The red squirrel: impudent and rowdy

Fall is a busy season for the red squirrel. Because it’s active all year round, it stores food in preparation for winter. Let’s take this opportunity to observe its comings and goings before the snow arrives. This typical denizen of the boreal forest relishes the seeds of coniferous trees, eating them after tearing off the covering scales.

A red squirrel will perch on a stump, tree trunk, branch or rock to take the cone apart and extract the seeds. The feeding sites are easily recognized thanks to the litter strewn around them.

Acorns, beechnuts, nuts, buds, flowers and berries are other favourite foods and if the opportunity arises, red squirrels may eat insects, eggs, baby birds or very young mammals still in the nest. They are particularly fond of mushrooms, which they sometimes place on a branch to dry out.

The red squirrel jealously defends its territory, in the midst of which is its main food storage site, recognizable thanks to the quantity of cones and debris accumulated under a big tree over the years, sometimes over several generations. Spontaneously, when an intruder or simply a hiker passes by, the rowdy rodent announces its presence by emitting a typical call, lasting a dozen or so seconds, which sounds like a rattle. Sometimes red squirrels living in neighbouring territories loot their neighbours’ reserves, leading to memorable, noisy quarrels.

In contrast to the grey squirrel, which places each bit of food in a separate hiding place, the red squirrel hides several in the same place. As a result it can, by digging a single tunnel in the snow, reach a quantity of food, a practice well adapted to the snowy climate of the northern forest.

While in summer it lives in a nest of leaves, the red squirrel spends the winter in a moss- or lichen-lined hole in a tree, or a burrow combined with a network of underground tunnels which allow it to stay warm.

Open your eyes, listen, and you’ll realize that this impudent rodent is one of the only mammals in the boreal forest to announce its presence in such a cheeky, obvious way, which makes it fun to observe.

animalium.ca

 

More from this author by clicking on his photo below.

Jacques Prescott

 

Jacques Prescott83 Posts

Jacques Prescott est biologiste, professeur associé à la Chaire en éco-conseil de l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi et co-fondateur de l’Animalium, le musée zoologique de Mont-Tremblant. Spécialiste de la biodiversité et du développement durable, il est l’auteur de nombreux livres et articles sur la faune et la conservation de la nature. Il nous fait l’honneur de rejoindre notre équipe de collaborateurs et signera chaque mois une chronique intitulée Faune et flore. / Jacques Prescott is a biologist, associate professor with the Chair in Eco-Counselling of the Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, and co-founder of Animalium, the zoological museum of Mont-Tremblant. A specialist in biodiversity and sustainable development, he is the author of numerous books and articles about wildlife and nature conservation. He has honoured us by joining our team of contributors and will write a monthly column entitled Wildlife and Habitat.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

L’écureuil roux, audacieux et tapageur

L’automne est une saison très animée pour l’écureuil roux. Puisqu’il reste actif toute l’année, il doit se constituer des réserves de nourriture en prévision de l’hiver. Profitons-en pour observer ses allées et venues avant les premières neiges. Cet habitant typique de la forêt boréale raffole des graines de conifères qu’il grignote après avoir arraché les écailles qui les recouvrent.

Il s’installe sur une souche, un tronc d’arbre, une branche ou une pierre pour décortiquer le cône et en extraire les graines. Ces sites d’alimentation sont facilement reconnaissables aux débris qui les jonchent.

Il aime aussi les glands, les faînes, les noix, les bourgeons, les fleurs et les petits fruits. Si l’occasion se présente, il peut manger des insectes, des œufs, des oisillons ou de très jeunes mammifères encore au nid. Il apprécie particulièrement les champignons qu’il dépose parfois sur une branche pour les faire sécher.

L’écureuil roux défend jalousement son territoire au centre duquel se trouve sa réserve alimentaire principale. On reconnaît ce lieu par la grande quantité de cônes et de débris souvent accumulés sous un grand arbre au cours des années, parfois sur plusieurs générations.

Spontanément, au passage d’un intrus ou d’un simple randonneur, ce rongeur tapageur annonce sa présence en poussant un cri typique d’une dizaine de secondes qui ressemble à un bruit de crécelle. Il arrive que les occupants de territoires voisins pillent les réserves des uns et des autres ce qui donne lieu à des querelles mémorables.

Contrairement à l’écureuil gris qui dépose chaque aliment dans une cachette distincte, l’écureuil roux en cache plusieurs au même endroit. Il peut ainsi, en creusant un seul tunnel dans la neige, rejoindre une quantité appréciable de nourriture, une pratique bien adaptée au climat neigeux de la forêt nordique.

Alors qu’en été il loge dans un nid de feuilles, l’écureuil roux passe l’hiver dans un trou d’arbre tapissé de mousse et de lichens ou un terrier jumelé à un réseau de galeries souterraines qui lui permettront de rester bien au chaud.

Ouvrez l’œil et tendez l’oreille, ce rongeur audacieux est l’un des seuls mammifères de la forêt boréale à manifester sa présence de manière aussi évidente, pour notre plus grand plaisir.

animalium.ca

 

Plus du même auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Jacques Prescott

 

Jacques Prescott83 Posts

Jacques Prescott est biologiste, professeur associé à la Chaire en éco-conseil de l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi et co-fondateur de l’Animalium, le musée zoologique de Mont-Tremblant. Spécialiste de la biodiversité et du développement durable, il est l’auteur de nombreux livres et articles sur la faune et la conservation de la nature. Il nous fait l’honneur de rejoindre notre équipe de collaborateurs et signera chaque mois une chronique intitulée Faune et flore. / Jacques Prescott is a biologist, associate professor with the Chair in Eco-Counselling of the Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, and co-founder of Animalium, the zoological museum of Mont-Tremblant. A specialist in biodiversity and sustainable development, he is the author of numerous books and articles about wildlife and nature conservation. He has honoured us by joining our team of contributors and will write a monthly column entitled Wildlife and Habitat.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password