Leggings and our planet

© Mikael Abril

Is there a link between leggings – those beloved sports clothing items – and our planet? Here’s a story that helps us to see things more clearly.

Once upon a time there were two sisters who lived in a Tremblay family close to you. Stéphanie was involved in the field of television news as well as giving aerobics classes. Geneviève was studying to be an oceanographer while playing high-level university soccer. But their respective careers, although interesting, did not meet the expectations of these impassioned women.

Stéphanie dreamed of conveying the benefits of physical activity, of teaching, of moving and having human contact. Geneviève wanted to have an impact on environmental issues, founded on scientific facts. So they started working together to combine their areas of competence.

In 20013 they founded Studio Moov, a fitness operation centred on the family, a place that would allow them, among other things, to observe their clients’ clothing choices. The centre inspired the sisters and, four years later, they launched Moov Activewear, a Montreal company that designs and makes, on-site, a fabric for leggings, shorts and capris.

The fabric, called Bio-Moovflex, is 100 per cent “Made in Québec”, from raw materials to finished products.

A Québec contribution against the world disaster of plastic

How can leggings impact our environment? A recent Oceana Canada report shows that our country consumes, annually, 125 kg of plastic per person and that 87 per cent of the waste of this consumption is buried in dumpsites or rejected into the environment.

In terms of textiles, polyester is a synthetic fibre made from oil and thus comparable to plastic, and it accounts for 50 per cent of the textile fibres produced worldwide. Each time it’s washed, this synthetic fabric releases micro particles too fine to be intercepted by the water treatment plants; finally, they up in the oceans.

Oceanographer Geneviève notes that, “these micro particles in suspension are harmful to biodiversity; they pass through every step of the food chain, from microorganisms to humans. It’s a less visible form of pollution because the particles can’t be seen by the human eye. But it is still pollution and we must deal with it now because otherwise, in 2050 there will be as much plastic as fish in the oceans.”

Bio-Moovflex is a step in the right direction because it limits the liberation of plastic micro particles into the laundry water. In addition, the fabric’s durability allows it to be kept longer and, at the end of its life, it decomposes in four years compared to 400 years for fibres made from recycled bottles.

Genevieve is proud to note that Moov Activewear leggings are the first biodegradable leggings in Canada, and a step towards protecting our planet. The summer collection is available on the website.

moovactivewear.com

 

More from this author by clicking on his photo below.

Daniel Gauvreau

 

Daniel Gauvreau42 Posts

Récréologue et journaliste de formation, tour à tour organisateur, formateur, consultant, chroniqueur et traducteur dans le milieu du plein air, Daniel Gauvreau est passionné d’activité physique en extérieur. De retour d’un périple au Québec et en France, il a choisi les Hautes-Laurentides pour satisfaire son amour de la nature. Semi-retraité, moniteur de ski de fond à SFMT, son expérience profite désormais aux lecteurs de Tremblant Express. Recreation professional and journalist by education, organizer, trainer, consultant, columnist and translator about the outdoors by experience, Daniel Gavreau is passionate about physical activity outside. Following a trip through Québec and France, he chose the Hautes-Laurentides as the place to satisfy his love of nature. Semi-retired and teaching cross-country skiing with SFMT, he now offers his experience to Tremblant Express readers.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Le legging et la Planète

© Michael Abril

Existe-t-il un lien entre le legging, un vêtement de sport très prisé et notre planète ? Voici une histoire qui permettra d’y voir plus clair.

Il était une fois deux sœurs, qui vivaient dans une famille Tremblay près de chez vous. Stéphanie s’impliqua dans le domaine des nouvelles télévisées tout en donnant des cours d’aérobie. Geneviève entreprit des études pour devenir océanographe et pratiqua le soccer universitaire à un haut niveau. Mais leur carrière respective, certes intéressante, ne répondait pas à leurs attentes de femmes passionnées.

Stéphanie rêvait de transmettre les bienfaits de l’activité physique, d’enseigner, de bouger et d’avoir des contacts humains. Geneviève voulait avoir un impact sur les enjeux environnementaux fondés sur les données scientifiques. C’est alors qu’elles s’associent afin de jumeler leurs compétences.

Elles fondent en 2013 le Studio Moov, un centre de conditionnement physique axé sur la famille, un milieu qui leur permettra entre autres d’observer les vêtements de leur clientèle. Cela inspire nos deux sœurs et quatre ans plus tard, elles lancent Moov Activewear, une entreprise montréalaise qui conçoit et fabrique sur place un tissu pour confectionner legging, short et capri.

Le tissu Bio-Moovflex est 100 % québécois, de la matière première au produit fini.

Une contribution québécoise contre le désastre mondial du plastique

Comment le legging peut-il avoir un impact sur notre environnement ? Un récent rapport d’Oceana Canada démontre que notre pays consomme annuellement 125 kg de plastique par citoyen et plus de 87 % des déchets de cette consommation sont enfouis ou rejetés dans l’environnement.

En termes de textile, le polyester est une fibre synthétique dérivée du pétrole, donc assimilable à du plastique, et il compte pour 50 % des fibres textiles produites dans le monde. À chaque lavage, ce tissu synthétique relâche des microparticules trop fines pour être interceptées par les stations d’épuration  ; c’est en définitive l’océan qui écope.

L’océanographe Geneviève mentionne que « ces microparticules en suspension nuisent à la biodiversité ; elles passent tous les échelons de la chaîne alimentaire, des micro-organismes aux humains. Un type de pollution moins apparent puisque ces particules ne se voient pas à l’œil nu. Mais il faut s’y attaquer dès maintenant autrement, en 2050, il y aura dans l’océan autant de plastique que de poissons. »

Le Bio-Moovflex est un pas dans cette direction puisqu’il limite la libération de microparticules de plastique dans l’eau de lavage. De plus, sa durabilité permet de le conserver plus longtemps et en fin de vie, il se décompose en 4 ans comparé à 400 ans pour les fibres contenant du plastique provenant de bouteilles recyclées.

Geneviève est fière de mentionner que le legging Moov Activewear est le premier legging biodégradable au Canada, un pas pour protéger la Planète. La collection estivale est disponible sur le site Web.

moovactivewear.com

 

Plus de cet auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Daniel Gauvreau

 

Daniel Gauvreau42 Posts

Récréologue et journaliste de formation, tour à tour organisateur, formateur, consultant, chroniqueur et traducteur dans le milieu du plein air, Daniel Gauvreau est passionné d’activité physique en extérieur. De retour d’un périple au Québec et en France, il a choisi les Hautes-Laurentides pour satisfaire son amour de la nature. Semi-retraité, moniteur de ski de fond à SFMT, son expérience profite désormais aux lecteurs de Tremblant Express. Recreation professional and journalist by education, organizer, trainer, consultant, columnist and translator about the outdoors by experience, Daniel Gavreau is passionate about physical activity outside. Following a trip through Québec and France, he chose the Hautes-Laurentides as the place to satisfy his love of nature. Semi-retired and teaching cross-country skiing with SFMT, he now offers his experience to Tremblant Express readers.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password