Skiing while practising public health measures

©Courtoisie

What will this ski season bring? It will most probably be marked by the use of healthrelated measures never before seen. However, if there’s one sport that you can enjoy safely in the midst of an epidemic, I’d say it was skiing. We have to admit that we’re preparing for a different kind of winter.

I was lucky enough to go skiing in the Rockies this fall with my gang. The health measures, particularly in Lake Louise, Norquay and Nakiska, didn’t stop us from having a great time. We even had good snow, for October. As to the restrictions, there weren’t that many real differences, except for having to wear a mask in the waiting lines and on the lifts.

Otherwise, on the slopes, it was super. I have trouble imagining how you could catch this virus outdoors, with the wind in your face and your face covered with goggles and a balaclava. Having said that, I’ll add that once we were indoors, there were more public health measures in place. In the ticket offices, there were far fewer interactions because you had to order your ski ticket in advance.

At lunchtime, at Lake Louise, they asked us to sit down at a table and order our meal using a QR code. The table service was then carried out, quite professionally, by the staff. I felt it was well thought out and it managed to avoid congestion in the cafeteria. To accommodate as many people as possible, we only had 45 minutes to eat, which is quite reasonable after all.

Erik & Logan Guay. ©Courtoisie

At Tremblant

People want to get outside and move, which is understandable under the circumstances.

We’re in Québec. It’s going to be cold; that’s inevitable. I’m convinced that Tremblant has thought of some solutions, even temporary ones, which will allow us to warm up safely.

We could also consider looking forward to a pleasant winter with fewer people on the mountain than usual, particularly on the weekends and during holiday periods.

Competitions and training

At Nakiska, the resort was reserved for training during the week and personally, I thought that was super safe. The only times the various teams interacted they were outdoors, and they kept a good distance.

On the racing side, it could be more complicated. I understand that it could be hard to ensure that all the young participants fully respect all aspects of the government measures asking them to keep their distance from others. Having said that, I’ll add that it’s critically important to keep young people engaged in the sport.

Those registered for competition need to compete with other skiers. We don’t want to lose them…to have them quit to take part in activities that are less productive in terms of personal development. At Tremblant the ski club has, as far as I’m concerned, enough young skiers to organize competitions without having to race against other ski clubs.

It could be harder, however, on smaller mountains. Stay tuned….

Have a good season! And use every moment you’re skiing to fill up on positive energy!

 

More from this author by clicking on his picture below.

 

Erik Guay16 Posts

Détenteur de deux titres de champion du monde, Erik Guay est le skieur alpin canadien le plus décoré de l’histoire. / Holder of two World Champion titles, Erik Guay is Canada’s most successful alpine skier.

One run at a time

That spring feeling

Racing season

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Le ski en mode sanitaire

©Courtoisie

Que nous réserve cette saison de ski ? Elle sera fort probablement marquée par un déploiement de mesures sanitaires jamais égalées à ce jour. Cependant, s’il existe un sport que l’on peut pratiquer en toute sécurité en pleine épidémie, je miserais sur le ski. On ne s’en cache pas, nous nous apprêtons à vivre un hiver particulier.

J’ai eu la chance d’aller skier dans les Rocheuses avec ma « gang » cet automne. Les mesures adoptées, notamment à Lake Louise, au mont Norquay et à Nakiska ne nous ont aucunement empêchés d’avoir du plaisir. Il faut dire que pour un mois d’octobre, nous n’avons pas manqué de neige.

Côté restrictions, il n’y avait pas tant de différences notables, mis à part le port obligatoire du masque dans les files d’attente et dans les remontées mécaniques. Sinon, sur les pistes, c’était super. J’ai d’ailleurs de la difficulté à imaginer comment on pourrait attraper ce virus dehors, le vent dans le visage, lui-même recouvert de lunettes et d’une cagoule.

Ceci dit, une fois à l’intérieur, les mesures sanitaires étaient plus nombreuses. Dans les billetteries, le nombre d’interactions a grandement été diminué étant donné que l’on devait commander notre billet de ski à l’avance. À l’heure du lunch, à Lake Louise, on nous demandait de nous assoir à une table et de commander notre repas grâce à un code QR.

Le service aux tables était par la suite assuré par le personnel de façon professionnelle. J’ai trouvé que c’était très bien pensé et ça permettait d’éviter la congestion dans la cafétéria. Afin d’accommoder le plus de monde possible, nous n’avions que 45 minutes pour manger, ce qui est tout de même très raisonnable.

Erik et Logan Guay. ©Courtoisie

À Tremblant

Les gens ont envie d’être dehors et de bouger, ce qui est compréhensible vu les circonstances. Nous sommes au Québec. Il va faire froid, c’est inévitable.

Je suis convaincu que Tremblant a pensé à des solutions, même temporaires, qui nous permettront de nous réchauffer en toute sécurité.

On pourrait également s’attendre à un hiver plaisant avec une montagne moins achalandée que d’habitude, comme c’est normalement le cas les fins de semaine et durant les congés.

Compétitions et entrainement

À Nakiska, la station était réservée à l’entrainement durant la semaine et personnellement, j’ai trouvé que c’était super sécuritaire.

Les seuls moments où les différentes équipes interagissaient se passaient à l’extérieur et à une bonne distance. Côté course, ça risque d’être plus compliqué.

Je comprends qu’il puisse être difficile de s’assurer que les plus jeunes respectent en tous points les mesures du gouvernement qui leur demande de se tenir loin des gens. Ceci dit, il faut absolument garder les jeunes engagés dans le sport. Ceux qui sont inscrits en compétition ont besoin de rivaliser avec d’autres skieurs.

On ne veut pas les perdre et qu’ils décrochent au profit d’activités moins productives en termes de développement personnel. À Tremblant, le club de ski compte, selon moi, suffisamment de jeunes skieurs pour organiser des compétitions sans avoir à rencontrer d’autres clubs de ski.

Ça risque toutefois d’être plus compliqué pour les petites montagnes. À suivre…

Bonne saison ! Et profitez de chaque moment en ski pour faire le plein d’énergie positive !

 

Plus de cet auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

 

Erik Guay16 Posts

Détenteur de deux titres de champion du monde, Erik Guay est le skieur alpin canadien le plus décoré de l’histoire. / Holder of two World Champion titles, Erik Guay is Canada’s most successful alpine skier.

Une piste à la fois

Saison de courses

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password