Hotel Mont-Tremblant, almost 120 years of history

If walls could talk …

In villages, towns and cities, the only true witnesses to the past are buildings: the post offices, churches, schools, and … hotels. The hotel called the Lac Mercier Inn, now Hôtel Mont Tremblant, was built in 1902 by Joseph Dufour on the site of a place originally created by Canadian Pacific to lodge its employees.

From the chemicals industry to outdoor tourism

In 1906, A.D Gall Petroleum and Chemical settled in Lac Mercier. It was absorbed in 1910 by the Standard Chemical Co. The hotel accommodated travellers but also employees of Standard Chemical Co., which conducted pyrolysis of wood. The acetone it produced was exported to England to make the cordite used during WWI.

Innovation and heavy competition led to the factory’s closure in 1926. During this period, the hotel had several owners. Mr. Dufour had sold it to François Archambault, who sold him back the property in September 1905. A week later, he sold the hotel to Wilfrid Guay and his wife Donalda Renaud, from Annonciation.

Wilfrid and Donalda Guay are recognized as the first true local hoteliers. The village of Lac Mercier was slowly transformed thanks to outdoor tourism. The Lac Mercier Inn was perfectly positioned close to the train station. Lac Mercier, a considerable attraction, had a magnificent sand beach.

Roger Baervoets and his daughter Denise. © Courtoisie

After 50 years of existence

Over subsequent years, the hotel saw numerous owners until it was purchased by Roger Baervoets. Born in 1900 in Brussels, Roger Baervoets came from a family of hoteliers.

I remember the hotel when I started first grade in 1950 at the school of the Sainte-Croix nuns. Roger Baervoets had learned his craft in the grand hotels of the French west coast as far as Biarritz. He was experienced and spoke five languages when he decided to explore America.

He settled first in New York, where an acquaintance offered him the opportunity to work in Montreal. It was in the Windsor hotel on Peel Street that he built his reputation. He was soon offered the job of assistant manager at the Mont Royal hotel close to Windsor station.

This was when he met his wife, Lucille Senecal of Sainte-Thérèse. They were to have three children: Denise, Guy and Jean. Roger Baervoets then bought the Manoir Comeau in Baie Comeau with an associate.

During a family visit to Montreal, he learned that Hôtel Mont-Tremblant was for sale. The owner Mr. Arpin, president of France Film, didn’t have time to manage it and was delighted to find a purchaser.

After 50 years of existence, the hotel was now in the hands of a professional.

Project of a lifetime for Roger and Lucille Baevoets

The entire family settled in the region. The hotel became a lifelong project for Roger and Lucille. Their daughter Denise married Réal Charette, the famous director of the Snow Eagle ski school at Gray Rocks. Guy developed an excellent reputation as a skier and became director of several ski schools in Québec and British Columbia.

The youngest, Jean, a classmate of mine, followed in his father’s footsteps. He became manager of major hotels in Montreal and the Lower Laurentians.

© Courtoisie

High points and low, but no shipwreck

In 1972, Roger Baervoets sold the hotel to Roy Featherstone Ha, the former owner of the Pointe du Rocher hotel on the other side of Lac Mercier. The hotel had some tough years and Featherstone Ha had to leave.

In 1980, Guy Dubois, Raymond Hotte, Daniel Larente and Denis Valiquette, a local group of young entrepreneurs, decided to bring it back to life. Due to neglect in previous years, investment was required.

Each man had a specific role and also kept his day job to bring the project to fruition. In 1982, Daniel Larente pulled out and Pierre Gratton joined the group.

The project was substantial and the shareholders agreed that it was a full-time job. Guy Dubois and Raymond Hotte became the owners of Hôtel Mont-Tremblant.

With a great deal of imagination and limited budgets, they enhanced the value and remade the image of the place, which attracted both tourists and locals looking for a good quality, affordable place to stay.

With military precision …

The arrival of Intrawest at the mountain breathed new life into the region. In 1999, Philippe Laudat, experienced restaurateur and hotelier, became the new owner of Hôtel Mont-Tremblant. With his rigour as a former military officer, he established his own way of doing things. His restaurant had an excellent reputation and attracted a new clientele.

In May 2009, Philippe Laudat in turn sold the hotel to David Inness and Malikie O’Connor, who transformed the restaurant into an Irish pub. In 2010, the hotel was sold back to Philippe Laudat. With patience, passion and energy he sorted out the business and ran it until 2017.

The history of Hôtel Mont-Tremblant is an asset

The new owner, Marie-Josée Labbé, is a woman of commitment for whom the history of her establishment is an asset. With an education in the hotel business, she knows how to warmly welcome her guests from afar, and welcome her local customers as old friends. I don’t know if walls can talk, but I’m sure that today, the walls of Hôtel Mont-Tremblant are smiling.

 

More from this author by clicking on his photo below.

Peter Duncan

 

Peter Duncan54 Posts

Membre de l’équipe canadienne de ski alpin de 1960 à 1971, skieur professionnel de 1971 à 1979 et champion américain en 1965, Peter Duncan a participé aux Jeux olympiques de 1964 à Innsbruck ainsi qu’à ceux de 1968 à Grenoble. Intronisé au Temple de la renommée du ski au Canada, au Panthéon des sports du Québec et récipiendaire de la médaille du gouverneur général, Peter a longtemps été commentateur de ski à la télévision./ Peter Duncan is a Canadian former alpine skier who competed in the 1964 and the 1968 Winter Olympics. He was named to the Canadian National Alpine Team in 1960 at the age of 16 and competed at the national level for the next 10-years until 1970 before retiring.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

L’Hôtel Mont-Tremblant, près de 120 ans d’histoire

Si les murs pouvaient parler…

Dans les villages comme dans les villes, les seuls véritables témoins du passé sont les bâtisses tels les bureaux de poste, les églises, les écoles et… les hôtels. L’hôtel Lac Mercier Inn, aujourd’hui Hôtel Mont-Tremblant, a été érigé en 1902 par Joseph Dufour sur le site d’un hébergement créé à l’origine par le Canadian Pacifique pour ses employés.

De l’industrie chimique au tourisme de plein air

En 1906, la A.D. Gall Petroleum and Chemical s’installe au lac Mercier. Elle sera absorbée en 1910 par la Standard Chemical Co. L’hôtel loge des voyageurs mais également des travailleurs de la Standard Chemical Co. dont la production repose sur la pyrolyse du bois. L’acétone produite est exportée en Angleterre pour fabriquer de la cordite pendant la Grande Guerre.

L’innovation et la forte concurrence entraînera la fermeture de l’usine en 1926. Pendant ce temps, l’hôtel passe entre les mains de quelques propriétaires. M. Dufour avait vendu à François Archambault qui lui rétrocède la propriété en septembre 1905. Une semaine plus tard, il vend à nouveau l’hôtel à Wilfrid Guay et son épouse Donalda Renaud, citoyens de l’Annonciation.

Wilfrid et Donalda Guay sont reconnu comme les premiers véritables hôteliers de la place. Le village du lac Mercier se transforme lentement grâce au tourisme de plein air. L’hôtel Lac Mercier Inn est idéalement placé près de la gare. Attrait non négligeable, le lac Mercier est doté d’une magnifique plage sablonneuse.

Roger Baervoets et sa fille Denise. © Courtoisie

Après 50 ans d’existence

Les années suivantes, l’hôtel verra défiler de nombreux propriétaires jusqu’à la reprise par Roger Baervoets. Né en 1900 à Bruxelles, Roger Baervoets est issu d’une famille d’hôteliers.

Je me souviens de l’hôtel alors que je commençais à fréquenter l’école primaire en 1950 chez les sœurs Sainte-Croix. Roger Baervoets a fait ses classes dans les grands hôtels de la côte Ouest française jusqu’à Biarritz.

Il a de l’expérience et parle cinq langues lorsqu’il décide de s’aventurer en Amérique. D’abord installé à New-York, une connaissance lui offre l’opportunité de travailler à Montréal.

C’est à l’hôtel Windsor sur la rue Peel qu’il bâtit sa réputation. Il se voit bientôt offrir la position d’assistant gérant à l’hôtel Mont Royal tout près de la gare Windsor.

À cette époque, il rencontre son épouse Lucille Senecal de Sainte-Thérèse. Ils auront trois enfants : Denise, Guy et Jean. Roger Baervoets fait alors l’acquisition du Manoir Comeau à Baie Comeau avec un associé.

Lors d’une visite familiale à Montréal, il apprend que l’Hôtel Mont-Tremblant est à vendre. Le propriétaire M. Arpin, président de France Film, n’a pas le temps de le gérer et il est ravi de trouver un acquéreur.

Après 50 ans d’existence, l’hôtel est désormais entre les mains d’un professionnel.

Un projet de vie pour Roger et Lucille Baervoets

Toute la famille s’établit dans la région. L’hôtel devient un projet de vie pour Roger et Lucille. Leur fille Denise épouse le célèbre directeur de l’école de ski Snow Eagle de Gray Rocks, Réal Charette. Guy développe une réputation d’excellent skieur et sera directeur d’écoles de ski dans différents centres au Québec et en Colombie-Britannique. Le plus jeune, Jean, un compagnon de classe, suivra les traces de son père. Il sera directeur de grands hôtels à Montréal et dans les Basses-Laurentides.

© Courtoisie

Des hauts et des bas, mais pas de naufrage

En 1972, Roger Baervoets vend l’hôtel à Roy Featherstone Ha, ancien propriétaire de l’hôtel Pointe du Rocher situé de l’autre côté du lac Mercier. L’hôtel connaît des années difficiles et Featherstone Ha doit s’en départir.

En 1980, Guy Dubois, Raymond Hotte, Daniel Larente et Denis Valiquette, un groupe de jeunes entrepreneurs locaux, décident de le faire revivre.

L’hôtel ayant été négligé au cours des dernières années, l’investissement est conséquent. Chacun a un rôle précis et conserve son emploi pour mener le projet à terme.

En 1982, Daniel Larente se retire et Pierre Gratton rejoint le groupe. Le projet est lourd et les actionnaires conviennent qu’il s’agit d’une occupation à temps plein.

Guy Dubois et Raymond Hotte deviennent propriétaires de l’Hôtel Mont-Tremblant. Avec beaucoup d’imagination et des budgets limités, ils redorent le blason de l’endroit qui attirera les touristes comme les locaux à la recherche d’un hébergement de qualité et abordable.

Une rigueur toute militaire

L’arrivée d’Intrawest à la montagne donne un nouveau souffle à la région. En 1999, Philippe Laudat, restaurateur et hôtelier chevronné, devient le nouveau propriétaire de l’Hôtel Mont-Tremblant. Avec sa rigueur d’ancien militaire, il instaure sa façon de faire. Sa table connaît une excellente réputation et amène une nouvelle clientèle.

En mai 2009, c’est au tour de Philippe Laudat de vendre l’hôtel à David Inness et Malikie O’Connor qui transformeront le restaurant en pub irlandais. En 2010, l’hôtel est rétrocédé à Philippe Laudat. Avec patience, passion et énergie il redresse le commerce et l’exploite jusqu’en 2017.

L’historique de l’Hôtel Mont-Tremblant est un atout

Place à la nouvelle propriétaire, Marie-Josée Labbé, une femme engagée pour qui l’historique de son établissement est un atout. Forte d’une formation en hôtellerie, elle sait accueillir sa clientèle de l’extérieur avec convivialité et sa clientèle locale comme de vieux amis. Je ne sais pas si les murs peuvent parler, mais je suis certain qu’aujourd’hui, les murs de l’Hôtel Mont-Tremblant sourient.

 

Plus de cet auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Peter Duncan

 

Peter Duncan62 Posts

Membre de l’équipe canadienne de ski alpin de 1960 à 1971, skieur professionnel de 1971 à 1979 et champion américain en 1965, Peter Duncan a participé aux Jeux olympiques de 1964 à Innsbruck ainsi qu’à ceux de 1968 à Grenoble. Intronisé au Temple de la renommée du ski au Canada, au Panthéon des sports du Québec et récipiendaire de la médaille du gouverneur général, Peter a longtemps été commentateur de ski à la télévision./ Peter Duncan is a Canadian former alpine skier who competed in the 1964 and the 1968 Winter Olympics. He was named to the Canadian National Alpine Team in 1960 at the age of 16 and competed at the national level for the next 10-years until 1970 before retiring.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password