The snowbound snowshoe hare

©AdobeStock

The survival of the North American hare is closely linked to the presence of snow, as are its other common names: varying hare and snowshoe hare. The pelt of this “varying hare” is greyish in summer, changing to white in winter. The colour change allows it to merge with the landscape… as long as the snow arrives when it should.

Tracks of a snowshoe hare. ©Courtoisie

The large back feet of this lagomorph serve as its snowshoes, facilitating its movement across deep snow. A study done in Alberta showed that the hare’s chances of survival vary with the depth and hardness of the snow.

Hares have a 97 per cent chance of surviving 30 days when the snow is over 60 cm deep, but the statistic falls by 10 per cent if there’s only a 25 cm snow covering. The survival rate falls to 77 per cent when the snow covering is shallow and soft. Why?

When the snow is thick, the hare can move around on it more easily than its main predators, the coyote, lynx and fox. It can elude them and hide more easily. If a first, light snowfall arrives before the hare has completed its autumn moult, it becomes extremely vulnerable.

The hare can be seen wherever there are young coniferous trees, thickets and marshy areas, and beside streams and rivers. It does not dig a burrow, but hides under low branches or fallen trees.

Look for signs of its presence: cleanly cut twigs, gnawed bushes, small spherical pellets of fecal material and its characteristic tracks in the snow.

Hare populations have always followed a regular cycle, which reaches its peak every nine or 10 years. Will the unpredictable fluctuations in snow cover caused by climate change modify the chances of survival of this species? It’s a distinct possibility. The animals from this region are featured at Animalium, Mont-Tremblant’s zoological museum.

 

By the same author: Do predators kill for fun? (Click the image below)

 

Jacques Prescott67 Posts

Jacques Prescott est biologiste, professeur associé à la Chaire en éco-conseil de l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi et co-fondateur de l’Animalium, le musée zoologique de Mont-Tremblant. Spécialiste de la biodiversité et du développement durable, il est l’auteur de nombreux livres et articles sur la faune et la conservation de la nature. Il nous fait l’honneur de rejoindre notre équipe de collaborateurs et signera chaque mois une chronique intitulée Faune et flore. / Jacques Prescott is a biologist, associate professor with the Chair in Eco-Counselling of the Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, and co-founder of Animalium, the zoological museum of Mont-Tremblant. A specialist in biodiversity and sustainable development, he is the author of numerous books and articles about wildlife and nature conservation. He has honoured us by joining our team of contributors and will write a monthly column entitled Wildlife and Habitat.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Le lièvre d’Amérique et la neige

La survie du lièvre d’Amérique est étroitement liée à la présence de neige ainsi que l’évoquent ses autres noms communs : lièvre variable et lièvre à raquettes. Le pelage du lièvre « variable » est brun grisâtre en été et devient blanc en hiver. Cela lui permet de se fondre au paysage, à condition que la neige soit au rendez-vous au bon moment.

Empreintes du lièvre
d’Amérique. ©Courtoisie

Les larges pieds postérieurs de ce lagomorphe lui servent de raquettes qui facilitent ses déplacements dans la neige épaisse. Une étude réalisée en Alberta a montré que les chances de survie d’un lièvre changent avec la profondeur et la dureté de la neige.

Les lièvres ont 97 % de chances de survivre 30 jours lorsque la profondeur de la neige est supérieure à 60 cm, mais cette statistique diminue de 10 % s’il n’y a que 25 cm de neige. Ce taux de survie tombe à 77 % si la neige est à la fois peu profonde et molle.

En effet, lorsque la neige est épaisse, le lièvre se déplace plus aisément que ses principaux prédateurs – coyote, lynx et renard. Il peut ainsi leur échapper et se camoufler plus facilement. Si une première neige peu abondante arrive avant que le lièvre n’ait complété sa mue automnale, il devient extrêmement vulnérable.

Le lièvre d’Amérique s’observe partout où poussent de jeunes conifères, les taillis, les zones marécageuses et le bord des cours d’eau. Il ne fait pas de terrier et s’abrite sous les branches basses ou les arbres tombés.

Recherchez les signes de sa présence : ramilles tranchées en biseau, arbrisseaux à l’écorce rongée, petites crottes sphériques, pistes caractéristiques dans la neige.

Les populations de lièvres suivent depuis toujours un cycle régulier, atteignant un sommet tous les 9 ou 10 ans. Les fluctuations imprévisibles de l’enneigement causées par les changements climatiques viendront-elles modifier les chances de survie de cette espèce ? La faune de nos régions est en vedette à l’Animalium, musée zoologique à Mont-Tremblant.

 

Du même auteur : Est-ce que les prédateurs tuent par plaisir ? (Cliquez sur l’image)

 

Jacques Prescott81 Posts

Jacques Prescott est biologiste, professeur associé à la Chaire en éco-conseil de l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi et co-fondateur de l’Animalium, le musée zoologique de Mont-Tremblant. Spécialiste de la biodiversité et du développement durable, il est l’auteur de nombreux livres et articles sur la faune et la conservation de la nature. Il nous fait l’honneur de rejoindre notre équipe de collaborateurs et signera chaque mois une chronique intitulée Faune et flore. / Jacques Prescott is a biologist, associate professor with the Chair in Eco-Counselling of the Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, and co-founder of Animalium, the zoological museum of Mont-Tremblant. A specialist in biodiversity and sustainable development, he is the author of numerous books and articles about wildlife and nature conservation. He has honoured us by joining our team of contributors and will write a monthly column entitled Wildlife and Habitat.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password