The team spirit of the Canada goose

©AdobeStock

In 1995, at the Jakarta conference, the countries that were signatory to the United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity chose Montreal to be the headquarters for the secretariat of this important convention. Following this diplomatic success, Environment Canada honoured Canadian members of the delegation by bestowing the “Canada Goose” award to underline the result of our teamwork.

©AdobeStock

The Canada goose does actually owe its successful survival to cooperation and mutual assistance. Here are a few examples. In the spring and fall, during the great migratory gatherings – and even in summer and winter – the Canada geese often assemble in fields to feed.

Typically, a few individual geese keep their heads up to monitor the surroundings while the others feed. These sentries honk loudly at the least hint of trouble. During incubation and while the goslings are small, one parent will take its turn monitoring the situation while the other rests, feeds, or incubates the eggs.

After the young hatch, the parents and goslings from several clutches get together and form creches (and the same phenomenon is also seen in other bird species such as the wild turkey or eider duck). Supervision of the young and their initiation in finding food is thus shared by all the parents who are present.

It’s during the big migrations that the teamwork of the Canada geese is most spectacular. The birds fly in formation, one after the other, creating the immense characteristic V. The fittest birds take turns heading the peloton, with the others following in their wake, saving energy.

The geese can, in this way, fly at an average speed of 50 to 65 km/h and travel more than 2,400 km in a single day. Like the Canada geese, cyclists have understood the advantage of travelling in a peloton.

Let’s follow the example of the Canada goose to show the value of team spirit. After all, “If you want to go fast, go alone; if you want to go far, go together”. animalium.ca

 

By the same author: Those elegant weasels (Click the image below)

 

Jacques Prescott71 Posts

Jacques Prescott est biologiste, professeur associé à la Chaire en éco-conseil de l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi et co-fondateur de l’Animalium, le musée zoologique de Mont-Tremblant. Spécialiste de la biodiversité et du développement durable, il est l’auteur de nombreux livres et articles sur la faune et la conservation de la nature. Il nous fait l’honneur de rejoindre notre équipe de collaborateurs et signera chaque mois une chronique intitulée Faune et flore. / Jacques Prescott is a biologist, associate professor with the Chair in Eco-Counselling of the Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, and co-founder of Animalium, the zoological museum of Mont-Tremblant. A specialist in biodiversity and sustainable development, he is the author of numerous books and articles about wildlife and nature conservation. He has honoured us by joining our team of contributors and will write a monthly column entitled Wildlife and Habitat.

Those elegant weasels

The snowbound snowshoe hare

Do predators kill for fun?

The ingenious beaver

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

L’esprit d’équipe de la bernache du Canada

©AdobeStock

En 1995, lors de la conférence de Jakarta, les pays signataires de la Convention des Nations Unies sur la diversité biologique choisissaient Montréal comme siège du secrétariat de cette importante convention. À la suite de ce succès diplomatique, Environnement Canada décernait aux membres de la délégation canadienne le prix « Canada Goose » pour souligner le résultat de notre travail d’équipe.

La bernache du Canada doit en effet le succès de sa survie à la coopération et à l’entraide. En voici quelques exemples. Au printemps et à l’automne, lors des grands rassemblements migratoires, et même durant l’été et en hiver, les bernaches se réunissent souvent dans les champs ou les parterres pour se nourrir.

©AdobeStock

Typiquement, quelques individus gardent la tête haute et surveillent les alentours pendant que leurs congénères s’alimentent. Ces sentinelles attentives poussent des cris stridents à la moindre alerte. Pendant la couvaison et l’élevage des oisillons, les parents jouent tour à tour ce rôle de surveillant pendant que l’autre se repose, s’alimente ou couve les œufs.

Suivant la naissance des petits, les parents et les oisillons de plusieurs couvées s’assemblent et forment des crèches (un tel phénomène est aussi observé chez d’autres oiseaux comme le dindon sauvage ou l’eider à duvet). La surveillance des jeunes et leur initiation à la recherche de nourriture sont ainsi partagées par l’ensemble des parents concernés.

C’est au moment des grandes migrations que le travail d’équipe des bernaches est le plus spectaculaire. Ces oiseaux volent en formation l’un derrière l’autre, formant d’immenses V caractéristiques. Les oiseaux les plus en forme prennent tour à tour la tête du peloton, les autres suivent dans leur sillon, économisant leur énergie.

Les bernaches peuvent ainsi voler à une vitesse moyenne de 50 à 65 km/h et franchir plus de 2 400 km en une seule journée. Comme les bernaches, les cyclistes ont bien compris l’avantage de rouler en peloton.

Prenons exemple de la bernache du Canada pour valoriser l’esprit d’équipe. Ne dit-on pas : « Seul on peut peut-être aller plus vite, mais ensemble on va plus loin ». animalium.ca

 

Du même auteur : Élégantes belettes (cliquez sur l’image)

 

Jacques Prescott81 Posts

Jacques Prescott est biologiste, professeur associé à la Chaire en éco-conseil de l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi et co-fondateur de l’Animalium, le musée zoologique de Mont-Tremblant. Spécialiste de la biodiversité et du développement durable, il est l’auteur de nombreux livres et articles sur la faune et la conservation de la nature. Il nous fait l’honneur de rejoindre notre équipe de collaborateurs et signera chaque mois une chronique intitulée Faune et flore. / Jacques Prescott is a biologist, associate professor with the Chair in Eco-Counselling of the Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, and co-founder of Animalium, the zoological museum of Mont-Tremblant. A specialist in biodiversity and sustainable development, he is the author of numerous books and articles about wildlife and nature conservation. He has honoured us by joining our team of contributors and will write a monthly column entitled Wildlife and Habitat.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password