une véritable pionnière qui sut relever un défi incroyable dans une époque réservée aux hommes. Elle a su se démarquer de façon remarquable et réussir malgré les embuches.

Cette femme, avec son sens de l’hospitalité, son bon gout et son élégance a grandement contribué à la légende qu’est devenu le mont Tremblant.

 

Du même auteur : Les oubliés: Osias Ouimet (Cliquez sur l’image)

 

Peter Duncan68 Posts

Membre de l’équipe canadienne de ski alpin de 1960 à 1971, skieur professionnel de 1971 à 1979 et champion américain en 1965, Peter Duncan a participé aux Jeux olympiques de 1964 à Innsbruck ainsi qu’à ceux de 1968 à Grenoble. Intronisé au Temple de la renommée du ski au Canada, au Panthéon des sports du Québec et récipiendaire de la médaille du gouverneur général, Peter a longtemps été commentateur de ski à la télévision./ Peter Duncan is a Canadian former alpine skier who competed in the 1964 and the 1968 Winter Olympics. He was named to the Canadian National Alpine Team in 1960 at the age of 16 and competed at the national level for the next 10-years until 1970 before retiring.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password