The dreaded ice saints

© AdobeStock

Well known to wine producers, the dates known as St-Mamert, St-Pancrace and St-Gervais – from May 11 to 13 – are the last days of the calendar for a frost capable of wiping out a year’s production. Paradoxically, in 2020 in Burgundy, the ice saints each deserved a votive offering for having spared the harvest and permitted an exceptional vintage.

SAQ 11293953 | 21,90 $

Ropiteau: Bourgogne Chardonnay 2020

Grown on a selection of Burgundy’s soils, this regional appellation chardonnay from the house of Ropiteau is generous. Ripe scents of apple-pear and grilled almonds reflect the warmth of the vintage. The smoothness makes the flavours last in the mouth and is accompanied by a particularly effective freshness.

Pairing it with a penne in creamy parmesan and butternut squash sauce, which relates beautifully to the mellow and balanced mouth of this chardonnay, is close to a minor sin.

SAQ 710632 | 30,75 $

Umani Ronchi: Cùmaro 2016

South of Mont Coneri (The Marches – Italy), sheltered from cold winds but swept by Adriatic breezes, you’ll find these grapes: the highest quality montepulciano. Awarded the prestigious “Tre Bicchierri”, the Cùmaro is a foundational wine of Umani Ronchi. Purplish red in colour, it seduces the nose with complex aromas of plum, black currant, black olives, long peppers, roasting and cocoa.

The mouth is juicy with deep, ropy black fruits and an overlay of enticing tannins. In other words, it’s flexible enough to team with glazed duck legs.

SAQ 14019790 | 18,50 $

Les Tètes: Tète Blanche

A last-minute discovery…. A wine from the Loire, an assemblage of chemin, roussanne and sauvignon blanc, grown organically and despite the absence of the year of vintage: Les Têtes Tète Blanche is indisputably a lovely white, as crisp as you could want it, light and digestible.

 

More from this author by clicking on his photo below.

Franck Lizotte

 

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Les redoutés saints de glaces

© AdobeStock

Bien connus des viticulteurs, St-Mamert, St-Pancrace et St-Gervais – du 11 au 13 mai – sont les derniers jours de gel capables d’anéantir une production, surtout les années où le cycle végétatif est précoce. Paradoxalement, en 2020, en Bourgogne, les saints de glace mériteraient chacun un ex-voto pour avoir épargné la récolte et permis un millésime d’exception.

SAQ 11293953 | 21,90 $

Ropiteau : Bourgogne Chardonnay 2020

Issu d’une sélection de sols bourguignons, le chardonnay d’appellation régional de la maison Ropiteau donne dans la générosité. Les arômes mûrs de pomme-poire et d’amande grillée reflètent la chaleur du millésime. L’onctuosité fait perdurer les saveurs en bouche, le tout accompagné d’une fraicheur particulièrement efficace.

L’accord gourmand de penne sauce crémeuse parmesan et courge butternut alliées à la bouche suave et équilibrée de ce chardonnay s’inscrit comme péché mignon.

SAQ 710632 | 30,75 $

Umani Ronchi : Cùmaro 2016

C’est au sud du mont Conero (Les Marches – Italie), à l’abri des vents froids, mais balayés par les brises de l’Adriatique, que se cachent les grappes les plus qualitatives de montepulciano. Décoré de la prestigieuse ‘’Tre Bicchierri‘’, le Cùmaro est l’un des vins fondateurs d’Umani Ronchi. Habillé d’un rouge pourpre, il poursuit sa lancée en chatouillant le bulbe olfactif d’arômes complexes de prune, de cassis, d’olives noires, de poivres longs, de torréfaction et de cacao.

La bouche est juteuse sur le fruit noir profond et charnu ; superposée de tanins racoleurs. Somme toute, assez souple pour faire équipe avec des pilons de canards laqués.

SAQ 14019790 | 18,50 $

Les Tètes : Tète Blanche

Découverte de dernière heure… En provenance de la Loire, assemblage de chenin, de roussanne et de sauvignon blanc, conduit en agriculture biologique et malgré l’absence d’une mention de millésime cherchée en vain ; Les Têtes Tète Blanche est sans conteste le blanc sympathique, croquant à souhait, léger et digeste qui saura séduire les copains.

 

Plus du même auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Franck Lizotte

 

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password