The secrets of Lac Raynaud

©GuillaumeVincent

Did you know that Lac Raynaud is a headwater lake and that it flows into two of this region’s important watersheds: Lac Ouimet and the Diable River? A headwater lake is a lake that extends into the upper part of a catchment basin and is almost exclusively fed by rain and underground springs.

The volume of underground water is renewed by precipitation in the form of rain or snow. A significant part of precipitation does not, however, reach the groundwater; it tends to flow towards streams, to evaporate or to be used by vegetation.

The reason why the parking area was moved

In 2019, a hydrogeological study was done by a firm specializing in landscape architecture, urban design and town planning. Unfortunately, the parking area close to the beach and the Wheeler pavilion drained part of the normal runoff, which carried with it a significant washout of fine materials that ended up in the lake. Traces of contamination were noted in the washout.

As a result of this analysis, the Domaine Saint-Bernard immediately set about closing and regenerating that parking area.

A fragile equilibrium

The Domaine Saint-Bernard is registered in the Environnement-Plage (Environment-Beach) program of the Ministère de l’Environnement of Québec. Six water samplings are done every two weeks. The results of the samplings indicate bacteriological classification, and the sampling program runs from mid-June till the end of August.

In August of this year, the sample had been taken following a heavy rain, which explained the high level of bacteria noted. Two days later another sample was taken and the rating of the beach this time was back to an A (excellent). We hope that this information will help you grasp the fragility of the equilibrium of our lakes.

 

Catherine Lemieux7 Posts

Adjointe à la directrice et cheffe des communications. Assistant of the director and head of the communication.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Les secrets du lac Raynaud

©GuillaumeVincent

Saviez-vous que le lac Raynaud est un lac de tête et qu’il se verse dans deux bassins importants de la région : le lac Ouimet et la rivière du Diable ? Un lac de tête est un lac s’étendant dans la partie supérieure d’un bassin hydrographique. Il est de ce fait presque exclusivement alimenté par la pluie ou des sources souterraines.

L’eau souterraine voit son volume renouvelé par les précipitations, sous forme de pluie ou de neige. Une partie importante des précipitations n’atteint cependant pas la nappe phréatique; elle ruisselle plutôt jusque dans les cours d’eau, s’évapore ou est captée par la végétation.

La raison du retrait du stationnement

En 2019, une étude en hydrogéologie a été exécutée par une firme spécialisée en architecture paysagée, design urbanistique et urbanisme. Malheureusement, le site du stationnement situé à proximité de la plage et du pavillon Wheeler draine une partie des eaux de ruissellement, ce qui entraîne un lessivage important de matériaux fins qui aboutissent dans le lac.

Des traces de contamination ont été décelées dans celui-ci. À la suite de cette analyse, le Domaine Saint-Bernard a tout de suite procédé à la fermeture et à la régénération du dit stationnement.

Un équilibre fragile

Le Domaine Saint-Bernard est inscrit au programme Environnement-Plage du ministère de l’Environnement du Québec. Six prélèvements d’eau sont donc effectués toutes les deux semaines. Le résultat de ces derniers indique une cote de classification bactériologique. La campagne d’échantillonnage se déroule chaque été de la mi-juin à la fin août.

En août dernier, un prélèvement avait été effectué à la suite d’une forte pluie, expliquant le haut taux de bactéries décelé. Deux jours plus tard, un nouveau prélèvement a été réalisé et la cote A (excellent) de la plage avait été rétablie. Nous espérons que ces informations vous auront aidé à cerner la fragilité de l’équilibre de nos lacs. Nous vous souhaitons un magnifique automne au Domaine !

 

Catherine Lemieux7 Posts

Adjointe à la directrice et cheffe des communications. Assistant of the director and head of the communication.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password