A journey home

© Guillaume Vincent

Swimming well outside its natural habitat, a young humpback whale caused quite a sensation in Québec just over a year ago. It was an unprecedented journey. The whale swam up the St. Lawrence River, splashed past Quebec City and Trois-Rivières, and entered the Old Port of Montreal.

From late May to early June 2020, the large playful mammal captivated an audience glued to news stations as a global pandemic raged. Koko Lee, a curious yet disciplined 10-year-old child, was enchanted by the whale. She and her two siblings watched the journey unfold from their homeschool desks in Mont-Tremblant.

© Guillaume Vincent

On mandatory stay-at-home lockdown, they monitored the news reports that captured the amazing journey. The young whale dazzled all who saw her. But her sudden and unexplained death underscored our very fragile reality. The passing hit Koko hard.

Crafting a plan

An outstanding athlete, expert swimmer, avid sailor and a lover of all marine life, Koko wanted to pay tribute to this humpback whale by taking action. Koko was determined to find a way to reunite the young female whale’s spirit with her family.

Working with her parents, Koko mapped out a plan. She would return along the same path the whale followed. And she would do so with nothing to power her but the wind, and her courage.

Training for success

Focused training for her ambitious challenge began in earnest this spring. In May, the now 11-year-old Koko began biking 20 kilometres per day. She swam two to three kilometres a day. She sailed at Lac Mercier in Mont-Tremblant when there was wind to power her sails.

In June, with her father Raymond by her side, she upped her training regime. Each day included a 40-kilometre bike ride. She sailed whenever possible, completing a 13-kilometre test from Pointe-Claire to the Lachine lighthouse. In July, Koko navigated through five regions preparing herself and her small dinghy for the trip: Montreal, Sorel-Tracy, Trois-Rivières, Portneuf and Quebec City. She tested the cycling routes between Quebec City and Tadoussac. She confirmed sailing conditions on the St. Lawrence River.

All this in preparation for her journey later this month. Club de Natation Mont-Tremblant (CNMT) head swimming coach Loredana Horvat has worked with Koko for the past four years. “Koko has a remarkable work ethic, especially for someone so young,” Coach Horvat tells us, adding, “Koko excels in everything she does. She is strong and determined. I know that the spirit of the whale will carry her through this epic adventure.”

A daunting challenge

Over a year in the making, the journey begins this month. When the wind is just right, Koko will set off on a whale of a journey. Koko will bike 154 kilometres from Lac Mercier in Mont- Tremblant to Montréal. From there, she will launch her small Optimist dinghy and sail 250 kilometers down the St. Lawrence River from Parc de la Promenade-Bellerive to Québec City. Koko will then bike 220 kilometres from Quebec City to Tadoussac. A final launch of her dinghy to cross 30 kilometres of the St. Lawrence River will complete the reverse journey the whale swam last year.

It is a daunting plan – but one that she is determined to accomplish. In Koko’s own words, “I just want to take her home.”

Koko’s whale song

Koko hopes that her journey will help sharpen the focus on the world around us. She wants to bring awareness toward all living beings that are a part of our world. Koko reminds us “We share this world. We must help preserve it not just for humans, but for all beings we share it with.” It has been said that whales do not sing because they have an answer. They sing because they have a song.

Koko’s song is one of optimism. It is a song of a brave young girl with a strong and determined heart. With the wind at her back, Koko’s song will carry her and the spirit of the young whale safely back to the waters of Tadoussac.

 

More from this author by clicking on her photo below.

Cathy Bergman

 

Cathy Bergman58 Posts

Cathy Bergman est devenue athlète de façon inopinée à un âge relativement avancé. Elle nous montre qu’il n'est jamais trop tard pour retrouver la santé et la forme. Cathy Bergman is an accidental athlete who found health and fitness late in life. She shows us that is never too late to get healthy and fit.

Ask yourself why

Crazy delicious

Opportunity knocks

The power of community

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Le voyage de retour

© Guillaume Vincent

Il y a environ un an, tout le Québec était en émoi pour une jeune baleine à bosse qui s’était aventurée bien au-delà de son aire de vie naturelle. Son parcours avait été sans précédent. Remontant le fleuve Saint-Laurent, elle avait nagé au-delà de Québec et Trois-Rivières pour finalement aboutir devant le Vieux-Port de Montréal.

De la fin mai au début de juin 2020, les ébats enjoués de l’énorme mammifère avaient captivé des foules de spectateurs agglutinés sur les rives alors qu’une pandémie mondiale se développait. Koko Lee, une jeune fille curieuse de 10 ans, avait été fascinée par l’apparition de cette baleine. Koko et ses frères avaient suivi son itinéraire à leur pupitre de classe à la maison, à Mont-Tremblant.

© Guillaume Vincent

Pendant le confinement, ils avaient écouté les bulletins de nouvelles traitant de cet incroyable périple. La jeune baleine fascinait tous ceux qui la voyaient. Mais sa mort, aussi soudaine qu’inexpliquée, fit prendre conscience de la fragilité de notre existence. Ce fut un très dur choc pour Koko.

L’élaboration d’un projet

La jeune fille est une athlète remarquable, une nageuse experte, adepte de voile et passionnée par la vie marine. Elle avait décidé de rendre hommage à cette baleine à bosse par un projet bien concret. Elle cherchait un moyen de ramener l’esprit de la jeune baleine vers sa famille.

Avec l’aide de ses parents, elle élabora un projet. Elle suivrait, en sens inverse, le même itinéraire que celui de la baleine. Et elle n’utiliserait d’autre d’énergie que le vent et son propre courage.

L’entraînement pour la réussite

Au début du printemps, elle entreprit un entraînement spécifique pour préparer cet ambitieux défi. Alors âgée de 11 ans, elle commença avec 20 kilomètres de vélo par jour. Elle nageait aussi quotidiennement deux ou trois kilomètres. Puis, lorsque le vent était favorable, elle faisait de la voile sur le lac Mercier à Mont-Tremblant.

Au mois de juin, accompagnée de son père Raymond, elle haussa son régime d’entraînement. Chaque journée comportait une sortie à vélo de 40 kilomètres. Elle faisait de la voile selon les conditions et fit un essai de 13 kilomètres, entre Pointe-Claire et le phare de Lachine. Pour compléter sa préparation, en juillet, elle a navigué avec son petit voilier Optimist dans cinq différentes régions du parcours prévu : Montréal, Sorel-Tracy, Trois-Rivières, Portneuf et Québec.

Elle a expérimenté le vélo sur route entre Québec et Tadoussac. Et elle s’est initiée aux conditions de voile sur le Saint-Laurent. Tous ces efforts en vue de son périple qui débutera plus tard ce mois-ci. Loredana Horvat, cheffe entraineur de natation au Club de Natation Mont-Tremblant (CNMT) a accompagné Koko au cours des quatre dernières années.

« Koko possède une éthique de travail remarquable, compte tenu de son âge, confie-t-elle. Elle réussit tout ce qu’elle entreprend. Elle est forte et déterminée. Je suis convaincue que l’énergie de cette baleine la transportera tout au long de cette fabuleuse aventure. »

Un défi colossal

Après une année de préparation, le voyage s’amorce ce mois-ci. Lorsque les vents seront favorables, Koko s’élancera dans le sillage de la baleine. Elle parcourra à vélo les 154 kilomètres séparant Mont-Tremblant de Montréal. Puis elle mettra à l’eau son Optimist pour naviguer 250 kilomètres à la voile sur le Saint- Laurent, du parc de la Promenade-Bellerive jusqu’à la ville de Québec. Puis, de nouveau à vélo, elle roulera sur 220 kilomètres jusqu’à Tadoussac. Enfin, elle franchira les 30 derniers kilomètres du parcours à la voile.

Koko est déterminée à réussir. Elle le décrit ainsi : « Je veux simplement la ramener à la maison ».

Le chant des baleines d’après Koko

Koko espère que sa démarche permettra d’accorder plus d’attention au monde qui nous entoure. Elle souhaite faire réaliser que tout être vivant fait partie de notre monde. « Un monde que nous partageons, rappelle-t-elle, pas seulement avec les humains, mais avec toutes les créatures vivantes. »

On dit que les baleines ne chantent pas pour répondre à une question. Elles chantent parce qu’elles ont une mélodie en elles. Le chant de Koko est porteur d’optimisme. Il est celui d’une courageuse jeune fille au grand cœur. Porté par le souffle du vent, ce chant la mènera jusqu’aux eaux de Tadoussac en compagnie de l’esprit de cette jeune baleine.

 

Plus de cette auteure ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Cathy Bergman

 

Cathy Bergman46 Posts

Cathy Bergman est devenue athlète de façon inopinée à un âge relativement avancé. Elle nous montre qu’il n'est jamais trop tard pour retrouver la santé et la forme. Cathy Bergman is an accidental athlete who found health and fitness late in life. She shows us that is never too late to get healthy and fit.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password